We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice little find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold City Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gold City Grill
935 Oro Dam Blvd East, Oroville, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Oroville
Cuisines: American
Description: American diner and broasted chicken
Restaurant details
Description: American diner and broasted chicken
Silicon Valley, CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a nice little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Up in Oroville for the Salmon Festival and was hungry the other night. This place has a senior menu (I just became a senior this year!). For under 20 bucks, my wife and I were stuffed! A complete dinner, she had the tilapia and I had the prawns. Comes with salad, soup,garlic bread. Added coffee and a slice of pie (each) for additional 2.19 A great deal. The clientele was just about all local people & local families. The waitresses knew them all. They were super friendly to all including us. The food itself was ok. You can't mess up simple grilling or deep fried stuff. But the pies were great and so many choices too. Clean bathrooms which was a plus. Can't give a grill a 5 star rating but for value I do give it 5 stars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoy going to Gold City Grill on any occasion, but their 6AM to11AM Ham and Eggs special, and their 2 for 1 Broasted Chicken on Tuesdays are EXCEPTIONAL. You get a slice of ham that is huge. We had company in town, and took them there for the breakfast special, and the husband commented that we didn't lie about the breakfast, lol. As for the broasted chicken, a take-out box is definately in order, as you get a full half chicken .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Should be the #1 in Oroville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We were her in Oroville for a group trip (7) to the Feather River area, this evening this trstirent exceeded our expectation and we might say it was our best dinner in California. The owner came out to personally thank us for our business, how often does that happen today. Plus the food was excellent and the service. You will not be disappointed here, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The whole family loved it. Great prices, the food was delicious, large portions, wonderful service, and clean. We had our little son with us who made a little bit of a mess with food under his chair. I tried to clean it up but the waitress told me not to worry about it because she would take care of it. That made our visit even better. We will be coming back for sure and recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to be treated like a guest.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“their 2 for 1 Fried Chicken Dinner night (limited Time)is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

they have some of the best food in Oroville! the 2 for 1 broasted Chicken dinner meals on 1 night a week are great, you get 4 piece fried chicken, 2 sides, soup or salad, and either a dinner roll or cornbread.

waitress's here are really nice and friendly, as well as the owner who helps out from time to time when they are really busy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gold City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.