We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Centrella Inn to your Saves list
Centrella Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dordrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A unique B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Such a warm and lovely B&B. Their service is genuinely kind and outstanding. Thank you Kent! Chapeau for the person who decorated the place. What else? Ideal location near the beach and restaurants, cosy fireplace, excellent choice of breakfast, coffee&tea available all day, wine and snacks in the afternoon and homemade chocolate chip cookies in the evening. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Kent is wonderful! He is one of our newest family members and has become a fan favorite. He is witty, charming and very educated. I thank my lucky stars that he is part of our family now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    101
    23
    18
    18
See reviews for
32
187
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Centrella. It is well situated and just up the street from Lovers Point. The staff was great and very helpful, especially with restaurant recommendations and places of interest. We enjoyed the happy hour each afternoon, we sipped our wine outside in the lovely, private courtyard. Breakfast was freshly prepared with some nice offerings, omlettes and quiche etc. along with fresh baked goods. If you are looking for quaint , charming place to stay check out this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We have some many wonderful restaurants in Pacific Grove, it's easy to offer suggestions that will fit every dietary need. We now offer bike rentals at the Inn so that exploring all there is to offer in Pacific Grove and Monterey is now even easier. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, il
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in this B&B style hotel. Right from the start the staff made us feel right at home. We happened to arrive right a happy hour and were greeted with a glass of wine and some appetizers, nice beginning. Everybody at the front desk and wait staff were very helpful in finding our way around Pacific Grove with some great selections on things to do and see.

This is an old hotel, so our room was small and very basic. The room was nicely decorated and very quiet even though the inn was completely full. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars were because of the pillows. For the price, some feather pillows should at least be available. The foam pillow were rather hard and unfortable. The outside courtyard was a great place for breakfast and afternoon wine. Very peaceful.

The breakfast was excellent. The omlettes and quiche selections were made with some very fresh ingredients and the scones were homemade and delicious. Free coffee, tea were offered 24/7. Homemake cookies were available in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
The title you chose says it all.. Great Staff! I may be a little biased because I see my staff as family, but I think each and every one of them are amazing. Thank you for warm compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the delightful Centrella Inn at the end of our trip to California. The Centrella lived up to all our expectations. It is well situated in charming Pacific Grove being in a quite road mid-way between the sea at Lover's Point and the shops and restaurants on Lighthouse Avenue. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff gave us a warm welcome, were friendly and helpful with suggestions regarding sights and restaurants. There was a wide and varied menu for breakfast. We were too busy to enjoy the secluded garden! To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I know that when you travel to so many different places it's very easy to forget to go on line and post a review, positive or negative. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It means a lot to us that you remembered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You are staying in a very old historic building so don't expect modern sound proofing or triple paned window. Our windows did not have any screens, but even open, no bugs flew in. The Inn is typical of its era, small rooms, no closets, steep stairways, and quirks of an older structure. With mobility issues, a second floor room is not always our first choice. We were booked in a second floor room, but we changed since other rooms were available for our two nights. We were in Room 1 that faces 17th street. At check in, an offer was made to help with our luggage if we needed assistance. In room 1, the street noise was noticeable, but after about 11 pm stopped and began in full by around 7 am. The street noise matched our sleep and wake cycle. Possibly heavier drapes would help cover the noise. But next time a room in the rear or on the garden will be requested. The staff were attentive and helpful. The breakfast selections were good and with more then enough choices. We are not heavy American breakfast folks. Although the menu stated select one entree, when my husband wanted a yogurt parfait in addition to egg scramble, it was immediately given to him. There were also many buffet items available. I would also suggest that the wine hour be extended (4-6), or begin later (5-7). In good weather with sunlight lasting until 7- 8pm, a wine would be nice around 6 or 6:30 pm before going out to dinner would be a more customer friendly time. The 4 pm start is just too early. The location was terrific. The beach and ocean view walk is just a block away. Some good restaurants are within walking distance. The parking spots are tight, so if possible park in the spots on the street for easier ingress and egress. We would return on our next visit to CA. Visit Point Lobos.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the front of the Inn. Bring your laptop for Internet entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I can tell you are one that enjoys the quirks of an older house. I am glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy our home and take advantage of all the surrounding area attractions. I agree that Point Lobos is amazing. A must see when you are in this area. Thank you for your suggestion regarding our social wine hour. We have decided that during the summer months we will extend the evening wine from 5-6:30 instead of ending at 6. Thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heppenheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed at several inns in the Pacific Grove area and this one is by far the best. I have no idea how the Sunset Inn got to the top ranking, it is terrible. Stay here instead :-) It is a little expensive but super cute, service is friendly, the location perfect and breakfast yummy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I love the smiley face :-) . Thank you for encouraging others to stay with us by sharing your experience. It's because of folks like you that I get to do what I love...meeting people from around the world and embracing different cultures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is one of the old houses locates at Pacific Grove that is turned into a inn or B&B. We had a room at the front of the house and the rooms are a little noisy.
They serve a nice complementary glass of wine every afternoon and the only little minor remark I can make is that breakfast does not start before 8 am. So if you need t leave early you just have coffee to do with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Your kind words inspire us to work even harder to make each guest experience amazing. I am sorry we were unable to accommodate an earlier breakfast. If we have advance notice we can offer some continental items such as bagels, breads & cereal at an earlier time. I know we are a long way from home for you, but if you are ever in our neck of the woods again, we would enjoy hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrella Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrella Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.