We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1950 Solar Drive, Oxnard, CA 93036   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Oxnard
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Venice, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrendous service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely avoid this place - service is bad enough to totally ruin any other positives.

The rooms are nice and there's free breakfast, but the service is so terrible that none of this matters. Front desk people are rude an inept, and just don't seem to give a [--].

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dak G,

Our Management Staff at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo are extremely disturbed by your review of our property, since this is not the usual response we receive from our Guests. Service at Our Hotel is of the Highest Priority and we do not tolerate rude or insensitive behavior from any of our staff. We will contact you privately and address your concerns.

Sincerely,
Chris S.
General Manager

Trip Advisor Community,
This type of Negative Review is never an acceptable response to the Management & Leadership Staff of the Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo. We take this type of feedback extremely serious and can assure readers that any negative experience which is reported is dealt with immediately, used to retrain and discipline offenders to ensure it does not repeat itself. Homewood Suites Oxnard/Camarillo & Hilton strive to make every Guest experience positive & pleasurable.

Have a Hospitable Day,
Chris S.
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Oxnard/Camarillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    71
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
106
61
10
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is only 4 years old, so it is all new, clean, beautiful, and the rooms are really spacious. It is really cheap for what you get (a suite, a breakfast and a dinner included) and the meals are good.
The only negative thing about this hotel is the service. I've stayed there 3 nights and got bad service the 3 nights. When I arrived at the hotel the first night, my room key was not working. I went to the front desk, they reactivated it and I went back to my room but it was still not working. I went back again to the front desk so that someone could come and then went back to my room door. I've waited for 45 minutes with all my luggages and went back to the front desk 2 other times before someone came.
The second day, when I went back to the hotel at the end of the day the key was not working again. At least, I had to go to the front desk only once and it worked .
The third day when I came back to the hotel at the end of the day, I've entered my room to see that the housekeeping didn't come to clean my room. The towels had been replaced, but that's it! The bed was not made, the garbages were not empty, etc.. BUT she did take her tips! Ridiculous!! And finally, this same night I was looking for an object that I'm 100% was on the table and it was not anymore neither in my luggage or anything..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first stay at a Homewood Suites, and we will definitely consider them in the future. From the moment we checked in until we checked out, every staff person we met was friendly and helpful. Our room was very attractive and comfortable, and the king suite gave us the space we needed with our active toddler.

The complimentary breakfast and (four days a week) dinner made this an even better value than we expected.

While this location is close to the freeway and not the beach, it was still a good base of operations for us on our visit to Oxnard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

While this is a beautiful hotel we ran into some issues. The hotel was full so they were behind getting rooms ready. We showed up at check-in at 3 but were told the room wouldn't be ready for another 45 minutes. Also, because the hotel was full and other people waiting even longer than 45 minutes for their rooms to be ready chose to wait there, the pool was very busy and out of towels. People repeatedly went into the lobby asking when more would arrive and were always told soon, but the priority is getting rooms ready. This is understandable but ANY staff person should be able to wash towels, it doesn't have to take a member of house keeping away from readying rooms. Also, they only had 2 luggage carts so we had had a hard time getting our hands on one at check out since the hotel was full.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chip M, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I would like to extend my apologies for the issues you experienced with your stay.

At Homewood Suites Oxnard we strive for the highest level of customer service. The fact we fell short on your expectations of us we take very seriously and have made corrections in our training and staffing that will correct this issues. We make you a promise that if you return to us again for your lodging needs we WILL NOT on drop the ball again.


Sincerely
Chip Morano
Front Office Manager
Homewood Suites Oxnard Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Chief wants you not to be shut out! Say you waited to make reservations for camp with the Cowboys? Check this place! My family just recently visited,and stayed there.
They found the rooms top notch, the pool luxurious,staff warm and friendly. Now don't fret,
The place is only a two minute drill from camp.Oh there will be a Cheerleader Camp on July 18.
By guess who? The Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders! Stay tuned!

Room Tip: Ask to stay n the side closer to Gonzales Rad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a get away with spouse. The hotel was a great value. We loved that it was new and very clean. The Suite was nice and the furnishings were like new. The bed was very comfortable. The free breakfast in the morning was hot and had a great variety. We didn't use the pool area but would've had we stayed longer. The Staff as courteous and friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Oxnard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved our stay. The complimentary breakfast and dinner was excellent. The kids loved the pool. The hotel and room smelled fresh and the room was very clean. The staff was helpful and service was quick. I would definitely stay here again -- we felt pampered and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo

Address: 1950 Solar Drive, Oxnard, CA 93036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oxnard
#1 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#1 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Oxnard/Camarillo in California! Make Yourself at Home(R)! Conveniently located off of the 101 freeway, between Santa Barbara and Los Angeles, the Homewood Suites is the premier Extended Stay Hotel in Ventura County. Whether you are staying for business or pleasure, you will find our location central to the Oxnard business district and surrounding local attractions such as Six Flags Magic Mountain, Hollywood, fine local wineries, the Camarillo Premium Outlets and the finest white sand beaches along the strawberry coast. Finally a Hotel that's like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Oxnard Hotel Oxnard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.