We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Rooms-Horrible TV, Cold Pool, Non Heated Spa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ontario Grand Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ontario Grand Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ontario Grand Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 Shelby Street, Rancho Cucamonga, (Formerly Hotel Ontario), Ontario, CA 91764 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ontario Rancho Cucamonga)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 hotels in Ontario
Oceanside, Oregon
1 review
“Decent Rooms-Horrible TV, Cold Pool, Non Heated Spa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The rooms are decent, bed was comfortable but pillows were nearly non existent (lumpy and very small - like a square). The room was big and the bathroom was redone nicer than any other part of the room. The TV worked but remote barely worked and ALOT of the channels had no sound. We came to enjoy the pool and hot tub while on vacation but the pool was ice cold and the spa was cold as well. WTH?? The outdoor bathroom next to the pool/spa was absolutely disgusting. Even the guys commented that the bathroom was really bad!! So.....if you're ok with everything being out-of-order it's a decent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    31
    30
    30
See reviews for
48
40
22
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel looked nice in the pictures&in real life as well. The Front Desk was an older man and he was so nice with us. We got into our room&the decor was comforting&unique! We'll definitely be back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We LOVE this hotel! What we dislike is the little things that add up. We love the colorful rooms with hardwood floors. What we dislike is checking in to see we ONLY had 1 hand towel and 1 washcloth in the bathroom, NO other towels. We LOVE the cleanliness of the room, but what we dislike is having remote controls for the TV that are not working and some channels that have no sound. We LOVE the friendly staff, but we dislike the general ho-hum attitude of SOME of them when we addressed the issues. We LOVE the hotel for it's quirkiness and absolutely brilliant decor from the check-in area to the room, but the small little things add up to a bit of traveler frustration. It is a bit like staying with a relative that has a beautiful home, but not quite ready for guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We unfortunately arrived after the pool/spa area was closed and left before it opened, so we weren't able to use that. Our suite was fabulous! The decor was really cute (rare in a chain hotel), with neat colors and art and laminate floors with a rug. It had a desk (oddly, there was no nearby outlet for our computer) with a comfortable office chair, a kitchenette with frig, sink, and coffee maker (but no microwave, so you'd have to go down to the breakfast room to use theirs), an upholstered bench, sofa, ottomans, 2 flat-screen tvs (which we never turned on and therefore missed the problems other reviewers have mentioned), an extremely comfortable bed (but the pillows were very small and one bolster accent pillow was ripped), and a shower roomy enough for two with excellent water pressure, a wooden bench, and a "rain" type shower head. Oddly, they only provided soap and shampoo, no lotion or conditioner. They only gave us two bath towels, which would have been an issue had we been able to use the pool/spa. We had some issues figuring out how to turn the lights on and off, as the wall switches didn't control them and one wasn't plugged in, etc. We saw laundry and gym facilities. The common areas had very comfortable and attractive furniture. The breakfast was kind-of crummy, with soggy tasteless waffles, odd-tasting diet yogurt, inferior orange juice, milk and cereal, and commercial mini-muffins. We would have appreciated eggs, sausage, bacon, etc. but were grateful not to have to find a restaurant or grab something at the airport. The location was very convenient to the airport, but the room was quiet or perhaps the air conditioner covered noise, as we slept beautifully for what time we had there. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had a first floor king suite, so we didn't run into problems with the elevator other reviewer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loyal customer of hotel for 4 years, but will NEVER stay again! First, it started a week before my stay when I was told that, although I made reservation 3 months ago, I was going to be moved to sister hotel due to construction in rooms. Manager promised to find me a room & call me back. Within 24 hour period, had to call manager 5 times because he never called back like he said he would. During that 24 hour period, my friend and I were told 2 very different stories as to why we were being moved. Finally, told I would not be moved after all. Upon arrival, I saw no construction being done. During stay, room's A/C did not work properly, TV & desk lamp didn't work & bathroom sink didn't drain properly. Told manager next morning about trouble & he proceeded to argue with me & never provided resolution. HORRIBLE customer service & hotel is not maintained!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I accompanied my husband to Southern California so he could conduct some business and I could get some warmth and sunshine with a bit of relaxation. I agree with a bunch of previous reviewers -- this place has a lot of potential, but several issues keep it from being stellar. First, the cons. They are extraordinarily stingy with towels, the air conditioning is loud, the internet is slow (especially problematic for business travelers), and the elevator is really clunky and temperamental. The television had picture but no sound on several channels (which I found very strange but they say its a hotel-wide problem to be resolved "soon") and at first I thought they didn't get NBC or CNBC, but after talking to the front desk person, I learned that you can actually access these channels if you input the numbers directly rather than just pressing the channel button up or down. The only way I learned this was by complaining. There were a few mars, nicks, and scrapes in the bathroom, and several misses throughout the hotel in terms of upkeep. The pool is small and the outdoor furniture is in dire need of reupholstering. The breakfast is what my husband I refer to as a "carb fest" -- cereal, juice, waffles, muffins. I wish hotels would get wiser about the breakfast options and add proteins and better coffee. Now for the pros, and there are many. The rooms are large and cleaned well by the staff. The front desk people are friendly and helpful. There is a refrigerator in the room, nifty modern furniture, and a great bed with nice linens. There is lots of close parking available. It's very close to the Ontario airport. The shower is fabulous with excellent water pressure and a large rain-style shower. There is even a nice wooden bench in the spacious shower. The room has laminated hardwood with stylish area rugs. There is a nice roomy closet, and the whole hotel has been quiet during our 4 night stay. It's about 2 miles to the Ontario Mills Outlet Mall (which is quite large) and an easy 40 minute walk. If this hotel paid attention to the small quirky issues and kept doing what it does well, it would be really special. I hope hotel management reads the reviews, learns, adapts, and spiffs up.

Room Tip: They told us that the internet service was best on the 2nd floor. All the rooms I saw were spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The price was very decent for the very spacious room and very comfortable bed! The hotel had a very modern feel to it with its decorations, but it was pleasant. The rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. The lights over the bathroom were sink were motion sensor and there were some problems with them turning off when you didn't want them to. But it wasn't enough of a pain to diminish the quality of the hotel. The breakfast was extremely average. You COULD get a waffle but had to have the breakfast attendant make it for you and then were expected to tip him. Overall though, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ontario Grand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ontario Grand Inn & Suites

Address: 3333 Shelby Street, Rancho Cucamonga, (Formerly Hotel Ontario), Ontario, CA 91764 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ontario Rancho Cucamonga)
Location: United States > California > Ontario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ontario Grand Inn & Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ontario Grand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ontario Grand Hotel Ontario
Ontario Grand Inn And Suites
Hotel Indigo Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ontario Grand Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.