We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super close to slopes of Squaw with full kitchens ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Super close to slopes of Squaw with full kitchens ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We come here yearly for a week of skiing at Squaw. This property is next door to the Squaw Kids building and ultra-convenient if you have kids in ski school.

We always stay in a 2 bedroom unit (we request the ones facing the slopes versus the parking lot - entertaining for young kids to see the snow cats and ski patrol out of the window). It's spacious and with the full kitchen super convenient for coming back for lunch.

There is typically a daily evening event (wine tasting, movie, ...), but I haven't attended one, yet. The staff is generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi VWC_SD,
We're thrilled to continue to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family on your yearly skiing vacation here at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We'll have to make sure you attend one of our many activities/events during next year's visit. We look forward to seething you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    52
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
85
65
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I were extremely impressed and happy with our stay at Red Wolf Lodge. A room with a beautiful view of the mountain, and just about every amenity you could ask for. A lot of good things have been said already and we fully agree, though we were most impressed with our fully-stocked kitchen which included a full-size coffee maker (the exact one we have at home which we know to be fairly expensive), and the clubhouse and free bikes for touring the area. It was like having a cabin in the woods though without having to upkeep it and at a highly competitive price. The staff were also very helpful and accommodating. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Hookie101,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're thrilled you and your wife had such an amazing time with us. There's plenty of activities on the resort and in the surrounding area. We hope you made use of the bikes and the clubhouse during your visit. We look forward to your return as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Free bikes, guided hikes and a quaint village to explore in a pristine setting. Gorgeous! Exceptional customer service. This was my first studio rental and the bed was tiny for my 6` 4" husband. This would be an excellent place for families with lids of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Dana-Lynn B,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so glad you enjoyed biking and hiking through the village. It's a great way to explore the area. We hope to welcome you and your husband back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just got back today from Squaw Valley!!! Ready to go back for another week at Red Wolf Lodge tonight. Great place to take a summer visit for good old R&R. Comfortable, so quite this time of year and such great hosts. The staff provides many various activities and just good old nice visit time with others or by yourselves. Things like wine and cheese, root beer floats, s'mores time you know things that you did when you were younger with the family. Thanks for the friendly staff and comfortable lodging. Oh by the way go have a meal at Stella's in Truckie and have the four course dinner such a delight and great pricing for what you receive. Also best service by the staff and head chef I've had in years anywhere. See you in two years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Roger J,
We're thrilled that you and your guests had such a wonderful stay with us recently at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. It's great that you all enjoyed a great summer vacation and we're glad you got some rest and relaxation. There's plenty of great restaurants in the area to visit and Stella's is delicious! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Love the ambiance for the area. Late check-in a breeze and available at midnight! The staff at the front desk, tour guides for biking & hiking were great for the entire family. They all knew alot of activities to do locally and in town. A couple of restaurants next door or 10 minutes away in town. Cooking in the unit has everything you need from baking, BBQ outside and good size refrigerator, stove and dishwasher. Laundry machines right next to the elevators and plenty of parking garage spots under the 1st floor. Security is a priority - no worries at all! Fishing is nearby and the Arial Tram opened up with Skating/Ice during winter, hiking and still snow on the mountain in the 1st week of June! Right next door was Paintball shooting, mini-golf around the village, available pool for the lodge up the road. Beautiful scenery and great weather for 1st week in June. They had all the modern appliances combined with "cabin decor" which fits perfect for the area. Beds were very comfortable with very clean sheets, plenty of pillows and blankets. A/C units worked well, but may need to be updated - but didn't need it with the weather being around 70-80 degrees during day & heaters in every unit if it got too cold. There was a breeze to keep the heat down. Perfect Clubhouse for the kids to relax while parents in sauna and 3 hottubs or get extra workout in their gym! Best kept "Secret" in Squaw Valley in Olympic Village. We will definitely be back to visit & relax! Thank you Diana, Shelly, Vicky & Katie - the best staff at any resort!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the mountain and valley area. The Mountain side has late sun and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Wm S,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're glad our staff was able to assist you during your stay on some of the activities, restaurants, and shops in the area. It sounds like you all had a great time enjoying the paintball and mini golfing next door as well. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We did a timeshare exchange here. Very nice overall. Beautiful surroundings. Laundry, bikes, movies, 1st day breakfast, clubhouse, saunas, free wifi, covered parking, daily paper, nice staff, 2 tv's, clean rooms, nice bath, nice furnishings, and good kitchen. 3rd floor was quiet. 1 block to Squaw Village(most shops closed for spring). Short drive into Tahoe City. A couple of negatives though. The A/C does not keep the bedroom cool though it does for the living area. The false stone on the outside has nearly all fallen off and does not look so hot. Not a great first impression. No swimming pool though they have 3 saunas. No pool would matter little in winter, but it is significant for non winter visits. We would do an exchange here for a future date.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Thomas L,
We're pleased to learn of the exciting activities and places you visited during your recent stay with us at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're glad you had such a great time and hope there wasn't much of an inconvenience during your visit. The garage wall is definitely on our to-do list for this year. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exchange in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place was great! Home away from home. Quick checkin and checkout. Very friendly staff! (Thanks for the rootbeer floats) super clean room and fully stocked kitchen. We'll be staying here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi JosephRodriguez,
We're thrilled to welcome you to your "home away from home" here at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're glad you enjoyed yourself and the root beer floats. They're delicious! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.