We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Channel Islands Whale Watching

Channel Islands Whale Watching
4151 South Victoria Avenue, Oxnard, CA 93035
(805) 382-1612
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 14 activities in Oxnard
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Tehachapi, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The crew was excellent. Kept us informed, explained why sonar couldn't be used. When we finally saw whales, we were able to stay out just a little bit longer to get those great pistures and memories.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Attention to detail needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a trip that my husband and I bought on Travel Zoo and I'm very glad that we didn't pay full price. First impressions always important so our trips to the restrooms at their marina headquarters were not a good start. Need a good steam cleaning in there! On the ship - the sound system did not work properly so those of us on the back of the boat could not hear one thing that was being said - not the emergency/safety review before departure or the narrative during the trip. No one came to the back of the boat to be sure we heard the safety review or the narrative. Very disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, CA (USA)
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No whales but lots of other critters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We left on time and returned on time. No whales but the crew managed to find dolphins, sea lions and seals for us to see. A pelican latched on and travelled with us part of the trip. Boat was clean, crew was nice and they had snacks and drinks you could purchase. Nice trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a highly recommended excursion for the entire family for a chance to see these magnificent animals. Although there is a chance that whales may not be sighted, there is an opportunity to get close to the Channel Islands, a national park.

The captain has a wealth of knowledge not only about the wildlife, but about the national park as well. It was amazing how much could be learned from this one trip.

If you tend to get seasick, take medication an hour before sailing. Don't forget your cameras and extra batteries in case they run low. A telephoto lens might be useful when the whales are at a distance.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I'm not very sea strong, this affects my review.
They serve nice breaky, muffin, fruit and a piece of omelet. Drinks can be bought at a fair price.
I puked less than 20 min after leaving the small port. This made the first hour less fun, after that the worst part was over and I started enjoying being out at sea.
We saw a sealion at port, a couple of dolphins and a lot of sealions and seals out at the islands. Nothing else besides some birds. No whales. Bummer, but the whales are free and we were out of luck. But go go go (take a motionsick pill before going if you get motionsick) and enhoy the beautiful area. Check groupon etc for great deals, we did and were lucky to get the trip 50% of.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Channel Islands Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Channel Islands Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channel Islands Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.