We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room choice could make a difference.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martine Inn

Save Saved
You added Martine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martine Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   255 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The room choice could make a difference.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you need a TV while vacationing, why leave home? There is free WiFi.

We stayed in the "Suite" and had a bathroom that was as large as some small hotel rooms. A claw foot tub, antique spa shower unit (watch out for that pipe pointed upward from down below), and a large 2-sink counter were certainly much more than one would expect from most B&B's.

The view from our antique chairs was perfect as we had a full ocean view with no craning of the neck or body contortions necessary. We also had a wood burning fireplace that was rather well stocked with wood each day and was easy to light. It would have been great to have had enough wood for the morning, but when it drops below 60, we Hawaiians start to get worried (unless you grew up on Kauai).

The afternoon pupus and wine from 5:30-7 were a very nice touch. On one night they had pear Gorgonzola cheese pizza. Very yummy. There were several other items also available and we found all of them to be of excellent quality, especially considering they were complimentary. A roaring fireplace at night and a beautiful view of the ocean make this an excellent area.

The breakfast was good, but somewhat overshadowed by the excellent pupus in the afternoon. The basic offering is egg with toast or bagel or oatmeal or .... I get the feeling you could ask for something special and if it was available, it would be prepared for you. Everything seems to made fresh.

I can see how some people might be disappointed with a particular room, so I would highly suggest this specific room. The rooms do seem to be pointed in different directions, so it would be good to have a "proper facing" room on the second floor. But, when we stay there in the future, we will certainly try to get this room.

And finally, if you enjoy MG's then some of the cars will give you "chicken skin" (goose bumps). I have never seen some of these cars in person and was absolutely impressed. Don will readily talk cars with you if you have questions about any of them.

Room Tip: Call the owners and ask questions about a particular view. It would sure make a difference to me aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    36
    15
    16
    10
See reviews for
14
126
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As far as B&B's go, the Martine Inn is just so-so, middle of the pack and not a particularly great value. Furnishings are nothing particular. The breakfasts were a big disappointment. In fact the second day after hearing of their morning offering we limited it to just juice and coffee and went out for a really nice breakfast. The first mornings breakfast was very skimpy as was the second days based on seeing other guests breakfast.
Their evening complimentary hor d oeuvres and wine were a nice touch; albeit they were very simple, nothing too fancy or creative.
Will we stay there again? Unlikely, we would definitely shop around first.

Room Tip: Disregard the pool rating; there is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for writing and giving me the opportunity to express our premise. From the beginning, the Martine Inn, established in 1984 as a bed and breakfast, has attempted to recreate the experience a guest would have had while staying at the home of a wealthy family during the late 1800's to early 1900's. We have added modern amenities such as telephones and private baths in each room, while doing our best to retain the character and integrity of the early 20th Century. Even though you chose our least expensive room, the furnishings in that room, which you may describe as "nothing particular" included an 1870 American Walnut three piece set, with the queen bed headboard, carved, with extensive inlay, elaborate crown and fencing, and turned pole supports along with a marble top dresser with two candle shelves, 2 box shelves, 2 velvet lined jewelry drawers, etc. There is a bowl and pitcher set from 1870, an American Armoire from 1840, with French polish, brass ring pulls and a beveled full length mirror. Additionally in your room was a pair of 1910 bedside lamps, an 1880 silver vase, 1910 brass floor lamp...among other treasures. Our breakfast , hand served to you in our ocean view Parlor, is unique with multiple courses placed on small plates and, as you were told at check-in, "there is always MORE." Sorry you didn't try the breakfast on Monday morning, I believe it was Ginger Apple Crepes with the best bacon we could find, but glad you were able to support another local business. Thank you for choosing the Martine Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Maralin Room located over the carriage house. We had a partial ocean view if you actually stood at the window. Since the rooms are situated in odd angles, you are often looking directly into somebody else's room. The main window in our room looked over the courtyard but that also enabled the courtyard to look directly onto our bed. If you desire privacy in your room, it is necessary to close all the drapes.Since it was our anniversary they did comp us with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries which was a pleasant surprise.
The evening appetizers and wine were delightful as the dining room had a wonderful view of the ocean. If you enjoy antiques, this is the place to be. The location is central which puts you within walking distance to all attractions.
One downside of the room is the walls are very thin and you hear everything in adjacent rooms including neighbors' conversations and low batteries chirping/beeping on smoke detectors
We complained about the smoke detector since we had to listen to it all night and morning;however, our complaint was ignored. We were glad to leave just to get away from the obnoxious beeping smoke detector.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, make sure the main window of your room faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
You booked a Fireside room, not an Ocean view room, although you could see the water from your room. We fixed the smoke detector as soon as we knew about it...unfortunately you didn't call from your room to let us know, you told us at check-out. You also told us about the disturbance by the two young loud partying gals who returned late from a wedding, who were in the adjacent room, who also did not call to let us know it was the smoke detector in their room. In a letter faxed to us, you stated that you "looked forward to a return visit..." We sent you a gift certificate that same day. Although our staff tells each guest the emergency procedures, call or ring doorbell, we have asked them to reiterate those instructions at least once more before leaving your room. There is a phone in every room, and somebody is available 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is one of the most unique bed and breakfasts we have visited. The views of the ocean are amazing and the food (breakfast and happy hour) was excellent. We found Don, the owner, and the entire staff to be very welcoming and helpful. As other reviews have noted, the bathrooms are unusual, but when you understand that the inn is trying to re-create the way the wealthy lived in 1900, you can overlook the lack of modern amenities (almost). There are no televisions in the rooms and the one tv on property, which is in a conference room, is dated and gets only the major non-cable networks. But you shouldn't be planted in front of a television when in such a beautiful spot anyway, unless you happen to be there on the night of the final presidential debate. If you want all the trappings of modern luxury, find another place. But if you want a unique place to stay that offers things you'll find nowhere else, including amazing antique silver and cars, this is a wonderful choice. We thought it was a real find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The B & B had a very comfortable feel about it. We were promptly and cheerfully greeted upon our arrival and shown our room. Our room was out near a garage and didn't have much of a view. The door handle was loose. The room seemed a little cluttered with furniture and the furniture was quite run down. I understand they were mostly antique pieces, but they weren't well cared for. The fireplace was nice and I liked the claw tub in the bathroom. The bed was fairly comfortable but was very squeaky. The location of it made it in danger of hitting against the light fixture above the bed. We were pleased that the room had a mini fridge with complimentary bottled water. Coffee was available 24 hours a day in the main house as well as some sort of sweet bread and a bowl of fresh fruit. The evening social hours was nice with decent wine and good appetizers. Breakfast was served in a pretty room with a beautiful view of yet ocean. The food was very good and the fresh squeezed apple juice was a treat.
All in all we had a nice stay. I do believe they are overpriced for the in room amenities. Two other things I forgot to mention were the robes supplied in the rooms were very comfortable. The other was the room with the pool table is too small to hit certain shots without hitting the wall or furniture.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a holiday weekend and we had a blast! It's great proximity to the Aquarium and makes a wonderful nighttime stroll -
The views from the breakfast area was amazing - and it was "seal season" so we were able to see all the sea lions lined up on the shore.
The bathroom was a bit unusual (the sink was right next to the bed) but I loved the clawfoot tub!
The inn keeper was totally cool to talk to - him and his fiance were into garage sales as much as we were and even told us several places to check out for vintage items!
Breakfast was delicious and was just the right amount of food - the french toast was *incredible*!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our room was upgraded to the Edith Head room, which was lovely. We were given a very helpful welcoming tour of the diverse facilities. Afternoon hors d'oeuvres were varied and delicious, and breakfast was wonderful also. Coffee and tea were always available, as well as fresh cookies in the afternoon. Computer and printer were available to check flights and print boarding passes, and when we had difficulty, the owner himself was there to assist. The location, directly across from the beach trail, is terrific - a few minutes to the attractions of Monterey in one direction, or the natural beauty of Lovers' Point in the other. We were glad we stayed here and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d’oeuvres. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.