We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Beef Stew In the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Dubliner Irish Pub

Auld Dubliner Irish Pub
1995 Squaw Valley Rd Ste 41, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
(530) 584-6041
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Best Beef Stew In the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We've eaten here multiple times. The food is just that good. Everything that I've tried was great, but, even in this wonderful company, the Guinness Beef Stew stands out. It's just extraordinarily tasty, rich and hearty. It's the perfect end to a day of skiing, or hiking, in the Tahoe area. The service was friendly, reasonably fast, and helpful. I'll definitely be back the next time that I visit Squaw.

Maybe our service experience was different from some of the other reviews, because we were there during the week in the off season, but I have absolutely no complaints about either speed, or friendliness. For me, the food is just so good that any other concerns would just be whining.

I really like the Auld Dubliner Irish Pub in Squaw Valley!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    12
    18
    13
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our family ate at the pub last year, and it wasn't anything special. All 4 of us ordered different items, yet we all thought our food was just average. Would not go again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Timing is everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We came for lunch - none of the service issues others have highlighted. Appetizer of spinach/artichoke dip w/pita chips was very tasty. Burger, Shepards Pie, and Irish Dip entrees were all quite good, and the Ninkasi Total Domination IPA was quite good.

OTOH, during the Ironman race the night before, we heard some horror stories about slow service. I'm inclined to let it go, because they were crazy busy, but your mileage may vary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAMON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fish and chips were great. Fries have some type of curry on them that was amazing. Service left something to be desired. I felt like I was an inconvenience to the wait staff when ordering and then asking for check.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“If only slow service was the only thing wrong...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Got there during the Art Fair at Squaw today. We thought we'd give this place a try. Menu looked good. Hubby ordered fish & chips. I ordered corned beef on rye. We ordered a beer and cocktail. That took a loooooong time to get to our table (they weren't a full house -- not even 1/2 full). The table next to us got their food about 5-10 minutes before we did, even though we ordered before them. When our food arrived -- I was delivered a chicken & avocado sandwich. Waitstaff didn't return to see if all ok. Hubby had to go flag them down. UGH. Again, took a looooong time to get the sandwich properly prepared and returned. Hubby ordered another beer -- which was a no-show. The waitress tried to deliver it to another table.

Flavor: hubby enjoyed his fish & chips. My sandwich was "ok" -- had a "unique" salsa on it which frankly didn't work.

In all fairness to them -- they removed the charge for my sandwich because of their error.

Will we go back again? Probably not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auld Dubliner Irish Pub also viewed

Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Auld Dubliner Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Dubliner Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.