We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Centrella Inn to your Saves list
Centrella Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Jervis Bay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived at Centrella Inn for a 2 night stay.
Check in was super friendly, quick & efficient. Information provided on the local area.

We were given room 2 which is right at the front of the house on the corner. This is a small but lovely room.Unfortunately for us it was too noisy, you could hear every person slam the front door late till early & street traffic did keep us awake.

Next day we requested to move rooms. The lovely lady at reception did this for us with the minimum of fuss. We ended up with a 2 room suite upstairs at the back of the house. Suited us much better & we stayed an extra night. She ( sorry name eludes me) moved our luggage for us & when we returned there were petals on the bed with a bottle of Salmon Bay bubbly & a lovely note. Very special for us.

Centrella Inn has atmosphere. It is decorated within keeping of the victorian era.The gardens are well kept. The cat is gorgeous. There are games & books on the shelves. A small lounge area to sit & quietly chat outside of your room.
Water/tea & coffee available 24 hrs. Breakfast is also provided but we did not sample - not breakfast people! Parking is available.

Every afternoon wine tasting & nibbles are provided. Try the Salmon Bay red - nice.

In summary Centrella Inn is worth it. The "lovely ladies" service is outstanding. Pacific Grove was my pick of the towns from Santa Cruz to Santa Barbara. Loved the architecture. Went to Carmel, no comparison, came back after a couple of hours.

Location is very good. Short walk to the main street. Try the antique stores, lots of treasures. Red Roof Cafe was delicious, try their vast aray of pie. Locals very friendly, spent quite some time chatting in coffee shops! One night a week their is a farmers market, good for a local chat & fresh fresh fruit. Quick walk to Lovers point & some great scenery.

We walked to Monterey from here most days. It's a good scenic walk along the waterfront with plenty of photo opportunities. Also hire the push bikes & cycle the aprox. 20 miles to Pebble Beach. Great scenery - only takes a couple of hours.

3 days was not enough & we look forward to our 4th trip the the USA to continue.......

Room Tip: Upstairs much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to make guest satisfaction our number one priority and your review encourages to keep that as our top priority.

We hope to be able to welcome you again as part of the Centrella Inn family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    96
    19
    18
    16
See reviews for
31
171
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed recently at this cute old B & B for a two night week end stay. We had one of the smaller rooms on the second floor. We did look at some of the others and I would recommend spending a bit more for the larger suite or cottage rooms, as they have bigger bathrooms, space and nicer decor. The breakfast is quite good with a menu of hot items including egg scrambles, quiche and waffles. The Inn has a great location just one block up to the many shops and restaurants and one block down to the bay and lovers point park. The lot parking is limited, but there was street parking available during most of our stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice wine and cheese in late afternoon plus yummy warm chocolate chip cookies at night :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor if booking the lower price rooms, especially upstairs corner end rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We couldn't have wished for a better hotel, we had travelled from Santa Cruz, had been on our feet all day & were so pleased when we arrived here. Full of character & charm, Nicole greeted us and what a lovely professional lady with a charm of her own! Our room was fantastic & the wine hour with nibbles was just fabulous. What a great way to meet fellow guests. We met some lovely ladies having a school reunion. This hotel is a real credit to Monterey and our first visit to California, thank you x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you! Your words have encouraged us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in the Lovers Loft, very romantic, like a home away from home. Great location, service and a decent choice for breakfast. Although my husband was not happy carrying the suitcases up to the room. As noted by other reviewer Nicole on reception was excellent. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We certainly agree with you and the other reviewers that Nichole is a wonder. She has been with us for almost a year and has been a major asset to our team.

The blessing and curses of an old house.....stairs only, no elevator. However once you get up there the lofts are well worth it.

Have a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stopped in Monterey on a California road trip, and Centrella Inn turned out to be a great choice for a one night stay- thanks, Trip Advisor! The Inn is housed in a charming Victorian building in Pacific Grove, just a couple of minutes down the main street from Monterey. Nicole at the front desk was lovely, giving me a good rate for a last-minute reservation. The room and bath were simple, but clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The delicious breakfast was made to order downstairs in the morning, and using their offer on Yelp!, I got a free bottle of California cabernet sauvignon on the way out. I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you. You have such a warm friendly smile.

We strive to be a soft place to land after a long day of traveling, and based on your nice review, I would say we succeeded.

I know Monterey is a long way from home for you, but I hope you will consider us your home away from home the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is our 3 year to stay at this charming Inn. Walking distance to many very good resturants. The staff is so helpful. Full very good breakfast. No TV in rooms, 3 stories with stairs only. Garden cottages, and patio. A cozy place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Your group is always a pleasure. We look forward to hosting you each year. I can't believe that it has been 3 years now. I certainly hope to see you all next year as well.

Have a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Two blocks from Lover's Point and the bay, one block from shops and restaurants. Quiet location, "quaint" and comfortable. We stayed in a separate cottage (thank goodness because there was a large gathering of friends staying in the main house). Nice hot breakfast, small portions, but tasty. Wine and snacks in the evening; hot beverages available 24/7, and...hot chocolate chip cookies at 8pm! Evening staff was extremely helpful and courteous - couldn't have been nicer! Very TINY tv's, but adequate - we didn't go there to watch tv. Nice patio for relaxing when the weather is a little warmer. Quality toiletries were provided. Decent value. I look forward to my next stay there.

Room Tip: If quiet is important to you, ask if a large group is booked before booking a room in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. Our evening staff is wonderful and they love to spend time with our guests. They appreciated your kind words.

If I remember correctly you were here during our Movie group gathering. They are a spirited bunch and have been staying with us for years. I am glad our garden cottage was able to be your refuge during your stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share. Can't wait to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrella Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrella Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.