We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Suite on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Orange County
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sweet Suite on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a great place for any getaway (family, friends, solo, or couple's retreat) ON the beach! The newly renovated suites are the most comfortable and roomiest I've had at a Hilton. Our double queen suite had a large bedroom with an en suite bath and a sliding door to the balcony which gave a full ocean view. The living area was complete with a large bar with a sink, microwave and fridge, a second full bathroom, large desk/office space, and a large lounge next to a second sliding door which opened to the spacious balcony as well. As I said to my family, "I could live here!" Like all Embassy Suites our stay included breakfast daily and a manager's reception, both very well appointed and managed. The dining area is clean and huge and the dining staff is truly exceptional. The restaurant serves many dishes with large portions and, for a resort environment, is not overpriced. The bar is fully serviced and it's nice not to have to pay $15 for a cocktail drink.

With all that perfection, why do I give only four stars? I'm sorry to say that our check-in was to blame. The young lady who checked us in was not proactive nor gracious in her efforts when our room was not ready. We arrived between 3 and 3:30pm, when check-in is at 3. We were told housekeeping was working on our room but it would be ready after we took a stroll by the pool or to the beach, and the receptionist said she would give us an update by phone. To cut a long story short, we were not kept updated on our room and we were ignored when we returned to the lobby until we placed a complaint to a more proactive staff member; we finally got to our room two hours after our arrival. To make up for our situation after clearly, but patiently, letting the second receptionist know we were annoyed with the delay and how it was handled, he gave us a late lunch (more than an hour after we arrived and just before the dinner hour) on the house, which was great! However, I will always remember that check-in experience as the worst ever at any hotel. The reason for the delay? Housekeeping ran out of clean sheets for our beds and had to launder them as we waited!

Once we arrived at our room our stay was impeccable. I would surely return here again and hope for a better situation upon arrival!

Room Tip: Ask for an unobstructed view room for a full view of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Lovestravels,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and informative review on our resort. We absolutely appreciate all the kind words and the constructive criticism. The feedback we receive is used to provide coaching for our team members as well as acknowledging those who did an excellent job. The Front Desk Director will be informed of the check in process and will put a plan in action to ensure it never happens again. We absolutely hope you give us another opportunity as we are confident we can deliver to your full satisfaction. Thank you again and hope to see you back in the near future.

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    312
    135
    100
    73
See reviews for
394
292
34
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
fresno, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Do not expect good service in the breakfast buffet area as well as the evening reception. At breakfast bar, trays are empty for awhile as well as during evening reception. Staff is not in a hurry to correct issues. Shop around for a beach hotel as there are many avail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My family of 4 (kids aged 8 and 10) stayed for just one night. This Embassy Suites is one of the few hotels to still offer a full hot breakfast and appetizers and drinks in the evening. (They even had egg whites to offer in their omelets....) We walked right out onto the beach for a walk in the evening and then we were back out in the morning. We also enjoyed their very large Jacuzzi and pool, basketball and tennis courts (yes we managed to get quite a lot done in one day!). Next time we'd like to try to the bike path along the beach behind the hotel too. Throughout this beautiful location are waterfalls which were no only beautiful but muted all the sounds of the people there. The suite was large and had a mini kitchen which is very helpful when bringing children. I didn't appreciate the extra $16 to park, but I would still highly recommend this beautiful hotel and hope to return to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Steve D.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our resort a wonderful review, we appreciate your kind words. We do take every request/concern/suggestion seriously and will certainly revisit our parking fee to ensure we are providing a fair rate for the market. Thank you again Steve and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the very near future.

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The resort was beautiful and the view of the ocean was amazing! Rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was so friendly, courteous, and just top notch in every way! We will be going again very soon. Thanks Letty and Tara for being so wonderful to our children!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Dan F.,

We absolutely appreciate you taking the time to leave such a wonderful review about our resort. We are very fortunate to have prime real estate but to your point it truly is the staff that keeps guests coming and wanting more! We will certainly recognize both Letty & Tara for their efforts during your stay. As well we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the very near future.

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The managers reception in the evening has only carrots, celery and chips. There is only one server you can get drinks from so the line is very long. I have been to quite a few Embassy Suites and this is the worst managers receptions I have ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns creek, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at oxnard embassy suite back in 2008 and I don't recall it being this nice. Excellent beach, Room was fantastic.. and Embassy suite breakfast are always good. Huge eating area.. unfortunately only in the area for 1 night

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear John W.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are very excited to hear your comment of not remembering the resort being this nice. Though the resort was always a quality product we have improved the entire resort by adding $20 Million in upgrades last year and we are very proud of the final product, thus again thank you for acknowledging! Hope to see you back again soon and for longer than just one night!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved this place! The beach was outstanding and the hotel was very comfortable. This was our first stay here and we wish we would have spent the entire time at this resort. The complimentary breakfast and Happy Hour were fantastic. The hotel should add additional bar tenders for this event. Overall the grounds were very clean. I would have appreciated the ocean view but didn't get it. Make sure you specify that with the front desk. The first floor ocean view closest to the beach access gate would be the prime location to be! You will pay for it but it is so worth it! The beach quality is very clean! Great for family fun and for romantic get away this time of year is so nice. Wear sunscreen or rent an umbrella! Only down to the this hotel is the public restrooms are very dirty :( . Oh well I guess you cant have everything. I cant wait to go again....enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: FIrst floor ocean view is the best view and easy access to the beach !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Caroldeleon5,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our resort such an excellent review and we could not agree with you anymore on our resort “Absolutely being worth the money”. We also take every suggestion to the Department Head and we will certainly ensure we are properly staffed at our complimentary Evening Reception to ensure all guests receive a speedy delivery. Please do come back and visit us in the near future!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.