We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Inn Orange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Inn Orange to your Saves list
Ayres Inn Orange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Orange
GreenLeadersGold level
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

First of all, my wife and I are from out of state but have been to Disneyland about 50 times during our marriage. We have stayed at dozens of different hotels near Disneyland including all 3 Disney hotels. We always found that the hotels near the park were somewhat "worn" (except Disney properties). Getting to the park easily was one of our main concerns. We have tried everything. We each purchased a 3 day ART (Anaheim Resort Transit) ticket for 10 bucks. It is good for going to and from the park as many times as you want for 3 days. My wife thought being that far from Disneyland (2-3 miles) would be a problem. The route is #14 and it picks you up twice an hour at the 19 and 49 minute mark. Believe it or not, there is no stop until you arrive at Disneyland. It is like having your own taxi. Forget about fighting the parking lot crowds ($15 a day) then walking through the parking lot and riding a shuttle to the park, it drops you off right there. It starts pickups 1 hour before the park opens and the last bus is 1/2 hour after the park closes. Then coming back to the hotel, there was only 1 stop each day were wer there as no one was going to the 2nd stop. Fantastic. Now, the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great onsite restaurant for dinner. Full complimentary breakfast including eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, fruit, drinks etc. Really helps with the budget. The hotel and rooms are very clean and well kept. The king room we stayed in included a sofa and desk, as well as free wireless internet. And a small fridge. The room was beautiful. The only complaint my wife had was that the bathroom was small and only had one sink. Pobodys Nerfect. We will be staying there again and again. They have everything we need and at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback for our reviewers. We are very happy to hear that the Anaheim Resort Transit, complimentary breakfast and our in-room amenities were just right for you. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was very friendly and helpful. We hope that in your future visit to the Disney area, you choose to give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    207
    46
    23
    19
See reviews for
328
124
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here 7/2-7/6. Was disappointed that this was not as new or nice as the property closer to Disneyland. Breakfast was good, but crowded.The restaurant offers a great dinner menu-mexican. Its a good local hang out as well. The Jacuzzi took forever to turn on, and it wasnt very warm. The check in was smooth and fast. I asked for "something special" for our anniversary. When we got to our room, we had 4 chocolate roses and a nice wine. good job. Very impressive. Parking was sufficient. The ART shuttle picks up at the front door in a timely matter. Would stay here again. The eye sore behind the new pool is the old pool that's fenced.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor. Vending and ice machines are on the floors above, but not the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to read we did not exceed your expectations. We strive to have our guests leave completely satisfied with their stay. I'll try and explain on a few comments you noted. You mentioned that our property wasn't as new or nice as the property closer to Disney. Our building is older than the Anaheim property and the difference we do see, is our guestroom bathrooms since they are a bit smaller. The decor of the Ayres hotels is nearly the same. Though it may seem like the Anaheim property is closer to Disney, both properties have the same distance to the theme parks main gate. The fenced off pool, is part of our exciting new addition to the Ayres hotels. We are adding a parking structure as well as a new hotel tower towards the North side of our building.
We are glad you enjoyed having dinner at the restaurant on site, Anepalco's, its French-Mexican cuisine is quite unique and delicious!
We are glad you were very impressed with our staff arranging a special something for your anniversary. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly, so that I may assist you with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

A great find! I had read positive reviews, and this hotel turned out to be just right. It's convenient to the freeway, they have a great breakfast, the room was clean, comfortable and well equipped, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. You really can't expect much more than that from a hotel! We're glad we stayed here, and I've already booked a room here for a return visit.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 200 and those with low numbers, as they are near the elevator and there can be a noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again! We love reading that our hotel was just right for you! We are happy you found our staff to be friendly and our hotel to be convenient, clean and comfortable. We will see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is very nice. If you have a car, it is easy to get to Disneyland. It is also convient to Angels stadium. The beds were comfortable, and the room had plenty of space. The breakfast was very generous. There were eggs, potatoes, bacon, pancakes, fruit, and toast. My husband especially liked the chocolate cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for comments. We are happy to hear your family had fun! Glad to read you were able to enjoy the comfort our rooms, our great breakfast and our cookies in the evenings! We look forward to your future stay, whether your family chooses to visit the Angel stadium or Disneyland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights w/ 2 other families and we all had a king w/ sleeper sofa we wanted a double queen room but they were sold out..,. when both beds are pulled out it's very small in the room. the fridge was nice but there was not a microwave so reheating leftovers didn't work. the pool area is nice but literally next to the road and close to the freeway. there is a hospital within a block so yes, you hear sirens off and on all night. the a/c worked well and wasn't noisy so that helped block some noise and there is a ceiling fan to keep the cool air circulated. there is shopping and some restaurants nearby. there is a krispy kreme donut down the road if you are interested. a Vons grocery is down the road and this hotel is next to a Wendy's restaurant. the Crystal Cathedral is nearby as well.
i would not choose this hotel if you are going to disneyland/california adventure because if you drive it takes 30-45 min. to get to the parks gates from the time you leave (this includes parking) and that is IF you hustle. also you will most likely take the I-5 back from disney because the side streets don't take you directly to the Ayres, you have to turn and then make a u turn to go back to where you turned.. some folks who used the ART (anaheim resort transit) said it took almsot as long too because of waiting on it and they were the last stop. breakfast starts at 6:30am and was eggs, bacon or sausage, cheese, potatoes, pancakes, coffee cake, breads, melon, 3 cereals and juice/coffee/milk. it was ok, but the eggs tasted funny and i the cheese was odd.
the staff were very kind and did a good job and making us feel welcome and keeping our rooms clean but we never knew when they would clean them. one day it was at 1 and the next day it wasn't done by 3.. but i imagine it depends on guests coming and going.

Room Tip: rooms that overlook the pool also overlook the interstate and hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We value your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments will assist us improve our future guests' experience. You mentioned not having a microwave to reheat leftovers. We actually do have a microwave available for our guest's to use. It is on our 2nd floor, in the same room that the ice and vending machines are in. We are sorry this was not communicated to you during your stay with us. You mentioned it took some time to reach the Disneyland main gate. The theme parks have different parking structures and we find that it does take some time to finally reach the main gate. We find that the ART does save you some time when trying to reach the parks. It picks up our guests from outside the lobby doors and it takes them straight there. On the return, it does take approximately 20 minutes to reach the hotel because it is the last stop before it heads back to the parks. We are the third stop on route 14. We thank you for all of your suggestions and we are glad to hear our staff was kind and made you feel welcome throughout your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The location was good and the room was clean but a bit crowded. Didnt like the coffee pot being in the bathroom. The bed and sofa bed were comfortable and the staff for the most part were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was great although was sad that they ran out of bacon the first morning we were there and didnt have any the next day either. Christine the General Manager was warm, friendly and helpful. With her as the example, the majority of staff followed her lead. The fresh baked cookies if you were around the lobby in the evening were amazing. I'd be happy to stay again and would recomend it to friends who want a cheap but pleasant place to stay when you have a busy schedule. I wouldnt like to have to spend a great deal of time in the room but as we only needed a place to crash after busy days so this was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad our hotel was ideal for you. You mentioned Christine, and I have to agree with you. She is a wonderful General Manager and we are very lucky to have her as our boss. She truly leads by example. You also mentioned the placement of our coffee makers; we will try and see if there is a better location for it. We thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, as we know you have many others to choose from in the Anaheim/Orange area. We look forward to your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've been wanting to stay at Ayres for quite sometime but didn't have a chance until now. I have to stay this is a great place to stay if you do not want to be close to Disneyland but are headed that way. It is not in Anaheim but is located fairly close to The Block (outlet mall), UCI Hospital, and freeway access.

It's on the corner of Chapman and The City Drive which is a fairly busy intersection considering it is across from UCI Hospital and about a block away from the outlet mall.

Parking requires a parking permit and there is not many spaces in the front of the hotel there are quite a few in the back but we never had to park there as it didn't fill up as fast as it would say if we were at a location closer to Disneyland.

I believe they used to have a free shuttle to Disneyland but they no longer offer it. They do use ART and unlike other places it seemed like they stopped at Ayres often. I never saw a group of people waiting for ART.

We checked in at about 8pm and did not have any trouble with check in. The staff was friendly and helpful. Every time we passed the front desk we were acknowledged which is a fresh of breath air (unless they were with another guest or on the phone). It isn't a patronizing "Hello" just a nice "Good morning" or "Good evening". They made you feel comfortable.

Their hotel is only 6 stories and we were on the 6th floor, right next to the elevator (602) and ice maker. We heard NO noise from the elevator or ice maker but we would hear the excited kids as they were heading to Disneyland. That doesn't bother me as I'm already awake and getting ready myself. In the evening we didn't hear much noise either except from the outside noise coming from the street. The noise didn't bother me even with sirens and whatnot. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the other side of the hotel (you will be looking out to a Best Buy store, Wendy's and parking lot) The room is fairly large with 2 queen beds with a night stand between. There was even a desk, a TV cabinet (with a flat screen TV), a fridge and another chair. There was still ample room to move around with a 16 month old and a 6 year old. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was not too hard, not too soft.

The bathroom was gleaming clean. My only small complain would be the shower head having low pressure. I think it was a low flow shower head. But that is a very small complaint. I'm fairly small (5ft) and I felt like I had to turn 20 million times to make sure I was rinsing off all the soap.

Breakfast was a nice surprise. It had the normal choice of cereal, bagels, coffee cake but they also had scrambled eggs, bacon (or sausage), and hash browns. They also had fresh fruit (watermelon, cantaloupe).

I would stay here again. The rates are much more affordable than staying across from Disneyland and you get so much more. Many places closer to the resort do not offer free wi-fi, breakfast, and parking much less an attentive staff and clean rooms .

They are pet friendly as well. I had called another Ayres and they told me that their properties were not pet friendly but in calling Ayres in Orange they confirmed that they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at Ayres Inn Orange, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are thrilled to hear you finally had the chance to stay with us. You seemed to have nailed every detail noted about our hotel. The proximity to many points of interest, i.e. UCI hospital, the "Block at Orange" shopping center and Disneyland. Yes, we now use the "ART" shuttle to Disneyland. It is a service that runs continuously throughout the day, every thirty minutes for a minimal fee. Reading that our hotel met all your needs and that our staff was friendly and helpful is what we strive for. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Inn Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Inn Orange

Address: 3737 West Chapman, Orange, CA 92868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
#2 Green Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Inn Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Inn Orange! Our European-inspired boutique hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Inn Orange are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At Ayres Inn Orange, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Inn Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
Ayres Inn Orange CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Inn Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.