We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condos with superb slope-side location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Squaw Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Third Night FREE.Save 33%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice condos with superb slope-side location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

As others have noted, Squaw Valley Lodge has a superb slop-side location - the only true ski-in ski-out lodge at Squaw, right across from the Squaw 1 lift and with views of KT-22. The apartments aren't exactly cutting edge in terms of design (the vintage 1960s style accordion doors between the bedroom and living area in our deluxe studio made us laugh) but they're clean and have good cooking facilities - we made breakfast and a couple of dinners. The lodge is also within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants in the village. We did a barbecue one night by the pool (heated in winter, though still a bit chilly for us). The one issue we had was with the heating - it was too warm even with the thermostat on its lowest setting. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountain for skiing inspiration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your spring getaway with us. We strive to create a lasting impression on our guests, and we certainly want to hear from you if there is anything you need assistance with during your stay. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact Guest Services if you experience any issues with the unit thermostat, and we can ensure better comfort for you.

We look forward to greeting you upon your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    62
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
96
46
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our second stay at SVL and we were not disappointed. We had a one bedroom apartment right next to the piste so could ski back to the door and as usual the room was spotless and the service very friendly and efficient. This place is only a few minutes from the shops and restaurants but well-equipped enough to cook in your room (which we did for breakfast and one dinner). We reported one roof leak in the corridor outside our room in the morning and it was addressed during the day - very prompt. Recommended for families or couples as a really lovely venue and has parking for your car too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The 4+ star ranking of this property is extremely misleading. If you just want a place to crash and have all your basic needs met, then it works. Otherwise, it smells like mothballs and oxygen machines ... is outdated ... staff was kind of rude...and we drove to South Lake Tahoe to get something "decent".

Room Tip: This hotel is rated as a 4+ star which is extremely misleading. The location is fabulous - the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the only true ski-in ski-out lodge in Squaw Valley. It is right across from the Squaw One Express lift. The mountain facing units stare at KT-22. They have multiple indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a sauna, a steam room and an exercise room with lots of equipment. It is within a 5 minute walk to the Village but doesn't have the noise of the village. They have 3 indoor parking garages. They have gas barbecue grills if you want to barbecue.

We've stayed here in the summer too. There is a good size pool and tennis courts. I've hiked up to High Camp and the Pacific Crest Trail for short day trips. One of the most scenic and easy bike routes goes from Squaw Valley Lodge to Tahoe City.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the top floor that faces the mountain. Rooms on the top floor have cathedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My teenager and I stayed in a room at Squaw Valley Lodge with a loft and two bathrooms. It was a perfect layout for us. The location is very convenient...walking distance to/from the ski lifts. Nice touch to have convenient free parking. The indoor jacuzzi was very nice. Only wish that the Lodge would serve a simple continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've stayed at SVL several times, and always enjoyed the convenience of the lodge with its access to the lifts and the plaza deck. The rooms price are not getting cheaper, yet the the amenities are not changing. I don't know anyone besides 10yr olds that enjoy sleeping on a trundle bed. The most uncomfortable pre-Ikea furnishing ever. Getting to the hot tub requires at least one 360 degree lap through elevators, tunnels, lobbies, desks and hallways. No Dogs, we were told. Heard dogs barking in the halls all weekend. We requested to have a certain room, close to the plaza deck, and instead were placed at the the polar opposite location, top floor, end of the far hallway. Nothing else was available? I booked my room 4 months in advance. Doesn't matter. There is a computer in the room? How hi-tech! It was a Tandy 200 with an 8" screen. (I think) The decor would have been obscenely perfect 80s had there been a Nagel. Our room has a loft? No, it was a lofted ceiling which meant absolutely every sound carries in the entire room. Every snore, every sneeze, every can opening, every zipper, every fart. We come to Squaw every year for a good time with hundreds of our friends. It is cheaper to rent a multi-million dollar home that sleeps 8 for the weekend than to get 3 nights at this lodge.

Room Tip: avoid the lofted rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We take an annual girl getaway ski trip every year to a different location and this year we skiied at Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows. We had units 514 and 521 for six of us and our accomodations were perfect for what we needed. The walk to the lifts was easy and we had quick access to the village, the shuttle and the grocery store. Our units were clean and invdividually decorated by the owners, which we loved. We will definitely be back to enjoy both ski resorts again sometime and will definitely stay at Squaw Valley Lodge. Hopefully there will be a little more snow the next time we come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squaw Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.