We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in oxnard, ca stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vagabond Inn

Save Saved
You added The Vagabond Inn to your Saves list
The Vagabond Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vagabond Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1245 North Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Oxnard
Bradner
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“When in oxnard, ca stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 week here in June and another in September for business. Nice hotel, but what really made me go back was the front desk. Wendi went above and beyond to make it enjoyable. So from now on whenever I go to Oxnard, CA. that's where I'm staying.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    7
    4
    15
See reviews for
9
10
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on 1weeks vacation in California in Nov 2012. Stopped at Denny's for dinner, right next door to the Vagabond & we then realized how tired we were, after dinner, so decided to book a room ($65). Cost was reasonable for an 'okay' room. Sheets were clean - bedspreads are always questionable as usual. Dated furniture; older carpets, so wearing socks or shoes in the room is a must. Rare to find a Hotel in Canada for $65/night, so we were more than fine with these conditions.

A-1 complimentary coffee in the lobby, with tasty muffins & fruit in the morning, which saves money. All staff is super-friendly & accommodating. Or, Denny's restaurant is just next door of course.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I'm a trucker based in Oxnard. Everytime my truck is down my company pays fo my room here. I can't complain. The rooms are cozy, clean and quiet. The staff iis very friendly and serve you with a smile. Love the location, because of Denny's next door and everything else is a short drive or walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buellton, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms were very clean with a nice smell. Wonderful experience!!! The staff's knowledge of the surrounding areas and what they had to offer and made my stay in Oxnard much more enjoyable!

Room Tip: The front desk clerk was very informative and seemed to know the area very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Caring staff, easy on the pocketbook. No problem with my overnight stay. I was close to beach and shopping and a nice little park for the kids to play at. This is close to a lot of scenic buildings and routes to add to your daytime explorations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Cockroaches in room. this is not what you want to see after working. The people was helpful. But cockroaches aren't. The prices are good, but there are other places with out cockroaches. Try Courtyard Marriott way nicer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've stayed twice in two weeks time at this fine location. The staff is very helpfull, makes you feel welcome and helps out on any problem or issue you might have. In case of any demands you might have: they try their very best to match. Rooms are good and complete: microwave, fridge, hairdryer and strong airco. This hotel is the perfect home base for your daytrips to either the Channel Islands, Malibu, the beaches or Santa Monica. Do try Ojai too: it's stunning. For obvious reasons we returned again to Vagabond Oxnard; one of the reasons is because they recognize you and welcome you back with a smile. We've stayed at Vagabond Palm Springs too: it is as good as the Vagabond Oxnard with same sense of hospitality. Thanks to Brian and Wendi: thank you for making our stay so comfortable: we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vagabond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond Inn

Address: 1245 North Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vagabond Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Vagabond Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Oxnard
The Vagabond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vagabond Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.