We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Shores Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxnard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandalay Shores Resort
5226 Neptune Square, Oxnard, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Oxnard
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Handy Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Got to spend a week at this "resort". It looks as if it has 8 townhouses to rent. We had a one bedroom that was 3 levels. It had 2 bathrooms, with one being on the bottom floor along with a washer/dryer and entryway. There was a garage level here also. It had it's own little patio area with a table and four chairs for sitting outside. The middle level featured the living room and had a very adequate kitchen with microwave, dishwasher and usual kitchen items. There was a dining table along with stools along the bar separating the two.

The one bedroom and bathroom was on this level also. The jetted bathtub was really not easy to use, so we just used the shower on the lower level. The third level loft had a bed and trundle which meant that we had to be quiet if someone was sleeping up the stairs.

It is located half a block from the ocean and park area. We could even see the ocean breaking over the dunes. We could not use the swimming pool area and the office since there was a propane leak during the week we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We are two couples sharing this apartment for 10 days. It is modern, clean, comfortable furniture including beds and with a fully equipped kitchen. It is located on a beach block. The staff was courteous and helpful and actually knew their way around town and Ventura, nearby. This was perhaps one of the most reasonably priced rentals we could find and have enjoyed it thoroughly, as a base for our touring. It is located between the Oxnard and
Ventura harbors, and convenient to shopping. We took day trips to Ventura, Ojai, and Santa Barbara. We have not found a bad restaurant in this area.

The weather cooperated and we had some lovely walks on the beach and around the Mandalay Shores park up the block. Try it.

Room Tip: This is a condo rentarl. They have one and two bedroom apartments. The Two bedrooms have two full b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here recently for a long weekend. Although the location of the hotel on the beach is spectacular and the outside grounds of the hotel are well kept, the interior spaces are shabby and in disrepair. Our room was quite outdated (carpet, paint, wallpaper, furniture - you name it) The toilet paper holder was falling off the wall and one of the bathrooms had floor tiles that were broken and not glued down to the floor. The room overall felt quite dirty. We did not get a chance to use the pool or jacuzzi but they seemed nice and were quite popular with families. The hotel lobby has displays of the planned upgrade, scheduled to occur in early Oct 2011. I believe the hotel will be quite nice after the upgrades and would then be one of the best hotels in the area. Until then, I recommend you go somewhere else.

One other disappointing tidbit is they charge $15/day for self-park. Really?

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is a good choice as you still get a pretty good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I took a last minute trip to the Camarillo/Oxnard area to take care of our teanage daughter who was getting her wisdom teeth pulled while at college. We wanted a place that had more space and was relaxing.

As we own a timeshare, we decided to see what we could get as an exchange. While nothing was available, we did call a few in the area to see if there was space available not through exchange. Mandalay Shores had availability.

The unit we rented was 3 levels, the garage and entry (with 3/4) bath on the first floor, kitchen, living room, bedroom & full bath on the 2nd floor, loft with twin bed and trundle bed with fireplace on the 3rd floor.

The unit was reasonably priced, was 1 block from the beach and had all the amenities we needed for a nice 3 day weekend. It also had enough space for us to host college kids during the day.

As it was a timeshare, we understood no maid service, needing to take out the trash, etc. However, was a little surprised the last day when reading the check out instructions that there would be a $25 charge if the dishes were not all washed and put away prior to check out. This is the first timeshare I've stayed at where this has been a requirement. (And considering there was no dish soap for handwashing items, it was a little strange).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Older property with out-dated furnishings that could use some replacing.
Master bedroom has small TV set on top of a dresser in the closet. TV set in loft is a 12".
Kitchen could use some brighter lighting.
Only a double sized cheap bed in the master bedroom. No end-tables on either side of the couch.

The pluses? 1/2 block to the beach, a garage for parking, a washer and dryer in the unit, downstairs batroom near the entry to wash off sand.

Not sure if I would return but seriously, they need to up-date and up-grade the furnishings and paint.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010 via mobile

This place is very nicely located within 500feet of the ocean. Although the location is amazing the rooms are par.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Mandalay Shores Resort may be the world's smallest time share facility, but it has to be one of the nicest. We've stayed here several times in the past 10 years. The ocean is just a half block away. The only noise we ever heard were sea gulls!
The units are cute and sleep six. The loft units don't have a private second bedroom, but our daughter loves the loft--up the stairs from the main floor.
One thing we like espeically, is that all the units have garages. Salt spray and blowing sand can do a lot of damage to vehicles.
We rarely eat out because the kitchens are great. Whiel the stove is small, we've actually cooked Thanksgiving turkeys here.
In the past couple years, we've noticed a lot of changes. New, queen size beds, better sheets and blankets, non-stick skillets, new flooring. I think the place is slowly being upgraded.
We like to go in summer--late summer when the days are perfect and the crowds are gone. We've also stayed there in the winter for Thanksgiving and after Christmas. It's just an hour's drive for us. Any time of year the sunsets are spectacular--we've got a treasure trove of great sunset pictures.
We don't use the pool much. We did when our daughter was younger. It's small, but adequate. The hot tub is great for sore muscles and rarely crowded.
The management is wonderful--friendly, helpful, and available. If you check in late, your keys are available in a lock box. They make a real effort to tell you about all the things going on in Oxnard and Ventura. But, frankly, we just enjoy quiet walks on the beach and the solitude and restfullness of the place.
If you're looking for peaceful, quiet beach time without all the hype and crowds, you'll like this place. We do.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandalay Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Shores Resort

Also Known As:
Mandalay Shores Hotel Oxnard
Address: 5226 Neptune Square, Oxnard, CA
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Oxnard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mandalay Shores Resort to your Saves list