We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic week! The staff at RWL were all wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a fantastic week! The staff at RWL were all wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The location is fantastic! Waking up each morning with a view of Red Dog and the convenience of skiing up to the patio in the evening made for a perfect week at Squaw. Thanks to the team at RWL for making us so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Daisy0717,
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled you found our location fantastic and enjoyed waking up to the view of Red Dog. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    61
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
73
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Red Wolf Lodge is in the a perfect location if you want the best access to the mountain and village. The studio we stayed in was perfect for 1-day to a week. The layout is a bit confusing, in terms of getting to the lobby from you room, but the amenities are admirable and the price was affordable. Even after we checked out we were able to keep the car parked in their garage and out the snow. We will definitely be back to the Red Wolf Lodge!

Room Tip: The studios are perfect if you have 4 or less people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Andrew S,
Thank you for your post. We're happy to know you found our location perfect for access to the mountain and the village. We appreciate your feedback regarding our accommodations and your overall stay. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not a very pleasant stay for a Squaw resort lodging. For a lot of reasons:

#1 - The units are close to the Snowcat parking lot. Around midnight they start moving around and making a lot of noise.

#2 - Being located close to the ski slopes, you can hear the snowmaking machines noise during the entire night and it's extremely annoying.

#3 - We never managed to get hot water after a day out on the snow. Tried to use the "hot" tube but impossible.

#4 - And on top of that we had a water leakage on the celling in the middle of the night. Because the lodge front desk closes everyday at 7pm, there was nothing we could do rather than trying to sleep with that terrible water dripping noise.

Red Wolf is not a cheap lodge and with a few more dollars can get a way better cost/benefit in the Squaw Village that has a superior service, location and infrastructure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Gustavo L,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We apologize for the trouble you experienced during your visit. This definitely concerns us and we appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further. We hope to speak with you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been at Red Wolf since late 1980's and it has continued to improve over the years. It is the best possible location especially since Squaw built out the village. The staff is great, the units are very clean and comfortable. The kids love jumping in the hot tub at the end of a great day on the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Cheryl K,
Thank you for remaining a loyal guest with us at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so glad that with each year we keep getting better and that your stays continue to remain comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to many more years of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very nice and clean room with full kitchen. Nice club house & gym.
We just had some issues with clogged sink and toilet. We had to call office to fix them for us.
The short walking distance to the village and lifts were the main plus, although it came with the high price range!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Shan2013,
Thank you for your review. We're glad your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope that our maintenance team was able to fix the issues you had with the sink and toilet immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Loved the resort, very clean and friendly. I loved the room and the bed was so comfortable. Being right next to Squaw Valley was delightful. I left a bag in the room and they called me and will be mailing it to me. Very happy and will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Karen H,
We're thrilled you fell in love with our resort and found it very clean and friendly. We're glad your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed our location. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were so happy we stumbled upon this hotel. Being located in Squaw Valley with views of skiers coming down the hill and just a short walk away from the village made the Red Wolf a great find. The trip began being greeted by Diana Ambrosie the resorts manager. At check in she provided us with a detailed list of local attractions and maps to get there. Also informing us of hotel amenities including a rootbeer float night and a s'mores night. Parking in a covered lot just steps from the elevator was also very convenient. Our studio room had an excellent theme was equipped with a full kitchen, fireplace, new tv and patio. Being able to utilize the kitchen allowed us to cook our own meals allowing us to save some money. Although with the village just a step away we found a great spot for dinner at Fireside. There is plenty of shopping in the village and the Starbucks was close for our morning cup of coffee. At checkout the manager Diana gave us access to the hotels clubhouse which contained spas, a kitchen, bathroom, and showers for after our final day in the snow. Overall we had a great experience at the Red Wolf.

Room Tip: At night you can here the machines making snow on the hills from the rooms facing the ski hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi netersi,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that Diane was able to provide you with a detailed list of the local attractions and maps. We're glad you enjoyed our accommodations and are so happy they came in handy during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.