We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen

Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen
141 South Glassell, Orange, CA 92866
714-633-3038
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 375 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: S Glassell St
Description: GABBI PATRICK is dedicated to integrating moderngastronomy with the indigenous and traditional recipes of Mexicancuisine. In her pursuit of preserving the rich culinary heritage ofMexico, Gabbi has adopted an eco-gastronomic approach in herinterpretation of “Old World” recipes. Her passion and vision arereflected in every detail of her craft, from supporting local farmsto her extensive travels throughout Mexico.
Tucson
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Gabbi's is my favorite mexican restaurant ever! The ambiance coupled with great food really makes this a special place! They make uniquely delicious margharitas, flavorful sauces and a great presentation. This is a place you don't want to miss. Make reservations as they are always full.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    44
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superlatives all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Truly exceptional Mexican food. Lovely staff and a beautiful room. I hope people realize what a gem they have in gabbi's. I dream of their mole Oaxaquena year round. Everything is fresh, homemade, thoughtfully presented and taken to the next level.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best finer place to eat in Orange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is where we take friends to eat if we want to really impress them. This is not some greasy-spoon hole-in-the-wall Mexican dive. This is gourmet Mexican cuisine, and the prices aren't $0.99 taco Tuesday prices.

The service is equitable to a five star restaurant. The folks here know they're running a classy operation, and they treat you in a sophisticated manner. My husband and I went out with a friend for dinner here and we ordered a bottle of wine to share, and we loved listening to our waiter's advice and description on the kind of wine that he thought we'd enjoy the most. The complimentary chips and salsa were incredible (careful not to fill up on those before you eat!) and we ordered an appetizer of duck confit and I-don't-know-what! But what I do know is that I'd never had duck before and I LOVED this. For dinner we ordered a variety of things, but I can only remember what I ordered- the enchiladas suizas. I've never eaten enchiladas so quickly nor enjoyed them so much. They are SO GOOD. The menu here is pricier, but it's worth it for the romantic atmosphere, incredible service, and unforgettable food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o.c. california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not your typical Mexican fare!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Old Towne Orange has expanded its restaurant offerings exponentially in the last half dozen years or so. Gabbi's is located in a space that used to be (like so many new restaurants in Old Towne) where an antique store used to be. The building is charmingly old - They stripped the walls down to the bare used brick and decorated this narrow, but deep room in a style unlike other Mexican restaurants nearby; thereby mimicking the departure of the typical Mexican menu as well. The Executive Chef Gabbi's extensive experience cooking for family restaurants, her culinary education, and starting her own catering service play out well (go to the website for her credentials, as well as the menus, photos, etc. http://www.gabbipatrick.com/gabbis-mexican-kitchen/ ). I go to this establishement for the ambiance, just as much as for the food. High exposed ceilings, soft lighting, beautiful artwork, the Enchiladas de Camerones - really, I can't get enough of this tasty dish - . the Puerco Poc-Chuc which is a Mayan recipe of delicious pork... every dish that I've tried over the last six years since they've opened has been a wonderful combination of flavors on my plate! There is only one downside and that is that it is always busy in the evenings and can get pretty loud. For a party of two to four where you can lean in and talk is acceptable, but for larger groups who want to actually visit while they are eating, it might not be the best choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A trip to San Miguel de Allende in Orange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my favorite Mexican restaurant in Orange County. The owners got it right by traveling all over Mexico before opening. The food is gourmet, not tex mex. The atmosphere takes t you to the likes of a fine restauant in San Miguel de allende. The service too is excellent the cocktails unusual and top of the line. This is not a place to go on a budget. It is on the expensive side but well worth it. As another reviewer metioned no sign so look for the open front brick building with a G. Also a very nice location in the Orange Circle for strolling before or after dinner through nice antique and art shops.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

Orange, Orange County
Orange, Orange County
 
Orange, Orange County
Orange, Orange County
 

Been to Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.