We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's.... Special.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Cafe & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Cafe & Motel
Save
You added Palm Cafe & Motel to your Saves list
21130 Hwy 101, Orick, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orick
Draper, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's.... Special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I don't know if it's the magic of the area, or the Awesome food we had at the Palm Cafe, but I LOVE Orick. We were told by an ex forest ranger to make sure to stop in Orick for the Lady Bird Johnson Grove, and Fern Canyon. So, we stopped there for a night on our way to bigger, and better things, so we thought. We ended up staying in Orick, in the Palm Motel for 3 days, because it's so enchanting there. Let's face it, the room was a million years old and probably wasn't great a thousand years ago, but it was clean, I slept like a rock, it was Large, and in the end I had everything I needed. It's beyond quaint, and if you were to adjust your radio while driving you'd miss the whole town, but I thought it was a little gem, unfortunately hidden beneath a run-down exterior.
At the Palm Cafe I had a burger and fries and the most amazing shake I've ever had (Neapolitan shake with peanut butter), and it was all fantastic. The little salad-bar wasn't too bad, and their breakfast was TDF. It has Character. We're headed back in June, and I couldn't be more excited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    11
    4
    13
See reviews for
12
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Here is the deal. It is July 4th weekend and we didn't reserve a room .... we just plain forgot. We drove for 125 miles looking for room and ended up sleeping in the car in Trinidad. It was crazy and when we woke up in the morning there were five other cars that probably had the same "no vacancy" issues we had. Anyways after a night from hell in the car, we were starving and the first place was the Palm Cafe.....pretty much a throwback....greasy spoon place run by two older women. The decorations was so funny, acrostic and all kinds of crafty stuff but for some reason we loved it. The older ladies were kind and we really did look like crap after we all five slept in the car the night before...it was like getting to Grandma's house and she has the table all set up because she knows your gonna be hungry. Anyways the food was fine, there was plenty of it and it made us feel like a million bucks after the night we had had. So worth stopping in if only to see the jukebox, funny decorations and pictures etc. In the bathroom they had this sign which kind of summed up how my whole family felt after a night in the car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

With this Motel being the only place still open in Oirck, there's not much choice. It looks warn-out and run down. And it is. I am no snob by any means, but this place was poor. The old guy on reception was uninterested in anything but the credit card. You would get headache using the pool, as it has no water in it. The room was old & dingy. The Cafe on the other hand was reasonable & decent food. Overall a 4/10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had to have a place for the night as all of the campgrounds were full. $90 gets you a warn out room with almost hot water and lots of soap but no shampoo. At least the bedding seemed to be clean. I do not recommend this place, make reservations and camp.

Room Tip: Go Camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Orick, Ca, has the potential to be a nice place, as the gateway to the Redwoods. But, sadly, it is a dying, run-down town. There is no place I would consider staying overnight. I was disappointed in the Palm Cafe for food, after seeing some glowing reviews on this site. Even after inquiring about the pie, the waitress didn't offer us any, & brought the check with the dinners. So no pie for us. Arcata is the only nice town from Crescent City to Fortuna, Ca. So try to plan your mealtime/overnight for that location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Palm Cafe was recommended to us as a place to stop for a post hike snack if we liked pie. I love pie, but my husband doesn't. But, since he loves me, we stopped anyway. He actually ordered pie too, which shocked me. He devoured his blackberry a la mode, as I did my coconut cream. It was amazing. The slices were huge too, mine especially. We were so full, from just pie & water. I'm so glad we stopped. It was a cute little place with nice people.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stopped for lunch while touring N. Calif coast and experienced the best fruit and cream pies we"ve ever eaten...we live in Florida and envy the locals in Orick. We were there with our children and grandchildren and were very pleased with the service as well as the amazing pie!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Cafe & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Cafe & Motel

Address: 21130 Hwy 101, Orick, CA
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Orick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orick is a great little town with lots to offer. We're just a couple of mils from the Pacific Ocean, where there are several local beaches to walk up and down. We have several wood carving booths and a score of gift and specialty item stores to find the perfect memento of your visit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Cafe Hotel Orick
Palm Cafe And Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Cafe & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.