We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slowly wilting rose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 North Vineyard, Ontario, CA 91764 (Formerly Ayres Boutique Suites Ontario Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Ontario
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A slowly wilting rose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed here in the past when the hotel was an Ayres hotel (and I submitted a previous great review), and I was always pleasantly surprised by how nice it was for the price. This was my first visit after the change in ownership, and I can already see that things are subtly changing, and not for the better. The staff was not as friendly or helpful as on other trips; the people at the front desk just seemed bored and bothered. The complimentary hot breakfast of the past has been replaced by a $5 hot breakfast or a free continental breakfast, which now consists of hard boiled eggs and stale baked goods. When we ate breakfast this time, the dining room was dirty. Ick. And the property just didn't seem as well-maintained: carpets were not well vacuumed (and I'm a stickler for clean carpets), our room air conditioner rattled, and the place just seemed a little down-on-its-luck. I hope this is just a temporary slip, but I'm really afraid this is the beginning of a downhill slide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    14
    2
    11
See reviews for
17
17
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've stayed here many times under the Ayres ownership and loved it. The Ayres helpful staff and beautiful decor are still there. The desk manager gave me a personal tour of the recent improvemnets and planned improvements (notably an elevator and a restaurant.) The room was large and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The flat screen TV had the array of Time Warner stations. The bathroom was small but entirely adequate. The show head, unfortunately, was non-adjustable. There is free and convenient parking. There are many different restaurants and fast food places within a mile.The price was lower than Ayres charged. Having stayed in many of the Ontario Airport hotels, I judge this to be easily the best value at this time.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the second floor rooms. Rooms on south side face railroad tracks. Occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Based on previous reviews and ratings, I was expecting a superb room. The two reason I chose this room was because it offered a fridge and free hot breakfast. I was disappointed on both counts. The fridge barely kept anything cold but that wasn't the worse part. When we went to enjoy our free hot breakfast we were informed that it was $5 per person. Otherwise we could have a complimentary continental breakfast. I asked the front desk why we would have to pay $5 per person for a hit breakfast that was suppose to be free. We booked our room on their website and it clearly says free hot breakfast. She explained that the new owners were implementing the $5 charge. This is comp,steely false advertisement. I would have choose a completely different hotel room and spent less money if I would have known the hot breakfast wasn't included. The continental breakfast sucked. It had old cereal, crappy muffins, stale mini donuts or bread.
On the plus side the rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was friendly. Overall I will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on August 10/11, 2013 with my fiancé and I hav to say we were pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size and very clean. The bed was very comfy and we loved the down comforters and pillows. The bathroom floor was done in beautiful marble and we loved that the room included a microwave and refrigerator. The front desk clerk was more than helpful and polite. Best of all the room rates were wonderful. If you compare them to other hotels in the area (and there are a lot of them) their prices can't be beat. Their prices rival those of the "discount" hotel chains like Motel 6 & Super 8 yet you get a much better room and over all hotel stay experience. Great location, walking distance to many restaurants and fast food places. Oh, and last but not least this hotel's complimentary breakfast was so much better than other hotels complimentary breakfasts. We got scrambled eggs, sausage, country potatoes, English muffins, fruit, waffles, cereal, coffee and orange juice. The only negative I have for this hotel was the weak signal wi-fi. It seems the farther you are from the front desk area the weaker the signal. I had a problem staying connected with my iPad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

From walking in, you will notice the little things that separate this hotel from other chains. The lobby was very welcoming, and my wife commented more than once how she enjoyed the paintings throughout the place. The room was no disappointment either, very clean and well laid out. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the Ontario area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at the Magnuson Grand Boutique Suites from August 5-10 and have to say, I haven't had that nice a room since I travelled for a big corporation. It was really nice to have a sofa in the room in addition to the king bed, for comfort while reading and watching tv in the evening. The bathroom was spotless and the floors/carpet very clean. It was nice to have a microwave and small fridge for heating up my restaurant leftovers and keeping a bottle of wine cold. I was very happy with the variety of choices at breakfast - freshly cooked eggs and potatoes, waffles, an omelet one morning, fruit and choice of breads/donuts. Very convenient, amenable staff and excellent pricing. I'd like to stay there again on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 8/4/13 - 8/6/13 and very happy that we chose this hotel.
The Hotel and the room was very clean and updated. For the price we payed it was well worth it.
We booked the hotel through travelocity.com and 13% off for HOT13 code so I only paid $139 for to night!! Anyway, this hotel seem provide clean room for a lot cheaper price than other hotels near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport

Address: 204 North Vineyard, Ontario, CA 91764 (Formerly Ayres Boutique Suites Ontario Airport)
Location: United States > California > Ontario
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. And every morning, you will start your day right with our complimentary continental breakfast. Our convenient Ontario, CA location means you can engage in some retail therapy at the renowned Ontario Mills Mall or partake in any of the various activities at the Ontario Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Boutique Suites Ontario Airport Hotel Ontario
Ayres Boutique Hotel Ontario Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Ontario Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.