We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing at best...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anaba Sushi

Anaba Sushi
1171 S Victoria, Oxnard, CA 93035-1455
805-382-1230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 268 Restaurants in Oxnard
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing at best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We love sushi & usually Trip Advisor has it right...but this place either had an off night or Trip Advisor has it all wrong. Mediocre sushi, noisy, almost non-existant service...& who serves a slab of bean curd to a kid & calls it "kids sushi"?!? I would not recommend this place & we certainly won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Terrific food, good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate at this strip mall sushi place in Oxnard in June of 2013. The fish was excellent, the cooked food was good too, and we were really impressed by the innovation and variety of sushi available. My favorite was probably the sunshine salmon sashimi plate. My husband liked the yellowtail surprise roll.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quality Sushi and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Anaba is the best sushi place I've found in Ventura County. They have an extensive menu and the service is excellent every time I've been there. The sushi is of good quality and creative presentation. I'm sure there is better out there but not in Ventura/Oxnard. Make sure you let them know if it's a birthday!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best Sushi We've Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I can only speak to the Maki, but this was by far the best sushi we've ever had. We had the Monster Legs appetizer, the Green Dragon Roll, Asparagus Tempura Roll, Traditional Japanese Roll, and the Dynamite Roll - all tasted phenomenal and had excellent presentation. Also, the portions are very large - generally we order 4 rolls for 2 people when we go out for sushi, but in this case 3 rolls would have been fine for us. Plus, the prices here are very good - 4 rolls + appetizer + drink + tip only set us back about $50.

Also, if it's your birthday, make sure to let the staff know - a table next to us was celebrating a birthday, and they were in for quite a surprise.

This restaurant is very close to Ventura, so if you're staying in either Oxnard or Ventura it's worth the trip. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Anaba offers great quality and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is my families "go to" restaurant for sushi. And actually the menu is quite varied, so there is lots to choose from if raw fish isn't your thing. Of course a lot of sushi is made with cooked fish. Excellent quality, good service, varied menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anaba Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Anaba Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaba Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.