We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triple D was right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
529 S A St, Oxnard, CA 93030
(805) 385-8980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 268 Restaurants in Oxnard
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Walnut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Triple D was right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I saw this restaurant on the Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, so it was on my must do list when I visited my son in Oxnard. I had the Kitchen burger, but changed the BBQ sauce for the garlic aioli, and had the parmesan fries with it...I loved it! As did my daughter-in-law, as she ate the same thing. My son built his own burger with mozzarella and mushrooms, it is his favorite combination on a burger and he ate every bit of this one. He and I also sampled a couple local brews...Mammas Pills and the Saint Archer stout, that were both good. As the portions were good sized, we took dessert home. I enjoyed the bread pudding and the kids ate all the cheese cake, so I did not get the promised taste. The kids are planning to take friends when they visit, as the Kitchen has gluten free options that are hard to find that will also make kids happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best burger I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We just had to stop here when passing through Oxnard in October as I'd seen in on 'DDD'. Super friendly waitress who was really pleased when we told her we'd come a long way to try their famous burgers! My hubby and I both had burgers, he had a lamb/mint one and I had the kitchen burger with bacon & blue cheese - wow - everything totally homemade and a big, fat, juicy burger which was more like steak, so tender! I also loved the garlic/parmesan fries, absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend this place - it seems a little out of the way, but well worth a trip - well we travelled 4,500 mile to go so it must be something special!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good twists on traditional pub fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I did the lamb burger and seasoned fries. It was cooked perfectly and accented by a yummy pepper relish.

Service was good for the early lunch on our trip up the coast from Malibu. This is a Diners Drive Ins and Dive stop. We enjoyed our food and the quiet pace compared to hectic LA.

I highly recommend giving this a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went for dinner and chose different item. My husband was not happy with his Italian dish and I could not eat my chicken dish. My chicken was tough and hard to cut. The flavor was okay, but salty. The service was not much better even though they were not busy at the time we went. We will not be going back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A standout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Oxnard is one of the most run down and crime ridden cities in California. There is a small section of town called Heritage square which is safe and worth a look. This restaurant is situated there. The staff are warm and friendly and there was a musician playing on a Friday night. We were a group of ten, and the was excellent. The menu tends towards regular favorites. I had an Asian wrap with chicken. Very good. Recommended as a good place for good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.