We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Star Saturday Night near the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Vagabond Inn

The Vagabond Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Vagabond Inn to your Saves list
The Vagabond Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1245 North Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Hemet, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“2 Star Saturday Night near the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Under 100 including Tax...You get what you pay for....Bed was comfortable, Internet and Heater worked...Carpet filthy...Bathroom and Bed clean...Very Noisy as far as you could here the toilet in the next room flush and people walking outside...I'm sure this could be considered a No Tell Motel to some.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    7
    6
    13
See reviews for
11
14
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Smelly and dirty room. Comforter with holes and stains! Simply do not recommend this awful hotel to anyone! After complaining about the comforter, the staff said they are waiting for new ones they have ordered. It would be better to have none! The internet was also awful, dropping connection all the time. After complaining, the staff said that that happened because many people visited "strange" websites... What a terrible experience. The police also came at night because of men having a party in the backyard. I regret every single dollar spent there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Been coming here for 4 years, never had a promblem, the stuff has been really helpful and accomandated all my needs. Very fair prices, and in a convenient location so you can get to anywhere in oxnard fastest and easy. I will continue to come here in the future and recommend others to stay here. Louie.

Room Tip: the first section near the office the beds are very comfortable and nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The vagabond Inn was a good basic stopover value. Clean and staff friendly and helpful. Denny's restaurant ajoined the hotel property. The one negative i observed is that the concrete steps to the second floor on either end were black from traffic; they would do well to steam-clean; it leaves a poor impression for the Inn.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms are quieter, goes without saying. Alot of working trades-people apparently use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My child and I suffered through three nights at this horrible inn. Our usual hotel was booked and we took a chance. The carpets in the room were stained, stinky and looked liked they had never been cleaned. I didn't want to walk barefoot in the place. Everything was so old and dirty. There were pleanty of fresh oil stains outside the doors, trash in the lot and noisy guests. Dogs barked throughout the night from the lot next door. I was fooled by the rating numbers and should have read the reviews more closely. The girl at the front desk told me she had not seen the inside of the rooms when I complained, but tried to get me the cleanest room by asking the cleaning staff for a recommendation. The sheets and bathroom were clean, but I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid this place unless you have no other alternative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Got here late at night, the desk clerk was very friendly. The room was nice with two beds. The room was clean and so was the bathroom, bed was comfortable. I would recommend. Price was good. It was a quiet night, no loud people. Also there was a Denny's next door which was nice for breakfast. The morning clerk was helpful with directions that I asked about.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one night while visiting Oxnard. Its easy to find. The hotel staff was very pleasant and never harsh or uncaring. The room I found to be somewhat small but very okay, and quite clean. The bathroom was very clean and I had new sheets, and never saw any bugs, it includes an iron and ironning board. When I woke up at about 7 am the water was plenty hot with plenty pressure.

The room has a small frig and microwave. I was very dismayed to find the microwave not working as I had bought some dinner and breakfast to heat up. On toying with the door it all of a sudden came on, but stopped working again. The staff was very pleasant in that they offered to bring up one, but I declined as I was tired.

The hotel is relatively quiet. I would stay here again possible. They don't have a computer for guess and printer, which I always find essential for printing out boarding passes. There is a local library which I did not have time to access.

There was another hotel on Oxnard Blvd called the City Center Hotel, it didn't appear to have alot of adornments, but if you looking for cheap, I'd think its cheaper than the Vagabond. I paid $62 a night plus taxes I think.

Room Tip: I chose a room far from the street and on the second floor, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vagabond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond Inn

Address: 1245 North Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vagabond Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Vagabond Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Oxnard
The Vagabond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vagabond Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.