We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   301 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebration Package
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Would return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is one of few places where I would return. It was not the best Inn for kids but it was OK with our daughters ( 2 and 5 years). Nice location and nice restaurants nearby, walking distance to the aquarium.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    28
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
87
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RSM, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights just prior to Thanksgiving and loved every minute. We were greeted with a warm welcome coming in the evening after dinner. The host provided some good information about the inn and how it all works. She then walked us to our room, showed us a few details and we were on our way to a wonderful stay. We stayed in the "cottage" building (room #7 second floor of 3) separate from the main house. It was an excellent room with a very nice view of the water and crashing waves,.. which by the way, we could here from inside our room. Very nice! The room and entire historical house (originally built in 1888) was very clean and welcoming in so many ways. Though there were other guests (usually it's all couples), everyone was quiet and very relaxed. Reading, playing games, enjoying the excellent ocean views from directly across the street.

The breakfasts were adaquate but definetly not big or with any fried foods. Homemade pancakes, quiche, breakfast breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. etc. The late afternoon wine, tea, coffee, and snacks was a very nice touch as well.

The Inn is located less than a 10 minute walk on an excellent, ocean edge, walking path from Monterey Town & Aquarium. It may take you a little longer as you stroll and enjoy the sea and sea life - which included over a hundred seals basking on the beach just a few steps from the Inn. All-in-all, I would highly recommend The Green Gables Inn and we hope to return someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lacey" room #7 which was not in the main house but had a wonderful ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

During summer 2012 we spent one night at the Green Gables Inn. The small room was even smaller than expected. The door did not close very well, leaving a huge gap at the bottom. The idea of having some snacks accompanied by a glass of wine late afternoon is appealing, however, the quality of the wine was very poor considering what is produced in the Monterey area. The views from the common room are beautiful. To spend some time reading here is a joy in itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed during November. Had stayed here many years ago, and the Inn is still very nice. Comfortable sittng areas and very pleasant overall. Rooms are just what you'd expect, very quaint "antique-y" and well maintained all in all. They have evening turn down if you request it, and plush bath towels, and robes. All in all, very easy to relax here.

The breakfast was OK, but seems a bit "sparse" for the number of guests. There is a limited amount of whatever hot breakfast is being served, and while more is available when it runs out, it runs out very quickly, meaning you have to wait while more is prepared.Stayed here a couple of nights, and it happened each breakfast, so , while the food is fine, the serving process needs improvement, in my opinion. This happened to several guests, so it was not an isolated instance. It is a flaw.

Parking is on the street, but was not a problem.
I would stay here again, but it would be nice if they thought about the breakfast service critically and improved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here with our toddler about a year ago. Loved the quaint and old fashioned feel about the place. We really felt like a guest in someone's home. Lovely view of the ocean from the sitting room and it's a short and pleasant walk along the coast to the aquarium. We saw many people jogging or walking their morning walks along the coast.

Our room was located on the ground floor which was spacious with a separate sitting area. We had to be very careful bathing our toddler in the large bathtub to ensure that he did not slip - there was no separate shower stall. The walls were quite thin and we could easily hear the conversations that were taking place at the reception when we were in our bathroom.

Overall a pleasant and memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Green Gables is truly a special property. Located on the coast, directly across the street from the Pacific ocean, the view of the moody shoreline will enchant you from your window every day and night. We stayed in the Gable room and it has a breathtaking view of the ocean, plus an adorable loft at the top of a ladder. The room itself is so sweet, like a life-sized dollhouse complete with floral wallpaper, a big fluffy bed, and a charmingly tiny bathroom. No TV, just the sound of the waves outside.
The inn was pretty quiet when we stayed there. Plus, I love the abundance of teddybears at the Four Sisters Inns; so unique and sweet. The location is fantastic and within walking distance to many great restaurants, the Monterey Aquarium, etc., and a short drive to Carmel.
We really plan to make it back to the Green Gables again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon 20 years ago and it was wonderful. Returned for our anniversary and it is still just as good. Breakfast is varied and delicious as is the wine and cheese assortment at happy hour. Won't wait so long for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel
Address: 301 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list