We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and amazing service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hobbit

The Hobbit
2932 E Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92869
(714) 997-1972
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hobbit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 430 Restaurants in Orange
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Malena
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently spent a Saturday night here with friends. We enjoyed the entire experience starting with the delicious appetizers in the wine cellar with the champagne. There were about 10 different appetizers spread around the cellar as you browsed their wine selections for what you would like with dinner. After that we went upstairs and began our dinner. It too was delicious from beginning to end. It is not an inexpensive night out, but well worth the money. I can see how others can say it is a little stuffy but I think you need to understand that they are trying to cater to several different types of people and with the money you pay some tend to want a little more formal occasion; we, however, made it work and enjoyed the wonderful service as well. We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
945 helpful votes 945 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed after first visit: good service, solid but unremarkable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I brought our visiting friends to the Hobbit to celebrate their 15th wedding anniversary. Though we had never before been, we had heard great things and knew it was one of only 3 restaurants in OC with a 28 food rating (out of 30) on Zagat.

Overall, we were underwhelmed. For us, the food quality seemed closer to a 24 or 25--good, but not remarkable. Our salmon course was overcooked. Our prime rib course was delicious. The other courses were totally unremarkable.

The moving stations of drinks at the bar, appetizers in the basement wine cellar, dining in the dining room, intermission on the deck or outside patio, and resuming dining in the dining room was cute and different, but it also felt a bit forced for our tastes. The basement appetizer visit also felt like a very commercial sales pitch in trying to get us to buy wine--which we already had brought with us. (The corkage fee of $25 and $35 for the first 2 bottles felt a bit high in Orange, too.)

The "intermission" was poorly handled, too. We were enjoying a nice drink on their outside patio but were told it was time to return to our seats...only to wait 20 minutes for our table to be served the next course. Not good. Either request people to return table by table or be better prepared. This "artificial" intermission thereby threw their timing off and was quite ridiculous, as a result.

Service, otherwise, was professional and friendly. The executive chef has a brusque manner which might put some people off. In the end, we found him quite warm and ready to please, but he doesn't exude the warmth right off the bat!

Overall, we liked the restaurant. It has potential. We may have visited on an off night in terms of the food preparation and quality, perhaps, so we may give it another try in the future. Certainly, were the food prepared to the quality suggested by its reputation, we certainly felt the $74 per person price was fine. But if we're going to drive all the way from Newport Beach, we expect better food than we experienced for this particular episode.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
550 helpful votes 550 helpful votes
“Dining Like A King”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having wanted to go to this restaurant for many years I was pleasantly surprised to be taken for my Birthday.This experience is so grand that everyone should enjoy it.The evening started with cocktails at 6 and ended at 10:30 pm.The Executive chef and owner Michael and his wife Deborah are hands on.
We loved going down to the wine cellar for Champagne and Hors d' Oeuvres. There were at least 7 different culinary delights.
Seated in the main dining area we were happily served a 5 course meal which included an an intermission.
You can go online and check out the menu before you make a reservation as they serve one fantastic meal an evening. Beef Wellington is my favorite meal and they did it justice.
We also opted to have the pairing of wines Michael suggested for each course.I highly recommend you do this.
This is how the Royals dine and I like it! Alot!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Hobbit, not a visit to the shire but a lovely dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I went here for our anniversary. It was delightful. You start with a cocktail hour and then Champagne and appetizers in the wine cellar where you have the opportunity to chat with fellow diners which makes the rest of the evening so pleasant. Arrived as strangers left as friends type of deal. The sommelier was very helpful and was standing by to answer any questions. Then you are escorted upstairs to dine. Cozy, comfortable and relaxing. Its fine dining without the stuffy, uptight waitstaff. The chef keeps the kitchen door open and we chatted with him for a while too. Awesome. It was $$ coming to 360 for the two of us. But I would definitely go again. I'll just make my boyfriend pay next time :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A memorable evening ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was our first visit to The Hobbit, although we had heard about it for years. I signed up for their e mail alerts and received one that was for a six course dinner for $69 each. Couldn't resist and off we went. We began with a Happy Hour upstairs (no host bar) and got a chance to see the house ... yes, this restaurant is in a house, so is quite unique. We began the evening officially by being called to the wine cellar for Champagne and hors d'oeuvres ... all excellent. Then upstairs to our dining rooms ... we were in the main room, table for two. First course was seared diver scallop with wild ramp risotto and sweet English pea cream .. lovely! Second course was roasted duck breast with soba noodles, duck jus and ponzu chili oil. Then an intermission when we could relax on the patio or visit the kitchen .. we visited the kitchen, which is small and efficient. After intermission, we were called back to our tables and began the balance of the meal with a pineapple and french vanilla sorbet, followed by the main course. it was Cote de Boeuf with charcoal roasted shallots .. sublime. Diners may choose an alternative entree .. this night was halibut. Dessert was a boca negra ... the densest chocolate cake I have ever tasted ... with Grand Marnier Mascarpone Mousse and fresh berries. And through the entire meal, we were offered freshly baked rolls .. we quit after two!
It was one of the nicest meals I have ever eaten ... it was served with friendly formality ... the table was beautifully set with lovely china .. a small centerpiece of a white rose bud with berries in a glass .. just lovely all around.
There were 25 in our room .. the table behind us (4) got a little too loud, but not enough to spoil the event. By the time we paid the bill, it was almost 10:30 pm .. a little late for us, but this is not an evening to be over in an hour.
We enjoyed ourselves very much ... the quality of the food was excellent, the presentation was perfect .. we definitely will be back.
Highlight of the cellar appetizers .. the root vegetable soup and the French Sandwich .. perfect.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hobbit also viewed

 
Orange, Orange County
Orange, Orange County
 

Been to The Hobbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hobbit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.