We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our needs perfectly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hilmar, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Suited our needs perfectly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We were coming in at the last minute for my niece's wedding at the nearby PlumpJack Squaw Valley inn and needed lodging for just one night, for three people and Red Wolf Lodge was perfect for us. PlumpJack offered a discount for wedding guests but had a two night minimum stay so that didn't work for us. Red Wolf allows for a one-night stay minimum and they had a studio available with a queen size Murphy bed and a queen sofa sleeper which worked out perfectly for my husband, my son and I. The room was spacious (especially with the Murphy bed tucked away) and had a kitchenette and a dining area. It was nothing fancy but it was cozy and comfortable and had a nice lodge type of vibe with a fireplace. The staff there goes out of their way to be helpful and could not have been any nicer. We arrived around 4:45 PM where we were greeted by the maintenance man who told us that the front desk clerk was at dinner, When I explained that we had to get into our room to change for the wedding he gave us a key with our promise to check in after the wedding and before 7 PM when the front desk closed. Because we were walking to the wedding, we didn't make it back that evening but checked in the following morning with no issues. We were torn between staying at the Red Wolf and the nearby Resort at Squaw Creek and chose the Red Wolf because of the option of the studio suite. It was actually a much closer walk to Olympic Valley and the PlumpJack than the Resort at Squaw Creek so I was very happy with my choice. This little lodge is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting Olympic Valley. I would have given the resort a rating of 5 for service except for the odd front desk hours. Make sure you check on their hours if you are planning a late arrival.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Hello desal,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're happy to hear that you found your accommodations perfect for you and your family. We hope you had a great time at your niece's wedding. Come back soon for another great getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    58
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
87
70
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

It's easy to see why this wonderful place has a gold crown rating. The matching decor and cleanliness makes it a very enjoyable place to be. Very well run & great upkeep here- thanks to manager Greg, I'm sure...
I can honestly say this was the cleanest & most inviting hot tub that I have ever seen!
The staff are top notch in friendliness & hospitality.
Glad for Amy's tip to enjoy downtown Historic Truckee & Greg's lunch suggestion at the Beacon at the Camp Richardson area.

The beds are great with the softest of blankets & ample pillows.

I wish I knew that the welcome "pancake" breakfast had bacon, sausage & fruit. (Boiled or scrambled eggs would have been a welcome addition, too. )

It was the bikes that brought me here. I really enjoy the trail along the Truckee river. I saw a mother bear & 2 cubs at a tree along Squaw Valley Road bike trail! Had a nice hike in Shirley canyon & saw a big bear running, too. (4 bears in one day on 10/6/14-amazing!)

This was my first time to this resort and I can't wait to return!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hi travelwhere,
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed everything from the decor to the customer service. We know you and your friends had a great time exploring the outdoors. We also look forward to your next visit. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff here makes this place!!!! Everyone from the receptionists to maitenence are just great. It looks kind of crappy next to the big beautiful olympic village lodge, but we enjoyed it. Kitchen is good and no problems in the room. Ejoyed our bike ride the first night around the long trial down to Tahoe city. It was tough on the way back!,

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Hi AmDKes,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to know that all of our staff provided you with excellent service. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Red Wolf Lodge is surrounded by the most beautiful views! Staff is extremely helpful and friendly! Rooms are clean and appears they are in the process of replacing furniture and carpeting. Outside of the building is tired. Needs updating! Great hiking, biking trails, golf nearby, and shopping! Loved our stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Hi MEK2070,
Thank you for your review. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed the views and found your rooms clean. We will definitely share your comments with our team. We also look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Being at the base of Red Dog in Squaw Valley is a great location for a resort during ski season. But it's even nice in the summer! There are lots of great activities around the valley (hiking, biking, horseback riding, swimming and skating at the top of Squaw Valley at High Camp --Cablecar does run in the summer).

Being a timeshare owner here since the mid '80s, I've stayed here through several decor switches, including the southwest phase with straw mixed in the wall plaster, through the current "bears and log furniture". The staff is nice to homeowners as well as visitors, and I'm impressed that they've kept everything up so well. The kitchens and bathrooms have been updated, the sleeper sofas just replaced, and the maintenance crew fixes things as soon as you let them know there's a problem. We even enjoyed brand new fluffy towels in our room, always a bonus.

Architecturally, keep in mind the place was originally designed as an apartment building in the '70s and has been modified slightly to the resort function. The bathrooms are tiny, but that's how things were when Jimmy Carter was President. The fireplaces have had gas logs installed, a big upgrade from the days of presto logs. Updated lighting, flooring, TVs and other electronics have also been added.

You can park your car under the building with no extra charge, shady in the summer and no snow to scrape in the winter. The appliances work and kitchens are well stocked with everything you'll need to "cook in" if you want to spend a quiet evening in your condo by the fire, or enjoy breakfast in your 'jammies'.

Staff will help you find activities around the area, give directions, help you with possible room upgrades, answer questions.....they're always great. Cleaning staff is so good, I'd like to take them home with me.

My one criticism on this visit....what's with the beach chairs on the balconies? I think some nice bistro tables and stools would be a great addition.

We've enjoyed the resort with and without the kids, and know you will, too!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a one-bedroom if you're traveling with a big family. Balconies on most room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Betty L,
Thank you for your review and travel tips. It means a lot to us that you took your time to provide us with this feedback. We're happy to hear that you were content with your accommodations and found everything that you needed within the facilities. We also hope you had a great time participating in all the activities available. Furthermore, we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Came to Tahoe the last week of August for some gorgeous weather and hiking and exchanged for a studio at Red Wolf. Plenty of space in the room for two of us, was very pleased, especially since it had a kitchen (we cooked breakfasts). Not over the top, but modest and very clean. Right next to the village at Squaw and ~15min drive to Tahoe City, so it was pretty convenient to the hiking we wanted to do without being in the crowds of the towns right on the lake.

One thing I disliked was the daily charge so that 'services' like laundry, parking, and game/bike rentals are "free"- just charge me for what I use, or better yet include that in the cost of the hotel, no need for extra fees!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi ttfn300,
Thank you for your review. We're happy to learn that you were pleased with your rooms and found everything very clean. We also hope you had a great time hiking. Come back soon for another great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed at the Red Wolf Lodge while on a brief stopover. We weren't expecting much, just a no-frills Murphy bed studio. Vickie at the front desk was very kind and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to find a spotless studio with a great kitchen, very comfortable bed, and great DVD menu from the office.

We also loved the free laundry - you only need to bring or buy detergent. Very handy after a hot and dusty trip to the desert. This hotel is just at the edge of all the Squaw activities. It was very nice being able to walk into the village for hiking and restaurants. You can't beat this hotel for location and value.

Green Features: They appeared to be trying to implement environmentally-conscious amenities, such as recycling.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi modmodernist,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so happy to know that our staff was very helpful and provided you with resources to make your stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.