We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned, no wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Shores Resort

Mandalay Shores Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxnard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandalay Shores Resort
5226 Neptune Square, Oxnard, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Oxnard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old-fashioned, no wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Well, it's a beautiful and awesome location. But, modern amenities like wifi and flat screen TVs are not there. The wifi does not work and my wife and I both need it for work. They should not advertise wifi if it does not exist. The office said that the problem was that everyone was trying to access the Internet at once, but this was clearly not true.

Otherwise this is a pretty nice place in mellow Oxnard.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent a week in the two bedroom (actually a one-bedroom and loft) and thought the best thing about the townhouse was the proximity to the ocean (less than one block). From the windows in the unit, you can see the channel islands and the ocean. The units are older and have been updated somewhat. The loft has a fireplace and the smallest tv ever. The bed is a single but has a trundle pull-out. The main bedroom has a queen bed and no tv (which seemed unusual). The living room, dining room and kitchen were also all on the main level. Downstairs was the second bathroom and the washer and dryer. You have a private patio on the first floor and a single car garage. The units are in a residential area so street parking was available. There are many stairs and if you have any walking problem this is not for you. We tried to go to the office a couple of times but apparently the manager was sick and no one was available to help so we saw the pool and small workout area and knew they had games and movies that could be checked out - but never used any of these services.

Room Tip: Try to get in the main building where the swimming pool is located. Otherwise you are across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Got to spend a week at this "resort". It looks as if it has 8 townhouses to rent. We had a one bedroom that was 3 levels. It had 2 bathrooms, with one being on the bottom floor along with a washer/dryer and entryway. There was a garage level here also. It had it's own little patio area with a table and four chairs for sitting outside. The middle level featured the living room and had a very adequate kitchen with microwave, dishwasher and usual kitchen items. There was a dining table along with stools along the bar separating the two.

The one bedroom and bathroom was on this level also. The jetted bathtub was really not easy to use, so we just used the shower on the lower level. The third level loft had a bed and trundle which meant that we had to be quiet if someone was sleeping up the stairs.

It is located half a block from the ocean and park area. We could even see the ocean breaking over the dunes. We could not use the swimming pool area and the office since there was a propane leak during the week we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We are two couples sharing this apartment for 10 days. It is modern, clean, comfortable furniture including beds and with a fully equipped kitchen. It is located on a beach block. The staff was courteous and helpful and actually knew their way around town and Ventura, nearby. This was perhaps one of the most reasonably priced rentals we could find and have enjoyed it thoroughly, as a base for our touring. It is located between the Oxnard and
Ventura harbors, and convenient to shopping. We took day trips to Ventura, Ojai, and Santa Barbara. We have not found a bad restaurant in this area.

The weather cooperated and we had some lovely walks on the beach and around the Mandalay Shores park up the block. Try it.

Room Tip: This is a condo rentarl. They have one and two bedroom apartments. The Two bedrooms have two full b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here recently for a long weekend. Although the location of the hotel on the beach is spectacular and the outside grounds of the hotel are well kept, the interior spaces are shabby and in disrepair. Our room was quite outdated (carpet, paint, wallpaper, furniture - you name it) The toilet paper holder was falling off the wall and one of the bathrooms had floor tiles that were broken and not glued down to the floor. The room overall felt quite dirty. We did not get a chance to use the pool or jacuzzi but they seemed nice and were quite popular with families. The hotel lobby has displays of the planned upgrade, scheduled to occur in early Oct 2011. I believe the hotel will be quite nice after the upgrades and would then be one of the best hotels in the area. Until then, I recommend you go somewhere else.

One other disappointing tidbit is they charge $15/day for self-park. Really?

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is a good choice as you still get a pretty good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I took a last minute trip to the Camarillo/Oxnard area to take care of our teanage daughter who was getting her wisdom teeth pulled while at college. We wanted a place that had more space and was relaxing.

As we own a timeshare, we decided to see what we could get as an exchange. While nothing was available, we did call a few in the area to see if there was space available not through exchange. Mandalay Shores had availability.

The unit we rented was 3 levels, the garage and entry (with 3/4) bath on the first floor, kitchen, living room, bedroom & full bath on the 2nd floor, loft with twin bed and trundle bed with fireplace on the 3rd floor.

The unit was reasonably priced, was 1 block from the beach and had all the amenities we needed for a nice 3 day weekend. It also had enough space for us to host college kids during the day.

As it was a timeshare, we understood no maid service, needing to take out the trash, etc. However, was a little surprised the last day when reading the check out instructions that there would be a $25 charge if the dishes were not all washed and put away prior to check out. This is the first timeshare I've stayed at where this has been a requirement. (And considering there was no dish soap for handwashing items, it was a little strange).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Older property with out-dated furnishings that could use some replacing.
Master bedroom has small TV set on top of a dresser in the closet. TV set in loft is a 12".
Kitchen could use some brighter lighting.
Only a double sized cheap bed in the master bedroom. No end-tables on either side of the couch.

The pluses? 1/2 block to the beach, a garage for parking, a washer and dryer in the unit, downstairs batroom near the entry to wash off sand.

Not sure if I would return but seriously, they need to up-date and up-grade the furnishings and paint.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Free internet...
Show More
6.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oxnard/Camarillo
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
Bar/Lounge, Mid...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#3 of 20 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Shores Resort

Address: 5226 Neptune Square, Oxnard, CA
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Oxnard
Also Known As:
Mandalay Shores Hotel Oxnard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mandalay Shores Resort to your Saves list