We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Inn Orange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ayres Inn Orange to your Saves list
Ayres Inn Orange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ayers is a great stay for a good price when visiting Disneyland. I don't mind the ten minute or less drive, either. The ART stops here, so you can use the shuttle to go to the theme park if you want to avoid extra parking fees,

Rooms are nice and spacious, but the bathroom seems just a tad small, yet it's the right side to do the basics and enough counter room for your toiletries. The restroom is clean too to bottom, and uv light inspection showed no serious residue in the bathtub.

The living area is quite lovely and spacious. The room passed our white glove and bed sheet exam. Also, no dust was found in the whole room, so their cleaning is impeccable. They provide enough channels for entertainment, a large room fridge for your needs, and a cute closet dresser to hang clothes. They provide 10 hangers for clothing and have a laundry option. Full iron board with iron is available, along with one extra pillow and fluffy sheet. There are ample outlets in the room as well, so plug away.

The overall experience has been nice. Their front desk staff in the day is quite friendly. The graveyard staff person was quiet and did not greet us upon late night entry, which we found a bit strange. Being in the hotel industry, we expect all staff and all times of day or night to greet warmly and be attentive. This one just paced around and looked up without acknowledging us.

The complimentary full breakfast provides sausage, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, orange juice, milk, coffee, pancakes and fruit. Quite a spread. It's free and tastes good, so you can't go wrong with what they provide. In terms of room service, they schedule it only from 5-9pm, which I found strange, because boutique hotels usually offer room service all day or they do not offer it at all. Still, you can order a nice dinner and eat in the room during this time.

The cookies they advertise to (I assume) compete with doubletree across the way was it present or even mentioned. I did send an email today to the hotel to inquire to see what they say. It sounds ridiculous, but those small touches matter to many visitors. I hope that they do provide it even through their construction phase at this time.

Parking is interesting. Th construction blocks off one access way to the rear parking lot, and the closer parking is of course first come first serve. They have ample room in the rear lot, but the only access point from here is the main entrance. This will probably improve after the construction is done.

With Wendy's and Starbucks right next door, Block at Orange across the street and the freeway exit right next to the hotel, this is a great choice for any traveler, especially those visiting Disneyland and trying to save money.

It's been a good experience. I gave the hotel four stars for the amenities, room cleanliness, free parking, and complimentary full breakfast. Service was good in the day, but their graveyard front desk people really need to work on their happy face.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor to avoid noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review! We thank you for advising our reviewers of our hotel's cleanliness, breakfast and restaurant hours. We appreciate your feedback regarding our Front Desk team and parking. We are sorry that a member of our staff was not friendly. We assure you this is not typical of our staff. Our entire staff's goal is to exceed our guests' expectations. Regarding parking, we suggest for our guests to contact us ahead of time, so that we may advise them the best way into the hotel and the best place to park. As you stated, it will definitely improve after the construction is finished. Thank you for your recent stay and we hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    194
    44
    22
    17
See reviews for
308
116
27
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Ayres Inn in Orange during our trip to Disnyeland. We chose it because they offer free parking and a cheap suttle to the park. We had no problems with our room; it was comfortable, clean, odor-free and quiet. The property was nice and the staff was very polite. Being able to get to and from the park for $4 round-trip on the ART system was great. The only things we'd like to see improved are more than one person staffing the front desk - there were a couple of times we had to wait in line behind lengthy transactions - and improve the complimentary breakfast, which was disappointing considering the many great reviews here. The coffee was brackish, there was no bacon, the eggs and pancakes were dry. We were also kinda disappointed that there were no movies available on the TV, and it only offered very basic cable stations (not even the Weather Channel, which we really missed during Hurricane Sandy). Despite these minor inconveniences, we would stay here again when visiting Anaheim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary parking, the ART shuttle and your clean, quiet and comfortable room. We are also happy to read that our staff was very polite.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the Front Desk staffing, breakfast quality and TV channels options. We will further look into how we can improve all these areas, to provide a greater experience to our future guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you once again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here 5+ times while visiting our daughter at Chapman University. LOVE that the parking is free and it is a nice bonus to have WI-FI and a free breakfast. The hotel is renovating and expanding, but we found the construction to be active when we were out of the hotel, so it did not bother us. The front desk people remember you and say hello and goodbye when you go in and out. This location is close to the university, a shopping area with lots of places to eat and there is a Wendy's right next door for a quick bite. They have a restaurant on site for lunch and dinner, but we did not eat there as we were always meeting other people at another location. It was packed all the time though. We will stay there again when in SoCal.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and have a terrific breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you Chapman University parent, for your kind feedback! We thank you for being a loyal Ayres Inn Orange guest! We are very happpy to read that our staff remembers you! Thank you for letting our reviewers know of our complimentary parking, WiFi, breakfast and the proximity our hotel has to so many attractions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed the room & accomodations, although parking was limited in areas close to the front of the property. The front desk personnel were very helpful and the property was convenient to the Crystal Cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you found our Front Desk staff to be very helpful and your room accommodations to be just what you were looking for when visiting the Crystal Cathedral. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'm not sure what was wrong with our floor, we stayed in room 204. The whole floor smelled really musty and the room was bad unless we opened the window. I'm thinking they probably needed to change the pads in the a/c units or maybe there was mold? I'm not sure.

Other than that we had a great time here. The pool was nice, breakfast was good, and the hotel staff was very friendly. It was a great place to stay while we were visiting Disneyland. The ART (Anaheim Resort Transit) was the perfect way to get to and from the park, and this route only had 3 stops on it! It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Again, floor 2 had a really musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your time to give us your feedback. We apologize as it seems we failed to exceed your expectations. In regards to the scent of the second floor, we asked our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer to look further into this concern.
On another note, we are very glad you had a great time at our hotel. We are always very happy to read that our entire hotel staff was very friendly and that our hotel met all your needs. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Anaheim/Orange area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City NM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel chain to friends and family. Attached restaurant served an excellent dinner. Breakfast was included and was above average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Your review was a pleasure to read. We are very happy to read you left very satisfied with your stay at our hotel! We are delighted to read that you highly recommend us to your friends and family! We are very proud to read that our staff was courteous and that you enjoyed both our breakfast and Anepalco's! We cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

PROs:
very comfy beds
very friendly and helpful staff
fresh baked cookies in the late afternoon
close to DL
has onsite restaurant that rocks! (Anepalcos)

CONS:
Room 300 is very noisy because it is right next to stairs.
temperature of swimming pool is very cold!

* Not the hotel's fault but Anaheim Resort Transportation is not very timely. Either they arrive late or leave early. Very rarely on time. if you're patient and dont mind the possibility of waiting, this should not be an issue. ART is supposed to arrive 2 times per hour.

This hotel is great in that the staff is very friendly and helpful. My daughter lost her beloved stuffed unicorn and one of the staff members found it and displayed it so the owner could find it. My daughter was so heart broken when she lost it and was over the moon when it was found.

If the ART was late, the staff was kind to call in to find out when they were arriving.

Do not get room 300. The beds in there were super comfy compared to room 415, but it was so noisy. Think weddings. Many people taking the stairs, opening up the door and letting it slam shut - right next to your door. Outside room 300, are the elevators. Think more foot traffic.

During our stay, there were several weekends all weekend long. The staff was very accommodating and moved us to room 415. Not as comfy beds, but a lot more quieter. Beware, there is construction going on. On the weekend, it should not be a concern but during the weekday, if your child needs a nap, it may be impossible due to the loud pounding construction noise.

The guests next door were obviously smoking weed and trying to cover it up by spraying cologne, which triggered my asthma for weeks after our trip. the staff was very helpful to address it quickly.

Breakfast was OK. Tasted very institutional, but it's a nice that it's offered.

the onsite restaurant rocks! the meals are memorable and delicious! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 300 or 400 which is near elevators and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff! We are very happy to read that our staff responded very quickly to your concerns. We are also glad you enjoyed the comfort of our beds, our fresh baked cookies and Anepalco's restaurant.
We are sorry to read that you experienced noise coming from the stairwell. In the future, feel free to ask for a room further down the hallway. We will try and monitor our stairwells routinely, so that doors aren't slammed.
In regards to the pool temperature, we apologize it was cold. This is not usual, should it occur again, we can always turn up the pool temperature upon our guests’ request.
We hope to have you visit us again, when your travels bring you to the Orange/Anaheim area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Inn Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Inn Orange

Address: 3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orange
#2 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Inn Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Inn Orange! Our European-inspired boutique hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Inn Orange are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At Ayres Inn Orange, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Inn Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
Ayres Inn Orange CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Inn Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.