We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, room stank - literally!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Ontario Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Ontario Airport to your Saves list
Travelodge Ontario Airport
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 N. Grove Ave, Ontario, CA 91764   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Ontario
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, room stank - literally!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The staff of this hotel is what makes it good. They are extremely friendly. The rooms are ok. Little bit shabby but I'm sure it's because they have so many room changes i.e. people just staying one night, that it's more about wear and tear. It was quite clean although I wouldn't walk barefoot on the carpet, which really was very stained. The one reason I would not go back here is the stench of the room from some kind of chemical spray they use to get rid of previous owners' smells, I guess. I don't know why they just can't open the window or leave the doors open. When you first enter the room you gag. It is awful and having slight chest problems it really aggravated them. Because the hotel is cheap you get a very, very mixed crowd some of them quite loud. The free breakfast is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    24
    12
    33
See reviews for
30
20
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delano, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was by far the worst hotel stay my family has every had in our lives! The reason we chose this hotel was the good reviews that it had recieved and the high rating here on Tripadvisor. But, these good reviews must have gotten it terribly wrong! Let me explain to you the nightmare of our brief stay here.

I booked a 2 night stay here about 2 months ago, because our daughter had a dance competition in Upland, CA. Once we checked in, we walked up the stairs to our room and the door was open! We walked in and there were dirty towels all over the bathroom floor, there was luggage in the room trash all over and the beds were unmade. Okay so we just the manager accidentally gave us the wrong room. It happens. So my husband told the manager and he said he didn't know how that happened because no one was supposed to be checked into that room for the past 3 days! But supposedly he checks the rooms daily! Anyway, when we walked into our other room the overwhelming smell of cigarettes, weed, and chemical deodorizer hit us! It was so bad that our daughter who is 6 and 2 month old son were coughing in the room! The room was filthy and there were holes in the comforter! Again I thought this must be a mistake and the manager probably just gave us a smoking room, when we had reserved a non smoking room. So my husband and I went downstairs to tell the manager. Who proceeded to argue with us that the room was non smoking and he checks the rooms everyday and there is no way it smells like that in there! He even denied it when he went to the room with my husband and said it just smelled like dead air! He was rude and was yelling at my husband in front of our children who were crying! We said that we just wanted our money back since we were not given the room that we reserved and the manager refused! He gave our husband a receipt for a one night stay and my husband told him that if he charged us then we would contest it on our account. Come to find out 2 days later, that he not only charged us for a one night stay but also for the 2 night stay that we had initially reserved! So all together he charged our card for close to $200 when we didn't even stay there for one hour! So now we are contesting the charges on our account and have to live with this extra stress!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I think that the smell is used to cover sin.
So here's the deal, outside is nice, lobby is fine, so you think, it's probably ok.
Then, you park, there's nothing to talk about, just your standard mix of rental looking cars.
But then you walk towards the room. All of the hallways are bad. There are a multitude of dark colored drips that seem to indicate a trash bag - lots of them - had a hole and were dripping crap everywhere.
As you go up the stairs, you look down and next to a bunch of garbage, there is the aforementioned ice machine. Yeah, it really costs money; I thought it was a joke.
Then you finally make it to your room, you're probably thinking, really I should just leave now.
But we went in and the room was a pleasant surprise. Until you go towards the bathroom. We just walked in, but there was blood / coffee stains on the tile, the mirror was littered with marks and the bathroom had a bunch of broken tiles, a pee smell and hairs in the tub. I know I should have taken a picture, but I was trying to figure out if we should stay.
So, we stayed because I drove around to some other hotels, and like another person mentioned, the area is pretty bad. The Motel 6 had a bed sheet haphazardly on a car.
I turned on the tv and ended up on hard core porn. Great! My 9 year old son is in a brothel. As the night went on, we saw a woman "escorted" to a car, the cops stopped by, and the traffic noise was extreme.
Needless to say, we will not ever be coming back here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

If there's one defining characteristic of this hotel, it's the overpowering smell of some kind of industrial strength chemical deodorizer in the room. It's the first thing I noticed, and the last thing to leave you, because it permeates everything for at least 48 hours... clothes, luggage, everything.

Other than that, the hotel wasn't too bad. The room actually looks like the pictures. For a hotel in this (low) price range, I'd say the decor was decent, even tasteful. The bed was comfy. The manager was nice. No 6 or 8-legged creepy crawlies or bites in the night. They replenished soaps and shampoos nightly. And you can get a free USA Today in the lobby.

Once you look "under the covers," if you will, you notice a few areas that could use improvement, or instances were corners were cut.

I noticed one handtowel with a brown smudge on it. OK, whatever. Sometimes things don't come out in the wash. It happens. Still, I didn't want to use that one, so I dropped it on the floor to make sure it got washed. What I didn't like, was the fact that the next day, that same towel with the same brown smudge was neatly folded and hung on the rack! They either washed it and that same exact towel somehow found its way back into my room (extremely unlikely), OR they just picked it up, and folded it and hung it back.

I think it never left my room.

Then there was the other smell... really there's no reason to use such overpowering deodorizer. There wasn't anything that terrible-smelling to cover up. I think. Maybe my senses were knocked out by the chemical warfare agent. But no... because later on, I did note a faint whiff coming from the sink every time I turned the water on. This is the same unmistakeable smell I've smelled before in certain third world countries -untreated water tainted by waste. In third world countries, I could understand. But here in the USA, one kind of expects the water to be drinkable. Maybe it is, but I didn't want to find out.

And then there was the issue of the non-fitted sheet on the bed. I thought there was a law in California requiring fitted sheets. Googling... googling... ah, here it is -SB 462. Well, OK, I guess it hasn't passed yet. I'm sure the hotel and restaurant industry considers requiring fitted sheets to be an example of "burdensome government regulation." Kind of like safe drinking water, eh? But besides being good for the backs of workers, as a customer I kind of don't want my feet touching bare mattress which never gets washed. Which they did, because the sheet doesn't cover the mattress completely.

That said, with all the stuff I'm reading on TripAdvisor about some of the other places in Ontario, I might consider staying here again. All in all, it wasn't that bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for a few months now (room 205) =) and I can't recommend this enough!! I stay at alot of hotels and here is what matters...clean, comfortable, and a great BED. This hotel has all 3...fantastically remodeled, soft plush carpet, crown molding, high end granite tile sink area, fresh modern paint, and a bed with pillow top mattress and great pillows. The manager Gary is extremely friendly and accommodating. For the price..you can't beat it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel has been partly remodelled and the outside looks nice. We had two rooms for our family. The bottom floor had new bathtub/shower, and was newly painted; 2nd floor was not. Both rooms were clean, average size, and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights, and one room was cleaned during the day but the other wasn't.
Breakfast was minimal--cold cereal, milk (one jug was sour), bagels, and juice.
Staff was pleasant, but there was some questionable activity in the parking lot while we were there.

Room Tip: Fairly good price for a decent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Some housekeeping issues with cleaning. New paint carpet and bedding. Adult channels on TV with other movie channels.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Ontario Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ontario Airport

Address: 1150 N. Grove Ave, Ontario, CA 91764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ontario
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Ontario Airport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Travelodge In Ontario, CA. Our Travelodge has something for everyone. We offer Complimentary WiFi Internet, Complimentary USA Today newspaper. Premium Cable 27 TVs , Free Continental Breakfast. We have clean, comfortable newly remodeled rooms with personalized service at economical prices. We are only 1 mile from Ontario Convention Center, 2 miles from Ontario International Airport, 3 miles from Ontario Mills Mall, and just 4 miles from the California Speedway in Fontana, 8 miles to Pomona Fairplex, San Antonio Winery 3 miles and Galleano Winery 10 miles. We have very restaurants nearby that all of our guest can enjoy. Please visit us very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Ontario Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ontario Travel Lodge
Ontario Travelodge
Travelodge Ontario
Travel Lodge Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Ontario Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.