We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1156 South Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The location is convenient with some decent places nearby to eat. The room was very nice and comfortable with great bedding. It was pretty standard for a BW Plus hotel. The room was quiet and the property was pretty and well cared for. My only complaint was the breakfast. It was very lacking and seemed like something you'd find at a lower priced hotel. It had a few kinds of cereal, some fake eggs that were cold, and small pieces of cut up waffle. I mean really, if you aren't going to have a real waffle making machine, just forget about it. The breakfast area was also not very nice. The rate was good for the area so I'd stay again but leave in the morning for breakfast in a local restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOxnardInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello Barbara,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and had liked the bedding in the room. Thank you for letting us know about your experience with the breakfast as we are always trying to improve and provide a better experience. We look forward to you staying at the hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    67
    31
    18
    13
See reviews for
58
56
18
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This Best Western is old and needs upgrading. The office staff is indifferent and the breakfast needs improvement in quality and service. They should not run out of the "hot" dishes thirty minutes before the stated end of service. The room was clean, the bathroom area had been updated, and the price was reasonable for the area at $103.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a dog show at the fairgrounds in Ventura and decided to stay a skip away in Oxnard. I always try and find a Best Western first because we have a frequent stayer card with them. I was happy to see this hotel received pretty good reviews and took dogs. When we first arrived, Pam, the lady at the front desk was extremely friendly, and quickly got us checked in. She then explained what the free breakfast consisted of etc, and even gave us a little pet pack that had treats and water in it. Then she spent quite a bit of time going over things we could do in the area with our free time, good restaurants, how to get the local beach with the dogs etc. so right off the bat, I was impressed. When we got to our room, I was happy. It was a non smoking room and actually smelled like a non smoking room in that there was no residual smell of smoke like there are in so many rooms. The rooms had been recently renovated and looked great. Everything was clean and fresh. One thing that I really appreciated was that the bathroom actually had real tile and grout that was clean. It wasn't one of those cheap plastic tub surrounds. After the initial happiness a few realities hit that were a really big turn off for me. When one of the housekeepers was passing by with her cart, I asked for a couple of extra washcloths. For some reason, in every hotel, they never provide enough washcloths for 2 people in 24 hours. So this is always a standard request when we go to hotels. Well, this was the first time i was told that they couldn't give me extra washcloths…it was against policy!!! Um, ok….strange. So my husband went to the front desk to ask for extra washcloths. They provided them, but with a really odd caveat….under no circumstances could any makeup be on the used washcloths. For every cloth that housekeeping found that had any makeup on it, we would be charged $10! WTH? That is why all the washcloths are white!!! So everything can be easily bleached! And I buy my own white washcloths at Costco, precisely to wash my face and remove residual makeup, and i can get 40 for $15. So this was a serious turn off for me. We go to hotels at least once a month and i have never heard of such a thing. If this is the policy it should be visibly posted in the bathrooms. If we had not asked for washcloths, i would never have known. If i had gone to check out and been charged an extra $40 for 4 days worth of washcloths with traces of makeup left on it, I would have been furious!! The next big problem for me was the fact that within the grounds of the hotel, and even outside, in the front, there was no grass to potty the dog. For a hotel to cater to people traveling with their dogs not to have any easy access to a potty area was a real pain. We had to walk across a very busy street to potty the dogs on grass in front of a CVS. Not a major problem during the day, but if there is a need in the middle of the night, to get fully dressed and take a walk off the quiet of the grounds, is a real pain. Like I said, in my title, with a couple of minor changes this could have been a very good or excellent review. But the punitive penalty for getting your face clean, and walking 5 minutes to get the dog to a place where i could potty my dog, the best i can do is average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was clean and the staff was very courteous The breakfast bar was a bit tight right in the check in area. The breakfast bar was not all that great the sausage was cold and it was a long wait they need to do some changes

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We walked to this hotel from the Amtrak station so it was in a good location for us. The room was clean and fairly conformable. The hot tub was working very good which was nice on a warm Dec afternoon. Folks working here are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was okay, but a bit difficult to maneuver when more than four people are there at the same time. That's the case with many hotels when they provide breakfast in their lobby area. There is a CVS Pharmacy directly across the street from the hotel in case you need anything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

You can count on the Best Western rating system. This property was clean, well landscaped, well lighted, and safe. The property is close to the Naval bases (Pt. Magu and Pt Huenemme) and close to the Channel Islands harbor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

You can have the most comfortable clean room and still have no sleep. To many children running around uncontrolled by their parents. And young people having a room party at 3am. I found beer cans and cigarette butts all over outside my door in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn

Address: 1156 South Oxnard Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn! Just because you’re traveling to one of the most desirable places in the country doesn’t mean you have to forego comfort and quiet. The Dallas Cowboys come to Oxnard, which is proof that our town is fit for the stars. Guests can enjoy four fun-filled festivals while in town, spend their days at the beautiful nearby beaches, or check out the intense agricultural scene. There’s a military Navy base nearby, and service men and women especially enjoy checking in to a comfortable, luxury hotel while off duty. Our recently renovated pool area is divine, and every room features a 42-inch flat screen TV. We’re close to the beach with competitive prices, so you can save a little extra of that vacation fund for a trip to Rodeo Drive. The central location of this Oxnard hotel means everything the region has to offer is only a short drive away. The Channel Islands are a mecca for hiking, fishing and kayaking enthusiasts. The Strawberry Festival, Salsa Festival, Banana Festival and Food Truck events are a foodies’ dream come true. Whether you’re in town to check out the Dallas Cowboys training camp or to peruse local beaches, you’ll easily find your groove. Some lucky business travelers are sent to our Oxnard hotel, but it feels more like pleasure than business when you’re so close to the beach. We welcome employees of Oxnard College, Cal State Channel Islands, UCSB, the City of Oxnard, the farming community and service men and women from the Navy bases. Convenient access to all local universities makes our hotel a top pick. Guests are able to access a wide variety of attractions nearby. Oxnard is a great place to shop while driving up the coast through California. There are great restaurants nearby, beautiful beaches and plenty to do in Oxnard. Add our famous, free breakfast to the mix and our Oxnard hotel is unbeatable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oxnard Hotel Oxnard
Oxnard Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.