We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs. Olson's Coffee Hut

Mrs. Olson's Coffee Hut
117 Los Altos St, Oxnard, CA 93035-3935
805-985-9151
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 265 Restaurants in Oxnard
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had to wait a while for this one but boy was it worth it. Favorite breakfast of our whole trip. Food was OUTSTANDING! Please don't let pass this one by. You will not be sorry!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“be hungrey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

very good home cooked food that will last the whole car drive home! The Menu has a large variety of foods you don't see just everywhere.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The food is delicious. The waitresses friendly. Environment is typical beach coffee house.
The current owner is very patriotic but Mrs. Olsen's goes way back. A local favorite spot so expect to wait. Try to go on an off hour (late breakfast, early lunch, or late lunch) but they usually close at 2pm. Try the surfer's burrito but everything is good. The fresh fruit is by far the best fruit I have ever seen at a restaurant. There will be about a half hour wait on the weekends... but once you put your name on the list you can walk to the sand a few yards away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I live here at the beach and used to eat here regularly. What was once a local gem with the BEST breakfasts has has taken a serious dive. Both our omlettes were tasteless, rubbery, and heaped with soaking wet, over-cooked spinach and generic tasteless tomatoes. The potatoes that used to be wonderfully crisp and crunchy were soft and laden with grease. Not only did our breakfasts look completely unappetizing on the plate, but they lacked any taste whatsoever. We sent them back but the patty melt that came as a replacement order was greasy and the onions weren't even fully grilled. WOW- who is cooking back there??? I know it's a busy kitchen but it has always been busy. That is no excuse to serve sloppy, overcooked food. What a shame. I hope they find a way to turn it back around or they will lose alot of regular customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always a good bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Been going for 25 years. The same order every time: bacon, cheddar, and tomato scramble, with well-done potatoes, a side of salsa, and sourdough toast. Hard to beat. The wait can be brutal, particularly on weekends, and there are some funny quirks, like dairy substitute instead of milk for your coffee, and the OJ isn't fresh, but I've never left unsatisfied.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Olson's Coffee Hut also viewed

 

Been to Mrs. Olson's Coffee Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs. Olson's Coffee Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.