We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conference review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Torrance, California
1 review
“conference review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lina F, our contact for our conference meeting rooms and the meals was fabulous, had a great attitude and accommodated our needs brilliantly.

The only slight negative was that our sleeping room maid seemed a little inattentive (i.e. forgot to replenish shampoo one night, coffee the next.

Other than that the view/location was fabulous, the hot tub was really hot, just the way we like it, and the breakfast buffet that was included was really well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear KiwiSmithy,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave a positive review for us. Lina truly is an amazing asset to the team and we are very fortunate to have her on the team, we will certainly recognize her internally for her efforts! We will certainly share your notes on the housekeeping staff with the Executive Housekeeper to ensure no hiccups in the future. Please do come back and visit us in the future and enjoy some non-conference time at our resort!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    308
    135
    99
    73
See reviews for
392
287
34
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort is just off the beaten path. As you drive through the fields all of a sudden you come across this small oasis located right on the sandy shores of the Pacific ocean.

When we arrived, the staff was very friendly and exceeded our expectations as they search for the perfect room for our weekend getaway.

The grounds are filled with water features and tropical plants. This is a kid friend resort and there were a lot of children to be seen. Although we were without children, there was much for them do even without the need to go down to the beach.

The room was nice. Our suite actually had two full bath rooms (one with a shower/tub combination and the other with a shower). Perfect for sharing a room with others. It looked as if the room had been renovated and came equipped with flat screen televisions as is typical for Embassy as well as refrigerator, coffee pot, blow dryer and iron. Beds were accommodating. If there was anything negative to say about this resort would be that there is a chance for some noise in the hall ways since they are paved in tile to combat the sand of the beach the noise is amplified. We also heard the folks upstairs walking about but I would call this typical. Also, there is a public promenade that will intersect between the hotel and the beach. We were on the ground floor and had our window slightly ajar which is an invitation for someone to enter your room so if you get a ground floor room facing the walkway, be aware as we actually caught someone standing by our bedroom window trying to look in. Therefore, security is not particularly prevalent on the grounds.

Happy hour was the standard fare as well as breakfast for an Embassy Suites. Cars will have to pay a $16 parking fee if you self-park and $20 for valet.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with your windows open to hear the ocean, ask for room above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Dealuver,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderfully detailed and positive post about our resort. We thank you for staying with us and will certainly take your suggestions to heart and see how we can add noise reducing items to the hallways. We do have security on premises that are regularly patrolling the grounds, thus if you ever hear or see anything suspicious at our resort in the future please do not hesitate to dial zero and we will get right on it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stay all the time and it's a great experience every time! Everyone there is so helpful and welcoming it makes is so much better than your typical hotel. Leticia is the best manager/bar tender she always makes you feel at home there. We will keep coming back, see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear StellaLuvsYou,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful and positive post. As well thank you for recognizing Letty, she truly does embrace the Embassy Suites Culture and we are beyond fortunate to have her and her positive attitude. Please do come back and visit soon and please feel free to reach out to me directly upon your next visit if there is anything I can personally do to be of service.

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Loved the room! we booked a balcony suite and when we arrived we got a patio suite which was much nicer. we were able to walk right onto the beach, it was raining the entire time but would do it again in a heart beat. The food was amazing, and the service was just as good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Debra C,

Thank you for your recent visit & for the positive review, we appreciate the kind words. We truly do have an amazing product but to your point it really is the service we pride ourselves in. Please do come back and visit soon and we promise to order up sun-shine for you this go around!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently stayed here for a few nights with family while on vacation. I will admit that I was somewhat hesitant after some of the mixed reviews, and the somewhat low score on Trip Advisor. We found the grounds to be clean, most staff very friendly, and the pool and hot tub delightful. You can't beat the location. The food was very good (breakfast, manager's reception, and restaurant). I would agree with other reviewers that the parking charge ($16) is too high (perhaps make this free or at reduced cost for Hilton Honors members, based upon their level?), and that an upper floor is a must. We were on the 1st floor and it sounded like there was an elephant walking around in the room above us. However, all in all, I would recommend this hotel to others, and we plan on returning in the future. Definitely different than any other ES that we have ever stayed at, and we have been to a lot of them! Loved the fact that they had a table tennis table, foosball table, and tennis courts on site.

Room Tip: Building 7 is a winner (or any other directly facing the ocean). I would suggest staying away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Kjk411,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review on our resort. We absolutely take all requests and suggestions seriously and will revisit the parking fees. Building seven (7) is a fantastic building and we hope to have you back in the near future as we will have a suite waiting for you in there!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a lovely weekend stay. The hotel's location is ideal in terms of being on the beach. There's not a whole lot to do in Oxnard per se, but it's about an hour from Santa Monica and Santa Barbara. The coastal drive is lovely. That said, if you're looking for a place to getaway and be on the beach, this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Kterp98,

Thank you for leaving a wonderful review on our resort and sharing that we are a great getaway resort. To your point unfortunately Oxnard is not as lively as Santa Monica or Santa Barbara but we do have some very nice hidden gems right in our backyard. Next time please visit our Front Desk staff for recommendations of nearby attractions to visit. Hope to see you back soon!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Unusual problem of noise and the manager was terrific. Strange sounds from upper unit, never figured out what it was but the manager made every effort and by the time we left we were determined to return because of the effort of the front desk and manager. Great location. Terrific recommendations by the front desk on restaurants and other places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Lyle L.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review on our resort. We absolutely love hearing when one of our team members went out of their way to ensure a guest was completely satisfied. Thank you again for leaving the feedback and we hope to see you again in the very near future!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.