We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love staying here!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vagabond Inn

The Vagabond Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Vagabond Inn to your Saves list
The Vagabond Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1245 North Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Oxnard, California
1 review
“Love staying here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I'm a trucker based in Oxnard. Everytime my truck is down my company pays fo my room here. I can't complain. The rooms are cozy, clean and quiet. The staff iis very friendly and serve you with a smile. Love the location, because of Denny's next door and everything else is a short drive or walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    7
    6
    13
See reviews for
11
14
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buellton, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms were very clean with a nice smell. Wonderful experience!!! The staff's knowledge of the surrounding areas and what they had to offer and made my stay in Oxnard much more enjoyable!

Room Tip: The front desk clerk was very informative and seemed to know the area very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Caring staff, easy on the pocketbook. No problem with my overnight stay. I was close to beach and shopping and a nice little park for the kids to play at. This is close to a lot of scenic buildings and routes to add to your daytime explorations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Cockroaches in room. this is not what you want to see after working. The people was helpful. But cockroaches aren't. The prices are good, but there are other places with out cockroaches. Try Courtyard Marriott way nicer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've stayed twice in two weeks time at this fine location. The staff is very helpfull, makes you feel welcome and helps out on any problem or issue you might have. In case of any demands you might have: they try their very best to match. Rooms are good and complete: microwave, fridge, hairdryer and strong airco. This hotel is the perfect home base for your daytrips to either the Channel Islands, Malibu, the beaches or Santa Monica. Do try Ojai too: it's stunning. For obvious reasons we returned again to Vagabond Oxnard; one of the reasons is because they recognize you and welcome you back with a smile. We've stayed at Vagabond Palm Springs too: it is as good as the Vagabond Oxnard with same sense of hospitality. Thanks to Brian and Wendi: thank you for making our stay so comfortable: we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stopped at the Vagabond Inn, Oxnard on our way to Monteray on July 31, 2012. The staff were very friendly, the motel has some age on it but it was very clean and there is a Denny's Diner in the same complex which is great for free WiFi and they have some nice food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

To start - Oxnard, CA is not the place you would want to spend any time. We need to be in the Santa Barbara and I picked Oxnard just for the cheap rates and proximity. Big mistake. Spend 20 bucks more and look at Ventura. Now - the hotel is a typical cheapo one nighter. Very shaggy, dirty carpets, drunks. They had the whole Mariachi band playing on the back alley house near by. Said that - bedding was clean and beds surprisingly comfortable. And when you turn on the AC unit you can't hear anything but it.
Bottom line: If you can - stay away. If you can't - you will survive with no pleasant memories acquired

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vagabond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond Inn

Address: 1245 North Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vagabond Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Vagabond Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Oxnard
The Vagabond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vagabond Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.