We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Centrella Inn to your Saves list
Centrella Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Lodi, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

One of the reasons I chose this B@B was that it advertised for free wireless internet. I had about two hours of personal business I needed to do on my personal computer. After checking in, I found that the internet was down. When I inquired about it, the front desk told me that they were working on it. Two hours later, I inquired again and was told that the internet would be out until at least 5:00 p.m. the next day. Needless to say, I was very frustrated that I could not use the free internet service this B@B advertised and I was not offered any compensation for my frustration.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
It is our desire that we provide all our guest with the service and amenities promised on our website, however in your case this was not met. I apologize for that inconvenience.

Unfortunately, our internet service for the entire property had gone down that morning and even though we were here until 10 pm attempting to fix the issue it was not something we were able to resolve in one day. In the end we had to have Comcast and our computer tech company work together to restore the service and it took several days to resolve.

If you are ever out our way again, we would be happy to offer you a discount on another stay or a free upgrade into one of our suites or cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    96
    19
    18
    16
See reviews for
31
171
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at this Inn. Location close to downtown areas of interest cannot be beat. Parking was provided and appreciated. The hostess, (Nicole?) had a great sense of humor and really made us feel welcome. Breakfasts were varied and outstanding, as was the breakfast service. We have stayed at many B&B's throughout the years both in this country and elsewhere so we are accustomed to the differences in properties. For certain, it is an old property and there are not what one would consider all the amenities,(our room had no TV) but it can't be beat for convenience and basic comfort. We would not hesitate to recommend this place and have already done so.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the front of the property are directly across the street from a municipal buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Nichole is a hoot. She truly loves meeting our guests from all over the country.

The community dance events at Chautauqua Hall begin at 6pm and end at 9pm. It is a great way to learn a few new dance moves and then enjoy an evening of free dance. It is on Wednesday evenings that they perform their drum circle. It's one of the perks of being a small community.

I hope you will visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade at an attractive price, took it and were very pleased with our cozy, quiet, garden view suite. The public sitting room and adjacent breakfast room are a lovely, light, airy space, as is the meandering garden. A friendly hostess is always available and informative.
Breakfast was hearty, and good, especially the scones, wine and snacks in the afternoon is convivial, and the evening warm cookies so appreciated.
The Inn is in walking distance of a wonderful stretch of coastline with seals, snowy egrets, otters and surf crashing over rocks and points.
There are many eateries close by; you don't have to get in your car after wine.
Friendl staff, excellent value.

Room Tip: The side street rooms are quieter, the garden view rooms quiet. Some rooms have bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. It's these kinda statements that encourage us. I hope you enjoyed your time on the peninsula and that you will consider us your home way from home.

Let me know if you would like the scone recipe. They are super easy to make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is such a fun place to stay. The people (Nicole, Honey, Danielle, Lori, and others) are friendly and make you feel at home. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the Garden Room with its own fireplace, refrigerator, tv, and huge bathtub. The garden area is lovely with fountains and seating. The best part is the wine hour when you are able to sit by the fireplace and meet people from all over the world. The breakfast is delicious.......hats off to the chef. Coffee, tea, and cocoa are available 24 hours a day. It is within walking distance of the aquarium, a lovely walk along Monterey Bay, and restaurants. They also have their own parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
It is because of guests like yourself that we love what we do. You are hilarious and make this job a joy rather than real work!

Can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were four adults travelling to Monterey for a couple of days, and their one bedroom cottage suited us perfectly. Two were able to sleep in the bedroom, and two were able to sleep on the sofa bed in the large living room/dining room area. There were two doors leading to the bathroom, so everyone had lots of privacy. We found it more comfortable to take the mattress off of the sofa bed and put in on the floor, but it was quite fine for sleeping.

The hotel itself is a lovely historic property, and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. We liked being able to order whatever we wanted, rather than having a set menu. The staff were incredibly sweet and helpful.

Although we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, we didn't really love Monterey, and if we came back to this area, we would probably try to stay in Carmel by the Sea.

Room Tip: The cottages are cosy and private. They'd be great for a longer stay, with room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for including us in your travel plans. I know you are a long way from home and I hope we got to be a home away from home for you.

The cottages are so much fun. Put the fireplace on, grab some games and hot cocoa and you have an enjoyable evening.

Have a wonderful New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I highly recommend the Centrella Inn. I stayed over Christmas with my Mother to visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our room (#4) was sweet with two single beds, an olde fashioned telephone and wooden armoire decorated with flowers. The bay window looks out upon the neighborhood street through oak tree branches. Breakfast was delicious. We sat at a table overlooking the beautiful garden in bloom. In the early evenings we had wine and in the later evenings, cookies and hot chocolate welcomed us. Nicole is so friendly and helpful. This was our first visit to Pacific Grove. She made asking questions comfortable and helped us with our 2-day Aquarium pass. Other staff were also helpful and directed us to an excellent nearby Thai restaurant. Parking was close. Centralla Inn is the perfect blend of charm and home-away-from-home comfort. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room #4 because it was on the first floor, near but not next to the entrance. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
You got to stay in one of my favorite rooms. It always reminds me of grandma's house.

Maybe you can come up next year when we have the Christmas tour so that you can see how we decorate our individual rooms during the Christmas season. We can always use a few extra hands to help with the decorating. :-)

We hope the new year brings you happiness and joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here with my bf last weekend for a family trip to Pebble Beach. We reserved a "cottage", #5. I reserved a traditional room on 2nd floor looking out towards garden for my parents (other reviewers said this was the strategy for a more quiet room).

First, I was impressed with the help over the phone with Nicole when reserving our rooms. When we arrived, Danielle was super friendly and bubbly. She was there the next morning and again greeted us warmly. The inside and outside were beautifully decorated with holiday decor. And, yes, warm chocolate cookies were there for us that night, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate available all the time.

We stayed in Cottage #5. A good choice because it was on the top floor and quiet. It's away from the main building and a nice walk past fountains, trees, flowers. It was clean and comfy with a living area, couch, and small flat screen t.v.. The fireplace was gas.(I was hoping for a wood burning one). The rooms are big, king size bed super comfortable. Bathroom was very spacious also. Overall great sized rooms compared to other B&B's in the area. Carpet is a bit worn, slippers would be great to bring along for extra coziness.

The traditional room is small but really all one needs for 1 night. Bathroom small with a standing shower with an apparent shower head that hits "chest high". HA. May have to bend over to wash your hair if you're taller than 5feet 5inches. Overall, my family said they were comfortable in the room.

Breakfast in the am was nice. Many different omelette choices, even Belgian waffle. The omelette was tastier than the waffle though. There are continental choices too if you wish. There is a good selection, though not much fresh fruit as another reviewer mentioned.

The B&B is located just a few blocks down from Lover's Beach. It's a lovely walk down there. It is also an easy walk to local restaurants.

Room Tip: Cottages are GREAT! Reasonably priced, quiet, spacious. Great for a group too, to hang out in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience. It is because of guests like you and your family that we love what we do.

Hope 2013 brings you and the family much prosperity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrella Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrella Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.