We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair, 7 out of 10” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pollo Norteno

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Pollo Norteno
715 S Oxnard Blvd, Oxnard, CA 93030
805 487 4571
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 262 restaurants in Oxnard
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fair, 7 out of 10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good, however hard to distinguish from all the other ones. Good, inexpensive. When you finish you'll wonder if you shouldn't have gone someplace else.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    4
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really good chicken and carnitas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We absolutely loved the carnitas, chicken and beans combo! Awesome customer service, nice and clean restaurant. They have two restaurants in Oxnard and both are equally as good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place has the most amazing flavored chicken I have ever tasted! They specialize in just a few things: plates of chicken and tri-tip beef with pinto beans on the side and that is about it. The chicken is roasted, not fried, and red-colored with a secret combination of spices that cannot be equaled. I know people who come all the way from LA just to pick up some of this chicken. This is not a fancy place: your food comes on a paper plate with a plastic tray; your tortillas come wrapped in foil but it is very clean and neat. Try it once and you'll be a beliver!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauma Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty and visually pleasing meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Short walking distance safely at night. Food yummy. Waiting was horrible, not only to get seated, but then to be waited on. Even though it was a holiday week-end, to me it was unnecessary to have any patron wait as I had to. When my food arrived, I just desired to eat and return to my hotel room. Next time, I look forward to savoring their homemade chocolate cake made on the premises (and anticipate not having to wait interminably).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chicken BBQ and Tri-tip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The tri-tip is Ok. But when you have the chicken BBQ with it. The meal takes on a different flavor. Yes you need the rice and beans also. But if you are on a diet, just have the chicken straight.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Norteno also viewed

 

Been to El Pollo Norteno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pollo Norteno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.