We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 East Esplanade Drive, Oxnard, CA 93036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Oxnard
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I travel to Oxnard on business about once every 6 weeks and every time I stay at this hotel. It is located only 5 minutes away from my company's manufacturing plant; ideal proximity to many locations in Oxnard lots of stores and places to eat. target is just down the road. This hotel makes my time away from home less stressful with great employees, free Wifi, hot breakfast with good coffee, free parking and comfortable rooms

Location:
The hotel is located right off the 405, you can see it when you are driving on the freeway. It's easy to park and get right into the check in desk.

Check-in: Small check in in area, friendly staff, went very quickly. If you arrive in the evening there are fresh baked cookies waiting for you at the check-in area.

Room: Rooms are a little old school, but not too bad. There is a mini fridge and a microwave. Beds are comfy and clean. A good standard room.

Amenities: The hotel serves a hot breakfast. They recently had a renovation and now how the new cafe style courtyard dining. Lots of options and fresh Starbucks coffee.

All in all a decent stay in a good location....dependable for my visits to Oxnard,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
41
33
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel was booked as part of a fly drive holiday.
To be honest nothing much stands out about this hotel. The room was fine, the beds comfortable. The only thing that makes it stand out in my mind is the selection of books available for browsing in the lobby and some (semi-comfortable) chairs in which to do so.
The wifi was atrocious, most of the time it was impossible to connect.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was on my road trip and booked this hotel for a night stay. Boy, without GPS it is really diificult to find this hotel. Checkin was simple and easy. Room is provided with cofee maker, fridge and oven. wifi worked fine in my room. Breakfast not included. They have a Bar in the hotel lobby with fastfood option. There is a shopping mall located near by with good dining options. parking is free and have very big space. They have pool and whirlpool. They have car rental as well in the hotel. Hotel looked kind of upgraded Motel. Staffs does not seem to know the local details much. overall it is ok for a night in and out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights but and should have moved on after the first night. The room smelled of stale smoke, elevator worked only when it felt like it and the free wireless internet connection was an absolute waste of time. When I approached the staff about the internet problems they initially denied there was a problem but then conceded that other people had the same issue.
Foyer is in the process of being upgraded, once finished they need to continue with the rooms and they are showing their age in several places.
Will not be returning to this hotel.....

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere until they upgrade the place. Not what I expected from the Marriott chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I would stay here again, the room was really big!! There were 3 adults with plenty of room, no feeling of being crowded. There was renovation in progress but was not bothersime. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Corner suites on the top floor were large and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at many Courtyards ( I am Marriott Gold) and have stayed at a few under construction like this one. Such a disappointment, despite a wonderful and friendly front desk staff. The room is old, refrigerator, though turned on, is not working. The electrical outlets are in disrepair (plugs don,t stay in)... And they are poorly located for those of us with plug in medical devices (cpap). With only ONE elevator working, we have resigned ourselves to walking down the five flights and trying to be patient waiting to go up. The quality of the $11 breakfast is not up to Marriott standards, and the made to order eggs, well, lets just say that sending them back twice tells the story (along with VERY greasy bacon, cheap white bread french toast, and otherwise standard UNHEALTHY items.) In all, what a poorly managed hotel. the saving grace is the staff ((both front desk and dining). Oh, and thank you Natasha at the front desk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

During my 9 day trip travelling along the West Coast this was the best hotel my family and I stayed in (in terms of value and overall comfort). Room was bright (dislike poorly lit rooms!!) and had free WiFi. Also, complimentary copies of WSJ was available for guests. Just outside of Hotel you will find usual convenience stores. Only negative was the quality of breakfast ....the coffee was so weak it was barely recognisable!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura

Address: 600 East Esplanade Drive, Oxnard, CA 93036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the premier hotels in Oxnard, CA – Courtyard Oxnard Ventura. Located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara just off the 101 freeway along Southern California’s famous “Strawberry Coast,” our hotel is minutes from the Channel Islands Harbor & beaches. This Oxnard, CA hotel’s 166 spacious guest rooms and suites feature complimentary wireless Internet, 32” flat-screen HD TVs and room service. Our hotel’s guests have complimentary access to the on-site fitness center, 24-hour self-service business center and outdoor swimming pool & whirlpool. Our spacious meeting facilities offer more than 10,000 sq ft and accommodate groups from 10 to 500 guests, with state-of-the-art audiovisual services. Every morning, our Plaza Grill Restaurant offers a full American breakfast buffet. Our hotel’s Oxnard, California location is conveniently located close to beaches, golfing, shopping outlet malls, restaurants, wine tasting tours, whale watching, kayaking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oxnard Ventura Hotel Oxnard
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Oxnard Courtyard
Oxnard Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.