We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet weekend at Red Wolf Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
“Quiet weekend at Red Wolf Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Due to off season, it was a very quiet weekend but lovely that we just spent at Red Wolf Lodge. This was clean, quiet and charmy! The staff there is very nice and welcoming! I used a Groupon offer for this weekend but it was totally worth it. Initially we had a studio but decided to upgrade to one bedroom and closer to the hot tub deck.The front desk staff was very helpful in this regard and did their best in meeting our expectations. The deck and hot tubs were great! The location was excellent, walking distance to downtown, shops and restaurants as well as lifts. I truly recomend it and I plan to go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi ccfabi,
We're thrilled you had a quiet and lovely weekend at our resort recently. Our staff will do their best to make sure our guests are satisfied and accommodated throughout their stays. There are so many places to visit downtown with amazing shops and restaurants. We hope you had a chance to check some out. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    60
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
89
72
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I would highly recommend the Red Wolf Lodge. I used an offer from Groupon and it was so worth it. Right at the base of the mountain and in the middle of the village, everything is at your fingertips. Hiking, biking, food and drink! The service was amazing and all the girls at the front desk were so helpful and accommodating. I rented the Studio and to my surprise had a full kitchen, Jacuzzi bathtub, and more than enough room for 2 people and 2 bikes. Over-exceeded my expectations and I'll be back!

Room Tip: Studio #107 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Joe K,
We appreciate your recommendation of our resort. We're so glad you enjoyed the Groupon deal! It's great to hear you had fun hiking, biking, and enjoying the view of the mountains and liked our staff's recommendations for you. We're thrilled you enjoyed your room and the jacuzzi. We hope to welcome you and your wife back again for some fun without any conferences and continue exceeding your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for the mountain of strings bluegrass festival and was highly impressed. Red wolf has really great energy employees that make you feel at home. Awesome deck with hot tubs!! Next time I'll hit up the sauna.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi Missoleiltahoe,
We hope you had fun at the Strings Bluegrass Festival and are so thrilled you chose Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley for your stay. We're always here to make sure our guests feel at home and are having a wonderful time. We hope to welcome you back again soon and the sauna is a must!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I enjoyed my time at Red Wolf. I went to get away and I picked the perfect week. It was the week after the mountain shuts down and I was there to write and reflect so it was perfect. It was quiet and I had a great view of the mountain. I have been told by many that the village next to Red Wolf has all kinds of activities even during the off season. The staff was very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi ConiMeyers,
We hope you got some fabulous writing done while staying with us here at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. It gets very quiet once the mountain is closed, but the views continue to remain spectacular. We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Loved the resort and great lication to all activities squaw has to offer. However it only had the power of one wolf instead of three wolves. If only there were two more wolves around to achieve that extraordinary power. Please call upon them soon for everyone's benefit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Ctoman130,
Thank you for sharing your review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so glad you had a wonderful time and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake st louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

we decided to visit the Tahoe area and Squaw valley and chose the Red Wolf Lodge from the internet site. we wanted a place that was close to the slopes and near the town. we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! we reserved a one bedroom but were upgraded to a two bedroom by the wonderful staff. the rooms were very comfortable and having a kitchen was great.....we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend Red Wolf Lodge very highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi tom h,
You certainly picked the right place. Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley is close to both the slopes and town. There's plenty to do in the area and much fun to be had. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Red Wolf at Squaw Valley is right below the Squaw skiing site. Very convenient to Skiing site, restaurants, and biking trails. Staffs at Red Wolf are very friendly and helpful. I have never been to a hotel with a service like this! Hotel room is clean and well supplied. We like their free bikes, numerous movie selections, and Friday social time with crackers, wines, and cafes. Very homey atmosphere.

A little downside is the nightly construction work nearby. It is not the hotel's issue but it might be good that all the local hotels would reflect this nightly construction noises to the relevant party. That will render the visitors even more pleasant experiences at Tahoe!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Jobe C,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the bikes, movie selections, and Friday social time we offer our guests. We hope the construction didn't cause you much discomfort during your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Olympic Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.