We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right near the Monterey Aquarium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Centrella Inn to your Saves list
Centrella Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Oakland, CA.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Right near the Monterey Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Spent the President's Weekend at The Centrella Inn,, a 100 year Victorian B&B that is a National Historic Landmark. There are lovely quaint rooms, each with its own bath, in the inn and several cottages around the grounds. The stay includes an afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres hour and a full breakfast. We stayed in the front room which is handicap accessible (as I was on crutches) and large,bright and sunny. The Inn is about 1 mile from the Aquarium and they have a 2 day pass for the price of one day so we were able to see everything and not get exhausted. Nearby is Vivolo's Chowder House where we had the best meal, better and less expensive than anything on Cannery Row. One block away on Lighthouse Ave. is A Niche In Tyme, wholesale and estate jewelry with great prices and an equally quaint brother and sister ownership. All said, a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    94
    19
    18
    16
See reviews for
30
170
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

A late-19th-century Victorian with three floors, many rooms, and several cottages situated around the large,attractive, and relaxing patio and garden. Location is convenient to the water and to downtown Pacific Grove, with easy driving to Monterey or Carmel. Our room was more than adequate. The shower, as others have mentioned, is a high-placed addition to an antique claw--foot tub. Not the most convenient, but it gets the job done (although a safety bar or two might not be a bad idea). Electric heater was efficient and easily controlled, and the windows opened for ventilation. The parlor area features comfortable chairs and sofa with newspapers and other reading matter. The TV is small and on only when someone wants to watch it. (As noted by others, the inn is not a spiffy, 21st-century luxury hotel; it is more on the lines of a B&B or guest hotel you would find in the British Isles.) Breakfast was more than adequate, fresh and well prepared. A menu offered choice of one entree from two quiches; a spinach, cheese, and mushroom omelette with a small portion of home-fries; oatmeal; OR yogurt-fruit parfait. Also available were orange juice, hard-boiled eggs, granola and another cereal, toast, bagels, cream cheese, butter, and English muffins. Coffee (not bad) and tea available all day. In short, plenty of good quality fare. Wireless worked fine. Staff were readily available, helpful, and amicable. If you think you'd enjoy a bit of a step into the past with the benefits of modern conveniences in a beautiful little town by Monterey Bay, this could be your place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Loved this place! Stayed here two nights on our trip up the coast. It's an easy walk to the monterey bay aquarium and about a block from the beach. The rooms aren't anything fancy since they are pretty dated but the hotel had tons of character. The staff was super friendly, and I even got the recipe to their scones by mentioning I loved them. The breakfast was pretty good, order from their daily menu and then there was a selection of cereals, breads, scones, and hard-boiled eggs. They have a glass of free wine and hors' d'oeuvres in the evening, they also put fresh baked cookies out a little later. Though the rooms are pretty small and dated, also no tv, the hotel has tons of character and the staff was awesome, it was exactly what we were looking for, I definetly plan to come back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

As everyone has noted, the location is superb. A block down from Lighthouse, which is the main street in this charming town of Pacific Grove, and just a few blocks to Lover's Point on the beach. I took a walk along the beach for a few miles at sunrise - very convenient and oh so beautiful! Also, just a 20 min walk to the Aquarium and Cannery Row. The rooms need updating - most are a bit small (remember, Victorian), but if you are active and don't spend much time inside then it's fine. Stayed once in one of the separate cottages - very roomy with a fireplace and small TV separate from the bedroom. Can't say enough about the staff. Honey, Sabrina and Sarah are above and beyond anyone I've ever encountered at other B&B's. They will try and accommodate any needs or requests you have - another major reason to stay here! One not so great perk: The wine/hors d'oeuvres hour needs to be improved - pita chips and dip really are not hors d'oeuvres! If you're looking for something reasonable and clean to lay your head, then would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I loved the hotel. It was quiet,great Victorian decor, homey and cozy atmosphere,lovely breakfast. 2 things I wasn't 100% happy with were:the room door wasn't locking properly and it took ages to get a hot water from both-tap and the bath.Also, I was slightly puzzled about the hotel front door which we were able to open with our room key when we returned after 10pm...Does it mean that all rooms had the same key? Oh, another thing, we checked in at 5pm and left the room around 7pm meaning my husband and I had a little rest after a long drive and sight seeing. when we came back at around 10pm, our bed was tidy again. It was OK but unusual for a not 5* hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just stayed at the Centrella Inn last weekend. You can't go wrong with the location. Close to the ocean, restaurants, and shopping. However, the Inn is in desperate need of an interior updating. We stayed in a Cottage. Too much furniture, some of which were down right uncomfortable. The dresser drawer in the bedroom was unusable. If you are going to charge good money, I just don't want to pay for the location. Breakfast was just ok. Evening wine drinking and nibbles, just ok. Could make this place one of the premier locations in Pacific Grove with some TLC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in early September and were glad that we chose Pacific Grove and Centrella. We loved the quaintness of the place (as others have said, if you like shiny, new chain hotels, this won't be for you). I think we were lucky with our room - decent size with claw foot bath and lovely comfy bed. What was great though were the little touches. Freshly baked cookies in reception together with coffee and tea round the clock and my personal favourite, a chilled glass tank of iced water with mint, strawberries, cucumber etc in it. Very refreshing. The wine hour was incredible! The first glass was very generous as were the cheese, biscuits and crudites. We had a second glass of wine and happily paid $5 each for another very generous glass! They made a mistake and charged me for the room even though I had pre-booked via last minute.com. However, this was immediately rectified. Loved the walk down the sea front watching the seals, sea lions and pelicans. Wouldn't have wanted to be down by Cannery Row. Nice and chilled in PG. Recommended.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrella Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrella Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.