We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything a Hotel Needs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Oro Dam Blvd, Oroville, CA 95965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Has everything a Hotel Needs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times with my s.o. and we just want to get out of town but we don't want to stay at one of the local casino's. It has everything a person could possibly need. I love the indoor pool and spa. Even when it's cold and rainy outside you can go and relax in the pool or spa. We usually go on a Saturday. In the evening we head on over to Apple bees for dinner and then go out to Gold Country casino for some good live music and dancing. The staff is always wonderful right down to the breakfast staff. Kids would enjoy this place too. Try it out.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor by the pool is noisy because you here everyone coming in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
9
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great experience witht heis Hotel, early check in found the room ready, club benefits taken care of, warm greeting, etc. Found the room to exceed expectations, nice, clean, and quiet. My wife and I took our 2 sons and the rrom had plenty of room for us. Breakfast was lacking, but they normally get thier delivery on Thursday and this was Friday morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. Indoor pool was very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side face parking lot and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were not satisfied with this hotel. Rooms were ok, but there were very thick blankets (suitable for winter temperatures) and we had more than 30° Celsius! Big bathroom but totally impractical facility: No place for the towels and you need to crick to get toilet paper.
Breakfast was simple, no great choice. Orange juice looked and tasted like colored water with no flavor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrovilleManagerHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate our guest's feedback. We are dedicated to your satisfaction and want to be your hotel of choice here in Oroville and across the world with the Holiday Inn brand. We have a dedicated staff and will use these comments as a training tool to make our hotel better. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Typical HI Express, however, a fairly newer property.

Positives:
1) Clean, comfortable and good-sized room.

2) Great, friendly staff -- very accommodating. Actually, more accommodating than many other places we've stayed. They gave us a late checkout, working with our schedule as we were in town for a family funeral. Big Thumbs up!

Negatives:
1) the bathroom had a slight mildewy smell. Just enough to be unpleasant. It seemed to be the shower curtains that they have installed. They seem to trap moisture and not dry out well.

2) no facial tissue in the room. My allergies were acting up, and there was no facial tissue in the bathroom or bedroom.

Conclusion: Overall, happy with the hotel, with the two stated exceptions.

Summary: Nice accommodations for Oroville. Typical, newer HIExpress with standard breakfast fare and excellent staff.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've traveled to Oroville many many times as my grandparents live out here. The town does not offer much in the way of tourism, and many hotels we have stayed in before have not been all that friendly, clean (to the point where you want to stop at Walmart to buy your own sheets for the bed), or offer any 'extras'. This Hotel is far and beyond the best option for the area. The staff was friendly and courteous, the room was very clean, and the breakfast was delicious. We stayed in a double queen room, it was spacious, the beds were comfortable (they even offered soft and firm pillow choices!), and the AC worked great. The free breakfast had pancakes, cinnamon rolls, eggs, hash browns, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, assorted cereal, assorted breads, juice and coffee. Don't forget to check the board in the lobby that gives information on what going on in the area. During our stay there was a 5k race/walk through downtown and the desk clerk helped us plan our drive to my grandparents house so that we could avoid the blocked off streets. Probably not going to help like that at any other hotel in Oroville. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Due to the recent passing of my mother, I had to make emergency arrangements. One arrangement was arrivign after midnight and another was havign to depart at 3 AM in order to catch my flight our of Sacramento. They were wonderful to the point of makign sure a fresh pot of coffee was brewed for my departure as well as there being an assortment of breakfast items available.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here before the start of Linemans school (for my son). I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was very helpful to me and my family. I would like to personally thank Joy for her help during our stay.

Great value, great location in town. Also visited two breweries while visiting. Western Pacific in Oroville and Sierra Nevada in Chico. Both "musts" if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest

Address: 550 Oro Dam Blvd, Oroville, CA 95965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oroville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oroville
#2 Business Hotel in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service offered at southwest Oroville, CA hotel. Conveniently located off highway 70, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Oroville, California is a short drive from the nation's largest dam, the Oroville Dam and only 2.9 miles from Oroville Municipal Airport (OVE). Families can enjoy a variety of outdoor activities such as fishing, swimming, boating and hiking at Oroville Lake, only 4.5 miles from our hotel. Oroville, CA is home to the Salmon Festival and the Gold Rush Car Show, as well as Feather Falls or Gold Country casinos, where you can try your luck. You'll find several shopping, golfing, dining and wine tasting opportunities within a short drive of our Oroville hotel. Business travelers will find local companies, such as Xtreme Builders, Sierra Pacific Packaging and Grey Fox Vineyards are easy to reach. Business travelers looking for lodging in Oroville, CA can benefit from our 400-sq ft meeting room, 24-hour business center and the free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. We take care of your needs with our excellent service and amenities. The friendly and knowledgeable staff at our Oroville, California hotel invite you to relax in the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool. You'll sleep well on a triple-sheeted bed and start your day off right with a complimentary hot breakfast. Stay Smart at our choice Oroville hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Oroville Southwest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.