We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Martine Inn to your Saves list
Martine Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   255 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & WiFi
Ranked #5 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is one of the most unique bed and breakfasts we have visited. The views of the ocean are amazing and the food (breakfast and happy hour) was excellent. We found Don, the owner, and the entire staff to be very welcoming and helpful. As other reviews have noted, the bathrooms are unusual, but when you understand that the inn is trying to re-create the way the wealthy lived in 1900, you can overlook the lack of modern amenities (almost). There are no televisions in the rooms and the one tv on property, which is in a conference room, is dated and gets only the major non-cable networks. But you shouldn't be planted in front of a television when in such a beautiful spot anyway, unless you happen to be there on the night of the final presidential debate. If you want all the trappings of modern luxury, find another place. But if you want a unique place to stay that offers things you'll find nowhere else, including amazing antique silver and cars, this is a wonderful choice. We thought it was a real find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    47
    18
    16
    10
See reviews for
18
149
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The B & B had a very comfortable feel about it. We were promptly and cheerfully greeted upon our arrival and shown our room. Our room was out near a garage and didn't have much of a view. The door handle was loose. The room seemed a little cluttered with furniture and the furniture was quite run down. I understand they were mostly antique pieces, but they weren't well cared for. The fireplace was nice and I liked the claw tub in the bathroom. The bed was fairly comfortable but was very squeaky. The location of it made it in danger of hitting against the light fixture above the bed. We were pleased that the room had a mini fridge with complimentary bottled water. Coffee was available 24 hours a day in the main house as well as some sort of sweet bread and a bowl of fresh fruit. The evening social hours was nice with decent wine and good appetizers. Breakfast was served in a pretty room with a beautiful view of yet ocean. The food was very good and the fresh squeezed apple juice was a treat.
All in all we had a nice stay. I do believe they are overpriced for the in room amenities. Two other things I forgot to mention were the robes supplied in the rooms were very comfortable. The other was the room with the pool table is too small to hit certain shots without hitting the wall or furniture.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a holiday weekend and we had a blast! It's great proximity to the Aquarium and makes a wonderful nighttime stroll -
The views from the breakfast area was amazing - and it was "seal season" so we were able to see all the sea lions lined up on the shore.
The bathroom was a bit unusual (the sink was right next to the bed) but I loved the clawfoot tub!
The inn keeper was totally cool to talk to - him and his fiance were into garage sales as much as we were and even told us several places to check out for vintage items!
Breakfast was delicious and was just the right amount of food - the french toast was *incredible*!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our room was upgraded to the Edith Head room, which was lovely. We were given a very helpful welcoming tour of the diverse facilities. Afternoon hors d'oeuvres were varied and delicious, and breakfast was wonderful also. Coffee and tea were always available, as well as fresh cookies in the afternoon. Computer and printer were available to check flights and print boarding passes, and when we had difficulty, the owner himself was there to assist. The location, directly across from the beach trail, is terrific - a few minutes to the attractions of Monterey in one direction, or the natural beauty of Lovers' Point in the other. We were glad we stayed here and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was actually my first time ever staying at a B&B. We arrived at night and could hear the ocean as we walked up the stairs to the front door. We were immediately greeted by a delightful young man. He showed us around and made sure that we had everything we needed for our room. (the hospitality felt like I staying at a family's home). My bf reserved the Captain's suite for us.... BEAUTIFUL (no ocean's view which was fine because it was dark and the fog in the morning would restrict the view of the ocean anyway). I'm not usually a fan of antiques and that sort of decor, but the room was gorgeous and felt so homey. The best parts-- a wood burning fireplace ready to go with a rocking chair and another chair next to it; and a big comfortable bed. Also to my surprise was a little box of chocolates for my birthday.
(We arrived at 8pm, too late for appetizers and wine)
Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We had custard french toast with berries on top, fresh juice and coffee. We sat in a large room overlooking the foggy ocean.
The fog burned off around 11am/12pm which made for a beautiful walk along the coast, to Lover's Point and back.
This stay will be hard to beat. I may never stay at a hotel again. Our stay at Martine Inn was amazing and I cannot wait to come back! Oh, and Next time, we'll bring ingredients for smores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're looking for Ikea furniture and a "continental breakfast" then don't stay here. If you're looking for character, views, a working fireplace, and delicious food then this is where you want to be. The owner, Mr. Martine, collects (and used to race) vintage MGs and displays them on site. We stayed at the Martine Inn for 2 nights during the last week in September, and had booked a small room over the carriage house. Upon arrival, we were given a complimentary upgrade to the "Suite," a larger ocean view room with a working fireplace and the coolest 1920's shower I've ever seen. Evening hors d'oeuvres were well prepared and substantial, and the ocean front dining room with its fireplace and fine china gave a great start to each night. Morning breakfast was equally delicious, and kudos to the chef for a perfectly poached egg! If you're looking for a genuine B&B experience, check out the Martine Inn in Pacific Grove.

Room Tip: For a nice ocean view, a large room, and a bathroom with a comfortable tub and a separate "vint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked in for one night and although the location is great, right on the ocean front, we were left feeling slightly disappointed. Cody was pleasant and showed us around, the room had a lovely courtyard view, but the Inn seemed a bit musty and needed a spruce up. The breakfast was served in a pleasant room, with lovely dishes and tableware, but was not really adequate as there was no choice and the servings were tiny.There was butter and jam on the table but when our table-mate asked for toast, she was told there wasn't any and it was difficult getting more than one cup of coffee. Little things, but the room rate was high enough that these things should not have occurred.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Manager at Martine Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Those "little things" are big to us. Thank you for pointing them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d’oeuvres. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.