We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Comforting Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   301 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebration Package
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Very Comforting Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This inn is a warm and charming place. The bedrooms were comfortable and the common areas nicely appointed and cozy. It was cold while we were there and sitting in the living room by the fire with a glass of sherry listening to the waves on the rocky coast just across the street was a treat. Breakfast was pleasant and of good quality. My teenage daughter loved it, which was a surprise since I was expecting her to complain that it wasn't some well-known chain she had heard of and hence couldn't be good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    39
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
129
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 delightful days at this first class BnB. The staff were welcoming, helpful, and so polite. The room was a treat for the senses, spacious, beautifully decorated, and made us feel we had acquired a new home. The bed was so comfortable we had to inquire about the manufacturer. Breakfasts were excellent, fresh, and varied. Then there is the fabulous location right on the bay and within walking distance to terrific restaurants and quaint shops. A must visit place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checked in with only a few minutes remaining of the wine and cheese. Platters were decimated beforehand by other guests, not replenished and promptly removed at 6. Wine was some kind of very sweet white wine in un-marked decanters, and a poor quality red. Too bad as California has so many great wines.
Room was nice with excellent bed and huge warm comforter that was much needed. Several light bulbs burnt out.
Breakfast was the big disappointment. Hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, French toast and fruit, but not a piece of bacon or sausage in sight. Had the distinct impression that cutting corners on quality to increase profit was the main goal here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Overall, we'd consier going back, but needs a few simple upgrades. Lovely setting, nice hospitality and we loved our room except for the fact that it was a cool January night & our small space heater just wasn't adequate, nor were the thin blankets. The coverlet on the bed was so heavy .. you couldn't use it. Surprised they don't have down or down alternatie comforters. Happy Hour was just OK. We weren't too disappointed because we'd just had a lovely early dinner & bottle of wine at he Fishwife Restaurant. No comparison to neighboring Inn's Hapy Hour, though. Breakfast was nice and replenishment of items was timely. Again, lovely settng & location.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Gable Room 04 on the 2nd floor & it had a view, lovely seatng area, was spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed in several Four Sisters Inns in California and Washington over the years, and two on this particular trip. They are uniformly very attractive properties, well-located, well-managed with a personal touch, and loaded with amenities. Each property is unique, yet operated to the same high standard. This is the original Four sisters Inn (it was their home), and every room is quite different. We had the room with a "crow's nest" and had no complaints with it. The private bath (some rooms share) was roomy and was furnished nicely. The small sitting area in front of the window was a great place to curl up and read while listening to the waves across the street. The common areas are spacious and comfortable. Cannery Row is within easy walking distance as are numerous restaurants, and the miles long coastal path is just across the street. This is a great place to stay as you explore the area and far more affordable than comparable properties in next door Carmel.

Room Tip: I'd stay in the main house rather than the annex because of the charm and the view, but pick you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pros: Location, charm, views, staff
Cons: A little pricey for January (230/with tax), breakfast minimal choices

My family stayed here for our annual family get away. We had 3 rooms (two of which were in the house). One room had a full ocean view and the other had a partial ocean view.

Upon arrival the staff was very nice and accommodating. There was coffee and hot tea available and appetizers and wine to follow.

What I liked most about this place was it felt like you were at home which made it easy to just relax and hang out with the family.

Our room had a Queen bed, a partial ocean view, a shower and a jetted tub, a TV with cable and free wi-fi.

Wine and appetizers were very good. I will say the breakfast selections were few so if you are counting on a lot of choices you may want to go out to eat.

The location was great. Short walk to the Aquarium and Cannery Row.

Restaurant recommendation is il vecchio which was wonderful but I recommend making a reservation if you can.

Overall it was a wonderful stay and I would consider it again when staying in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has its own bathroom as I overheard some guests surprised to find out they didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of few places where I would return. It was not the best Inn for kids but it was OK with our daughters ( 2 and 5 years). Nice location and nice restaurants nearby, walking distance to the aquarium.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.0 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#4 of 9 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 301 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.