We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park

Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park
Orick, CA
707-464-6101
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Orick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This state park, established in 1923, is part of the Redwoods National and State Park System.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This park was simply amazing. We hiked some trails, visited the valley of ferns, and spent time on the beach. It was so peaceful, as we had most of the beach to ourselves. The water was cold, but the sand was warm and soft. The waves themselves were huge and fun to watch. It was one of our favorite stops in the Redwood National Forest. The road is awful though. Give yourself lots of time to get from the highway to the park. The road is small and winding, which is to be expected. But there are thousands of monster potholes. Which again, on a mountain road, potholes aren't surprising, but the number was extreme. We felt it was worth the drive, but I you don't like blind corners and bumps, it may not be for you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't camp there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I can recommend the redwoods. Not so the camping. For the likes of $35, one might reasonably expect a well-maintained campground with showers and the like. In actual fact, the campsites were neglected and the (paid) showers were positively filthy. No host present, loud parties going on, etc etc. I DO NOT recommend this if getting a good night's sleep and possibly cleaning up a bit is what you need.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take the Family and/or Friends and GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We hiked over 12 miles to the beach and back from the visitor center. It was like going into the land that time forgot. Two varied thrushes came out of nowhere and sat and watched us for a while as we were standing in awe of the trees. Simply beautiful. A place that should be on everyone's bucket list.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

At the visitor center there was a great volunteer who confirmed our choice of hikes. We did an ~11 mile hike the irving johnson through the redwoods and through the fern canyon (take the side by the river, its really just walking along the riverbed scrambling over things) to the beach, along the beach, and back up miners ridge to the visitor center. It was really nice because there was a large diversity of terrain and some really beautiful scenery. Also we saw a ton of elk.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun place to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We checked out the valley of the ferns and spent a lot of time on the beach. We had a large section of the beach to ourselves and it was great to spend time being ourselves and not worry about bothering someone else. The views were blocked with the fog in the morning, but when it burned off the views were spectacular. It would be a great place to camp for a few days and hike in to the forest for different views.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park also viewed

Redwood National Park, CA
 

Been to Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.