We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities for a stay at Squaw Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Squaw Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Squaw Valley Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Sale save 15%-25%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great facilities for a stay at Squaw Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our second stay at SVL and we were not disappointed. We had a one bedroom apartment right next to the piste so could ski back to the door and as usual the room was spotless and the service very friendly and efficient. This place is only a few minutes from the shops and restaurants but well-equipped enough to cook in your room (which we did for breakfast and one dinner). We reported one roof leak in the corridor outside our room in the morning and it was addressed during the day - very prompt. Recommended for families or couples as a really lovely venue and has parking for your car too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    68
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
102
50
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The 4+ star ranking of this property is extremely misleading. If you just want a place to crash and have all your basic needs met, then it works. Otherwise, it smells like mothballs and oxygen machines ... is outdated ... staff was kind of rude...and we drove to South Lake Tahoe to get something "decent".

Room Tip: This hotel is rated as a 4+ star which is extremely misleading. The location is fabulous - the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the only true ski-in ski-out lodge in Squaw Valley. It is right across from the Squaw One Express lift. The mountain facing units stare at KT-22. They have multiple indoor and outdoor hot tubs, a sauna, a steam room and an exercise room with lots of equipment. It is within a 5 minute walk to the Village but doesn't have the noise of the village. They have 3 indoor parking garages. They have gas barbecue grills if you want to barbecue.

We've stayed here in the summer too. There is a good size pool and tennis courts. I've hiked up to High Camp and the Pacific Crest Trail for short day trips. One of the most scenic and easy bike routes goes from Squaw Valley Lodge to Tahoe City.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the top floor that faces the mountain. Rooms on the top floor have cathedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My teenager and I stayed in a room at Squaw Valley Lodge with a loft and two bathrooms. It was a perfect layout for us. The location is very convenient...walking distance to/from the ski lifts. Nice touch to have convenient free parking. The indoor jacuzzi was very nice. Only wish that the Lodge would serve a simple continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've stayed at SVL several times, and always enjoyed the convenience of the lodge with its access to the lifts and the plaza deck. The rooms price are not getting cheaper, yet the the amenities are not changing. I don't know anyone besides 10yr olds that enjoy sleeping on a trundle bed. The most uncomfortable pre-Ikea furnishing ever. Getting to the hot tub requires at least one 360 degree lap through elevators, tunnels, lobbies, desks and hallways. No Dogs, we were told. Heard dogs barking in the halls all weekend. We requested to have a certain room, close to the plaza deck, and instead were placed at the the polar opposite location, top floor, end of the far hallway. Nothing else was available? I booked my room 4 months in advance. Doesn't matter. There is a computer in the room? How hi-tech! It was a Tandy 200 with an 8" screen. (I think) The decor would have been obscenely perfect 80s had there been a Nagel. Our room has a loft? No, it was a lofted ceiling which meant absolutely every sound carries in the entire room. Every snore, every sneeze, every can opening, every zipper, every fart. We come to Squaw every year for a good time with hundreds of our friends. It is cheaper to rent a multi-million dollar home that sleeps 8 for the weekend than to get 3 nights at this lodge.

Room Tip: avoid the lofted rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We take an annual girl getaway ski trip every year to a different location and this year we skiied at Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows. We had units 514 and 521 for six of us and our accomodations were perfect for what we needed. The walk to the lifts was easy and we had quick access to the village, the shuttle and the grocery store. Our units were clean and invdividually decorated by the owners, which we loved. We will definitely be back to enjoy both ski resorts again sometime and will definitely stay at Squaw Valley Lodge. Hopefully there will be a little more snow the next time we come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a summary of 3 different stays at Squaw Valley Lodge at the two bedroom condos. For the price, I would have expected better lodging. These condo units are located in a separate building from the rest of the Squaw Valley complex with an underground garage (which is fairly dark with really tight parking) and an outdoor spa. I have found that this building is the easiest to get to the ski lifts then the "main" Lodge complex. The rooms are fairly pricey (which is expected for the size) and nicely appointed. My reasons for only rating it as "average:"
1. Full kitchen, but, a *LOT* of cooking utensils/implements are not available. So, if you really want to cook in the kitchen and use any unique utensil, you may want to plan on cooking something else. I had a defective toaster, called it to front desk, and NOTHING happened (I had to make do without toasted bagels for breakfast).
2. Bathroom.... if you had kids along, you know a nightlight would be really useful. The shower/bathtub had a ridiculously high step-in height. There isn't a "heat lamp" in the shower area (in winter, this would be really appreciated).
3. Celing rail lamps.. These do light up the main room nicely. Unfortunately, if you are sitting on the sofa, the lamps are angled so that it pretty much shines directly into your eyes.
4. Side Door Access..... Apparently, the closest doors to the Squaw Valley Village/lifts are de-activated during the day. My access card key *NEVER* worked during the day and I had to go around the building to get back in (carrying skis... this is something to remember). I had asked the front desk and was told "thank you for bringing it to our attention" (and nothing was done). It looked like the side door access was only turned on from dinner time onward.
5. Daily room service... I remember when room service included a vacuum of the carpets. During the times I was in the room when they came, it took maybe 10 minutes (make the bed, switch towels, empty garbage, and gone).

Room Tip: If you want to have a quiet evening, make sure you get an upper floor! For a quieter afternoon, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squaw Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.