We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star quality in a 2 star price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Inn Orange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Inn Orange to your Saves list
Ayres Inn Orange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Orange
GreenLeadersGold level
Stansbury Park, UT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“4 Star quality in a 2 star price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I really couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. A cab to the hotel from SNA ran about $28+tip. We got into the room and were blown away. Beautifully decorated and nice quality. Good mattresses and plenty of room.

There was a great hot buffet breakfast in the morning and the staff was more than accommodating. We traveled with children ranging from 19 months to 12 years old. We all really enjoyed the hotel. The free shuttle to Disney made it that much better.

We got the hotel through getawaytoday.com and got a great deal at $99/night with the 3rd night free.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    207
    46
    23
    19
See reviews for
329
125
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Wonderful room. Wonderful service. Garden like area in back. Absolutely gorgeous. Felt like I was visiting royalty.

Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Travelers considering the Ayres in Orange need to be aware that their free Disneyland shuttle does not operate from 11 am - 5pm. This is not advertised on their website, nor do they offer the information when you call. If you ask them if they have a Disneyland shuttle, they simply reply "yes", without offering its hours, or the fact that it is run on a reserved basis only. There's no going downstairs and waiting for the shuttle that runs on a continuous basis....you have to reserve a time with the front desk every time you want to go to or from Disneyland. This makes for a major incoveneience when traveling with small children. Also, our aiport shuttle was scheduled to pick us up at the hotel at 3:20 pm on our last day, so I had to find alternate transportation from Disneyland to the Ayres for our group of 10 at the last minute.
On the positive side, the hotel and rooms are clean, and their complimentary breakfast buffet is really good. Their rates are very competitive, too.
Overall, I would NOT recommend the Ayres if you have a need for their shuttle mid-day. If for some reason, you do, the Anaheim Resort Transit service drops off at the Block at Orange, which is about a 4 block walk from the Ayres. It's Route 15, and picks up at Disneyland on the half hour (not the top of the hour like I was told when I called).
On a related note, I would not recommend using the Disneyland Express shuttle service to get to or from the airport. Their 3:00 pm bus left us at John Wayne Airport as we were approaching the boarding area at 2:57. When we called to complain, their manager said the driver left at 3, and that the 8 of us who had a cell phone or watch handy all must have had our clocks set a few minutes too slow. Then, on the way home, we were scheduled to be picked up from the Ayres at 3:20. I had to call when there was no bus there at 3:20 and one finally showed at 3:40. We asked if he was headed to the John Wayne Airport and he replied "yes, John Wayne." He then drove us back to Disneyland and parked in front of the Disney hotel and informed us that he was headed to LAX, and that we'd have to connect with a John Wayne shuttle there at the Disney Hotel. Needless to say, we had a nightmare of a trip in terms of transportation. It made for a very frustrating 4 day trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csmith_9, General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
The guest made their reservations through a vacation package website. When we were notified that the website did not have our correct shuttle hours, we had the site correct our Hotel's information immediately. The hotel takes this guest's comments seriously and have also reminded our staff to clearly communicate our shuttle hours to all callers inquiring about our shuttle to Disneyland.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Rooms were quite big, staff was friendly. Free wi-fi and free breakfast plus free parking is hard to beat for the price. Even though I was a business traveller rather than part of a family going to Disney, the hotel was quite comfortable with a small workout room (1 each of elliptical, bike, treadmill) and computer with printer and internet in the lobby that was usually available.

The free breakfast was perfectly adequate. There's also a Starbucks within walking distance and a mall with movie theater and Borders bookstore if you walk across the street.

Caution: if you are in a room with adjoining doors to the next, you can hear pretty much everything going on in the next room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rekke777
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

It was over 100 degrees in Orange,Ca when we went. We were placed on the Sixth Floor (the top most floor) (IT WAS HOT AS HELL) . The first thing that we noticed was that the lobby and hall ways were not air conditioned . Our room looked like something out of the early 80's . The carpet was way past well worn and was bunching up. The furniture and appliances looked as though they were added as an after thought and it was very hard to find an electrical outlet. Overall, the room had a crowded, stuffy, and cheap feel to it. DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE MONEY I PAID TO STAY THERE. We were offered an alternate room on a lower floor but after taking a look at it, I could see that it wasn't any better. To add insult to a terrible experience, we were charged $4.00 for a bottle of drinking water that we never drank. This leads me to the question if they make this a common practice of charging things to customer's hotel bills seeing if it will be either noticed or disputed. I was told that the charge would be removed after bringing this to the manager's attention.
I noticed that this hotel is still in the stage of remodeling its rooms. I read this on a prior review dated about two years ago. (HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO DO A REMODEL?)
I WILL NOT BE RECOMMENDING THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!! Do yourself a favor and go across the street to the Double Tree Hotel, I'm sure they aren't afraid to accomodate their customer's with air conditioned hall ways and lobbies.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csmith_9, General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear Guest
You are indeed correct, it was well over 100 degrees In Orange during your stay, an uncommon heat wave for our area. While our lobby and hallway air conditioners were on, they could not keep up with the heat. Many of our room air conditioners also were over taxed and we have been replacing old HVAC units with new on a monthly basis for the last 6 months.To clarifly you remodel comment; the Hotel did do a room renovation in 2007, and were in the process of doing a complete gutting of bathrooms and remodeling as well. All bathrooms were completed in October 2009. The Hotel has also replaced many of our room carpets, and continue to do so. Thank you for your comments and our apologies that we were unable to keep the Hotel cool during your stay.
Christine Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I travel all over the country on work staying primarily at Hilton chains. I found this hotel to be good value for a 2 night stay in LA and Disneyland with the family
- friendly checkin
- friendly and prompt shuttle service (not always the norm..)
- good breakfast (not great like the Embassy suites, but I am not paying anywhere that price)
- good decor
- spacious rooms

Highly recommend it for Disneyland travel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My family stayed here for 10 days the last week of July while on vacation. We booked the hotel with our flight and rental car on Expedia. Check-in was a breeze. The room was adequate size and was kept very clean during our entire stay. The bathroooms have been renovated in each room and were very modern. The front desk staff provided excellent customer service. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is a great way to start the day, and the shuttle to Disney is very convenient. We liked the location as it made it easy to get to everything we had planned to do while in Orange (Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Newport and Huntington Beaches, Dana Point Whale Watching, and much more. We ate at Cafe Lucca which is in old downtown orange just off Chapman - - it was a causal eatery serving Italian Food and homemade gelatto. We also ate at King's Fish House on Katella at the Stadium Promenade. We enjoyed both restaurants.

Overall, we were pleased with the Ayers Inn Orange and would not only stay here again if ever in the area, but we would also recommend this to everyone we know.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Inn Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Inn Orange

Address: 3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Green Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Inn Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Inn Orange! Our European-inspired boutique hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Inn Orange are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At Ayres Inn Orange, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Inn Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
Ayres Inn Orange CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Inn Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.