We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful time at the inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   301 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebration Package
Ranked #4 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“wonderful time at the inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

we stayed in a carriage house room, and were very pleased as they put in an extra futon for one of the children which meant they didn't have to share the sofa bed.

we all loved the jacuzzi, and the breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. loved the view during breakfast.

we were a little disappointed with the "wine & cheese", but you don't have to eat/drink them !

great gas fire (living flame type) in our room with a couple of relaxing chairs we could pull up by the fire

great location, easy walk to Monterrey Aquarium, and you can also hire bikes and go on the coast trail, which was also fun.

only niggle was that early each morning (about 6:30am) they opened the garage door which was underneath our room - and it woke us up !

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    36
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
115
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

I stayed at the Green Gables recently with my husband. We stayed in the Garrett Room, which was very cute, complete with sink and cozy window seat. We enjoyed the room, even though it didn't have a complete view of the water.

The inn is very nicely decorated in Victorian style, complete with pleasing floral wallpaper. The view from the common rooms of the Monterey Bay is absolutely gorgeous. However, I felt as though this inn could have used a few extra touches to make it a better place. First and foremost, the coffee was not out early in the morning for guests. I would consider this a golden rule of innkeeping, and the Green Gables let us down here. Coffee was not out until after 7:30, and there were still dirty dishes out from the day before.
The common room had a gas fireplace, which is just a personal pet peeve of mine. I can understand the need for them in guest rooms, but there is nothing nicer than a crackling fireplace in a common room to make things cozy. Also, the fireplace is turned off at night, which makes the room even less inviting.
Breakfasts varied during our stay. The first breakfast I had was wonderful - an egg dish with potatoes and onions which was absolutely delicious. The second day, there was a custard-like french toast which was good, but not a substantial breakfast to keep you going through the day. I was hungry within an hour.
I found the prices very reasonable at the inn, and would recommend it to others despite some of the drawbacks.
A note to the innkeepers: Please consider putting coffee out earlier in the morning! Some of us are early risers!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2006

We stayed in a Carriage House Suite for six nights after Christmas and over New Year. Our experience was mixed. We had a very bad start / first night: we noticed a very loud noise in our room coming from the outside of the wall where the bed was located which was constantly there. We didn’t notice it before 8 pm in the evening since we were outside our room for most of the day, and called their after hours emergency contact complaining about the noise. The only response was that they had never heard a complaint from previous guests and would not be able to do anything before the next day. We spent an almost sleepless night because of the noise and went to see the manager the next morning, complaining about the noise and asking if we could change rooms. Unfortunately all other Carriage House Suites were completely booked – but what really annoyed us was the rude and unfriendly behaviour of the manager who did not seem to believe us that there actually was a noise problem in our room (“nobody has ever complained before”). After insisting that there was a problem she agreed to send their maintenance person to us, who came about 1h later together with the same manager. She entered the room and immediately said: “I can’t hear any noise, don’t you think it is the rain that you are hearing” – whereas the maintenance guy had a closer look at the wall and recognized the problem as a water tank at the outside of the wall that was constantly on. The problem was fixed the same day and our room was quiet for the rest of our stay – but we never received any apology from the manager, or a price discount for the first night. As I said this was a really bad start for us considering that the room is not cheap at all ($260 per night in high season), and we didn’t feel very welcome.
However, excluding this major mishap in the beginning, we enjoyed the rest of our stay much better. The location of the inn is fantastic, having breakfast in front of a large window facing the ocean just across the street was really special. My husband and I especially enjoyed watching sea otters, either from the breakfast room or from our own room using binoculars. Our room was very spacious, but the interior could need an update considering the price, there is also a faintly musty smell in the room. The gas fireplace was rather ugly since you could see all the cables in it. In contrast, the two-person jacuzzi tub in the bath room was extremely relaxing.
The food was nothing to rave about, it was OK but not great. But it was actually nice to have a buffet style breakfast. Another plus was the always filled cookies jar, complimentary water and soft drinks. We only went twice to the afternoon wine and cheese reception which was quite nice.
Overall we would have had a very pleasant stay if we would not have had this terrible first night and unfriendly behaviour of the manager.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby be la Zouch
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

we stayed for a couple of nights and would have stayed a little longer had they not been booked up for thanksgiving. Its a relaxed and interesting house with plenty of character. The informality makes contact with other guests easy. Good breakfasts and a complimentary evening snack with wine. We would certainly stay again as a first choice if passing through the area.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2005

We had such a nice time at this hotel! It was a real treat to stay in such a gorgeous little house. Our room had a ladder that led up to a tiny little attic room overlooking the sea. You could imagine how a little girl would love to play with dolls up there all afternoon. The sound of the ocean at night was so nice. If you walk down just a little way toward cannery row you can see lots of seals on the beach. And I was amazed how you can just walk to cannery row from the hotel- they don't even emphasize that in their advertising.
The breakfast was only a very small buffet but it was so lovely eating it by a window with ocean view- also, there is nice stained glass in the living room where you eat.
Sharing the bathroom sux but it's a house you're staying in so that's the reality of it.
Overall, it was a romantic and wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, ME
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

You can't beat the location! Full ocean views from the common areas where afternoon wine & snacks and breakfast are served.

We had the most expensive room - in the carriage house in the back. It was a quiet room with a fireplace & jacuzzi tub, but it needed updating and had a musty smell. Definitely not worth the price.

The breakfasts at Four Sisters Inns (we've stayed at several) are skimpy - basically they serve the bare minimum to qualify as breakfast - and they don't put out enough for everyone. Same with wine & afternoon snacks.

But the staff were friendly and they truly seem to care about their guests' comfort, so if you get one of their great rates off season, it might be worth the money. In season, at full rates, I'd look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Marketing at Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2006
We are happy to hear that the guest loved the setting of the inn as well as the friendly staff at Green Gables Inn.

We pride ourselves on our bountiful breakfast and it is so very unfortunate that the guest felt as though their breakfast was inadequate. We are constantly working with our chefs in creating new recipes and menu's for our breakfast, which is our signature amenity.

Our breakfasts are so popular that we even have a cookbook, now in its fifth edition, with our signature and specialty dishes highlighted.

We are very proud of our Green Gables Inn and can assure you it is quite the place to stay! Please call us directly if you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

My Wife and I arrived at the Green Gables to celebrate our anniversary. When we opened the door to our room, the staff had a bottle of champagne, baloons and flowers waiting for us....right in front of a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean! The staff were incredibly accommodating and the 1/4 mile walk to the Aquarium was refreshing. Wine in the evening, wonderful breakfast in the morning...all for less than $200 a night! We will be visiting this B/B on our next trip up the Coast!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 301 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.