We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3231 Peninsula Road, Oxnard, CA 93035   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
Gilroy, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were there for a wedding and this hotel was very close to everything and everyone we needed to see. Was easy to find and easy to get in and out. Breakfast was very nice and the staff is very friendly. Saying Good Morning goes a long way with me. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. Had a great stay and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow ... Everything we strive to provide our guests - Thank you for sharing your great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    146
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
95
164
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location midway between LA and Santa Barbara and because of previous TripAdvisor reviews. It was a middle-of-the-road Hampton Inn, nothing bad, nothing exceptional. The hallway and room rugs should have been replaced 20 years ago, the room heater/AC emitted a foul smell and was unusable, the noise from the hallway and room above us (we were on the 2nd floor of a 3 floor hotel) kept us up half the night. However. another noise that was actually pleasant was that of the seals outside our window by the harbor that woke us up each morning at a reasonable time. The neighborhood was a bit "industrial" but without any problems. Next time we are in the area we probably would stay in Ventura (5 miles north) rather than at this unit in Oxnard. The strange name by the way is that of the founder of the town who raised turnips or some such veggie.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Cubs-never

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to read that the heater was emitting a foul smell, our staff is available twenty four hours a day, just for cases such as this so that we may accommodate any needs or requests. Our engineering staff has been alerted to this and is looking into the unit. Our carpet is in the process of being replaced, our hotel did open in 2007 roughly seven years ago and we are working on a much needed update. I would like to apologize for the noise from the rooms above, I see you were with us for several nights, I know moving rooms can be a hassle however we would have been happy to move you to an upper floor to ensure a peaceful nights rest. I see that you mentioned you would stay in Ventura when you are in the area in the future, I would like to welcome you to come back and try our hotel again and allow us to show the true Hampton Spirit. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be honored to assist with your reservation. To answer your question according to the California Welcome center homepage “Oxnard's founder, Henry T. Oxnard, intended to name the city after a Greek word for "sugar". Finally, frustrated with trying to communicate his desires to the state bureaucrat, he gave up and named the city after his family. “So it was in fact not named after a veggie, but the founders family. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.



Best Regards
Tara Darling
Front Office Manager / Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is one of the very best. Very clean and well kept. Being on the marina is a big plus. And so close to great beaches. In a great neighborhood. And the complementary breakfast if well stocked and varies from day to day.Well worth the money. Great staff too. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Awesome! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent this past weekend at the hotel for my teenage son's birthday. Everything was clean and the service was fine. Breakfast was basic but adequate. We stayed on the harbor view side as recommended. The view from the patio was very nice. On Saturday afternoon we got a nice surprise when a Beatles tribute band played a concert at the park about 30 yards in front of our balcony. Part of the concert in the park series. The neighborhood is a bit neglected. Hopefully that will improve as the economy picks up. The air conditioner was a bit noisey but all in all it was a good value for 150 bucks a night for a waterfront stay. We would go back.

Room Tip: Harbor view on a Saturday if you want a free concert from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Good to hear your mostly positive report on our hotel. Yes, the Concert in the Park series is a nice perk for our guests. Agreed, the old Casa Sirena Resort up the street is a blight in our area and hopefully very soon we will witness an exciting development on this prime harbor location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked 3 rooms for ourselves and various family members. Were very happy that management offered us an upgrade to harbor views. Rooms were cleaned well, beds were super comfy and all hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Had air conditioning problems at the hotel that made it difficult to sleep on a very humid week. We were informed we would be compensated fairly. The wifi was fast and free for me as I am a diamond member. We fished right outside in the harbor and caught a few small bass. There are also bike rentals on property. I will definitely be returning on our next trip to the Ventura/Oxnard area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and you will be please to know that we have replaced all of our poorly functioning air conditioners. Should be 100% ready for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I requested one of the better units in the hotel, because usually, you get great service and the hotel wants to please thier guess.. Not in this case.. If I had known the type of service that I would be getting, I would have requested a lower price room. I stayed four days and three nights..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that our level of service did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide friendly and professional customer service to each and everyone of our guests - no matter their room type or length of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartz Hill, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Excellent location with outstanding staff who are well trained and customer service oriented. Lupe, who checked us in and out personified "service with a smile." She checked in my family and was very nice and helpful. She was kind to my wife and two young daughters while providing outstanding customer service. As a result, We are returning for a stay this month and will utilize this hotel as one of our main destinations in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Sorry for responding so late to your review - and thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback. Yes, I did read your review shortly after it was submitted and did reward Lupe with a nice "thank you" card and gratuity ... Lupe is one of our newest Team Members and although a little soft spoken and shy, she is really warming up to our Hamptonality credo. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Address: 3231 Peninsula Road, Oxnard, CA 93035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.