We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to the usual chains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Inn Orange

Save Saved
You added Ayres Inn Orange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayres Inn Orange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice alternative to the usual chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Ayres Inn in Orange during our trip to Disnyeland. We chose it because they offer free parking and a cheap suttle to the park. We had no problems with our room; it was comfortable, clean, odor-free and quiet. The property was nice and the staff was very polite. Being able to get to and from the park for $4 round-trip on the ART system was great. The only things we'd like to see improved are more than one person staffing the front desk - there were a couple of times we had to wait in line behind lengthy transactions - and improve the complimentary breakfast, which was disappointing considering the many great reviews here. The coffee was brackish, there was no bacon, the eggs and pancakes were dry. We were also kinda disappointed that there were no movies available on the TV, and it only offered very basic cable stations (not even the Weather Channel, which we really missed during Hurricane Sandy). Despite these minor inconveniences, we would stay here again when visiting Anaheim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary parking, the ART shuttle and your clean, quiet and comfortable room. We are also happy to read that our staff was very polite.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the Front Desk staffing, breakfast quality and TV channels options. We will further look into how we can improve all these areas, to provide a greater experience to our future guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you once again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    188
    43
    22
    16
See reviews for
298
110
25
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here 5+ times while visiting our daughter at Chapman University. LOVE that the parking is free and it is a nice bonus to have WI-FI and a free breakfast. The hotel is renovating and expanding, but we found the construction to be active when we were out of the hotel, so it did not bother us. The front desk people remember you and say hello and goodbye when you go in and out. This location is close to the university, a shopping area with lots of places to eat and there is a Wendy's right next door for a quick bite. They have a restaurant on site for lunch and dinner, but we did not eat there as we were always meeting other people at another location. It was packed all the time though. We will stay there again when in SoCal.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and have a terrific breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you Chapman University parent, for your kind feedback! We thank you for being a loyal Ayres Inn Orange guest! We are very happpy to read that our staff remembers you! Thank you for letting our reviewers know of our complimentary parking, WiFi, breakfast and the proximity our hotel has to so many attractions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed the room & accomodations, although parking was limited in areas close to the front of the property. The front desk personnel were very helpful and the property was convenient to the Crystal Cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you found our Front Desk staff to be very helpful and your room accommodations to be just what you were looking for when visiting the Crystal Cathedral. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'm not sure what was wrong with our floor, we stayed in room 204. The whole floor smelled really musty and the room was bad unless we opened the window. I'm thinking they probably needed to change the pads in the a/c units or maybe there was mold? I'm not sure.

Other than that we had a great time here. The pool was nice, breakfast was good, and the hotel staff was very friendly. It was a great place to stay while we were visiting Disneyland. The ART (Anaheim Resort Transit) was the perfect way to get to and from the park, and this route only had 3 stops on it! It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Again, floor 2 had a really musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your time to give us your feedback. We apologize as it seems we failed to exceed your expectations. In regards to the scent of the second floor, we asked our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer to look further into this concern.
On another note, we are very glad you had a great time at our hotel. We are always very happy to read that our entire hotel staff was very friendly and that our hotel met all your needs. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Anaheim/Orange area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City NM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel chain to friends and family. Attached restaurant served an excellent dinner. Breakfast was included and was above average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Your review was a pleasure to read. We are very happy to read you left very satisfied with your stay at our hotel! We are delighted to read that you highly recommend us to your friends and family! We are very proud to read that our staff was courteous and that you enjoyed both our breakfast and Anepalco's! We cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

PROs:
very comfy beds
very friendly and helpful staff
fresh baked cookies in the late afternoon
close to DL
has onsite restaurant that rocks! (Anepalcos)

CONS:
Room 300 is very noisy because it is right next to stairs.
temperature of swimming pool is very cold!

* Not the hotel's fault but Anaheim Resort Transportation is not very timely. Either they arrive late or leave early. Very rarely on time. if you're patient and dont mind the possibility of waiting, this should not be an issue. ART is supposed to arrive 2 times per hour.

This hotel is great in that the staff is very friendly and helpful. My daughter lost her beloved stuffed unicorn and one of the staff members found it and displayed it so the owner could find it. My daughter was so heart broken when she lost it and was over the moon when it was found.

If the ART was late, the staff was kind to call in to find out when they were arriving.

Do not get room 300. The beds in there were super comfy compared to room 415, but it was so noisy. Think weddings. Many people taking the stairs, opening up the door and letting it slam shut - right next to your door. Outside room 300, are the elevators. Think more foot traffic.

During our stay, there were several weekends all weekend long. The staff was very accommodating and moved us to room 415. Not as comfy beds, but a lot more quieter. Beware, there is construction going on. On the weekend, it should not be a concern but during the weekday, if your child needs a nap, it may be impossible due to the loud pounding construction noise.

The guests next door were obviously smoking weed and trying to cover it up by spraying cologne, which triggered my asthma for weeks after our trip. the staff was very helpful to address it quickly.

Breakfast was OK. Tasted very institutional, but it's a nice that it's offered.

the onsite restaurant rocks! the meals are memorable and delicious! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 300 or 400 which is near elevators and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff! We are very happy to read that our staff responded very quickly to your concerns. We are also glad you enjoyed the comfort of our beds, our fresh baked cookies and Anepalco's restaurant.
We are sorry to read that you experienced noise coming from the stairwell. In the future, feel free to ask for a room further down the hallway. We will try and monitor our stairwells routinely, so that doors aren't slammed.
In regards to the pool temperature, we apologize it was cold. This is not usual, should it occur again, we can always turn up the pool temperature upon our guests’ request.
We hope to have you visit us again, when your travels bring you to the Orange/Anaheim area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A recent trip to Disneyland took us to the Ayers Inn Orange. My choice for this hotel was based on the value. For the price per night with the added free hot breakfast,free wi-fi, free parking and door to Disneyland ART Transport, the value was great! Especially compared to many other hotels. There were a couple of places within quick walking distance, Quiznos, Wendy's and Starbucks, so the location was ok.
As I had read in previous posts, we found our room was exceptionally clean. The decor was a bit dated, but well kept. The front desk was very helpful to explain we could not only get our ART passes there, but have them added to our room charges. It was ART Route 14, and took around 15 minutes to Disney twice an hour. Our van never seemed as full as the other ART routes since it only serviced 2 hotels.
The only slight dissappoinment I had was that our room was indeed right next to the elevator and stairwell entrance ( obviously some rooms have to be). It made for quite a bit of noise, since the stairwell door slammed shut and the elevator dinged when it reached the floor. We didn't spend much time in our room during the day sleeping, so it wasn't a deal breaker. If I had babies or wanted a mid-day nap I would definitely ask for a room away from the elevator. The breakfast was basic but filling. Nice lobby, nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators, it will be much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are glad you found the great value our hotel has! Thank you for taking the time to enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet, complimentary Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Your restaurant suggestions and ART information is very helpful to our reviewers! We are sorry you experienced some noise during your stay with us. In the future, you are welcome to ask if a room further away from the elevators is available. We thank you for your recent stay with us and we hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Inn Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Inn Orange

Address: 3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Inn Orange 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Inn Orange! Our European-inspired boutique hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Inn Orange are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At Ayres Inn Orange, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Milestone Internet Marketing, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ayres Inn Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
Ayres Inn Orange CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Inn Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.