We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2013 Spring Ski Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Great 2013 Spring Ski Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did enjoy our stay at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley for it provided us with wonderful experiences each time we stayed there. Squaw Valley is a very exciting ski resort to visit which has a spectacular view with all that mountains and snow...! We just love it so much...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Jennifer C,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're happy you had a wonderful experience and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    61
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
73
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our second trip back to stay at the Red Wolf Lodge in Squaw Valley. It's quaint & close to everything in the village. Very quite, staff is superb...they are very accommodating to all their guests. Plenty of activities to do through the resort & village!
We love coming here, it was our first time skiing at squaw valley as our first trip we were there in the fall. Snow was pretty good for spring skiing, no waiting on the lifts either.
I would defiantly recommend the Red Wolf Lodge for your stay in Squaw Valley.

Room Tip: The staff is very accommodating with rooms. We were upgraded from a studio to a 1 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Happytraveler462,
We're thrilled we could welcome you back a second time to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're glad you had a great time hitting the slopes and joining in on resort activities. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Top 10 reasons to stay here
The staff is great and the accommodations meet all your needs:
1) Covered garage at the base of Red Dog ski run
2) BBQ and 3 Jacuzzis
3) Game room with exercise room and sauna
4) Ski lockers on your Floor
5) Free washer & Dryers on your floor
6) Free Maid service whenever you need it
7) Literally across the street from the Village so you have walking access to all the dining and shopping you need.
8) Very comfortable beds
9) Free DVDs to check out
10) Free breakfast on Monday and Wine and Cheese on Friday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwolfmgr, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Welcht50,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We love your top 10 reasons to stay at our resort and are so glad you had a great time during your stay. We hope to have you back again soon with new fresh activities for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Perfect place to stay for a Squaw Valley ski vacation!!!!! Walk to ski lifts, ski in for lunch!!!! There are numerous restaurants and bars that we could walk to in 3 minutes!!!! The condos (we had a 2 bedroom) are very nicely furnished, thick down cushy comforters on the beds, nice gas fireplace and 2 big roomy bathrooms. The staff at the front desk was wonderful. Oh, and don't miss the Monday morning pancake breakfast in the clubhouse! Fresh fruit, pancakes, sausage and bacon! Covered parking, too!!! We didn't have to dig our car out after the storm! Hot tubs and a small fitness center were nice to have. Great place for a destination vacation as you really don't have to drive anywhere. In the Village (100yds away) there is a small grocery, wine store, ski shops, restaurants, bars, and post office and 7 Eleven within 1 mile. 10 minute drive to Truckee or Tahoe City. Would recommend the Red Wolf to anyone!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwolfmgr, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Lauren019,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. It seems like you had a wonderful stay with us recently. We hope you had fun skiing and are happy to hear you greatly enjoyed Marta's famous Monday morning pancakes. Marta has been with us for over 20 years now and her favorite part of the week is making pancakes for all our guests. Everybody agrees they're delicious! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

You can't beat the location of the Red Wolf since it's about a hundred yards from the ski lift and the Squaw Valley village. The rooms are comfortable and provide everything you need for your ski vacation. Hot tubs, a kitchen, and plenty of room in your room. It's not a five star hotel but it's a perfect ski getaway. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful which only adds to the incredible experience.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with the mountain view because it can be noisy from the snow cats and snow maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwolfmgr, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi TedProdromou,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so thrilled to hear about your incredible experience. We hope you had a great time skiing and look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect--took a studio room here because the Squaw Village lodging showed sold out. But what a pleasant surprise! Had a view of the mountain from my room. Decently furnished kitchenette. Murphy bed was very comfortable (if a bit soft). And the room had a jetted tub, which was totally awesome at the end of each days run. It's ski-in ski- out as advertised, and just a short walk to all the village stuff. Easy parking. The front desk staff are phenomenal--just super nice, patient, helpful. iHome alarm clocks (actually two places in the room to charge my iStuff--great). WiFi was fast and free.

Couple of drawbacks--if you're a light sleeper do whatever you can to get the third floor. You will hear lots of noise from ski boots clunking in the hallway, but that sort of goes with the territory. The sno cats pass pretty close so you hear that as well; but not enough to be a problem. BUT, at night you can watch the lights of the grooming machines as they make their impossible looking ascents, and I found that very cool. Decor is super kitschy, but kind of adds to the charm in some odd way.

Best part was the price, averaging well under 200 a night for my four night stay. Would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Mountain side for views, maybe a bit quieter. Thin walls/ceilings, so light sleepers should opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwolfmgr, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi bearossop,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We are very happy you had some great ski time and enjoyed a relaxing bath in our jetted tub. We hope the snow cats weren't too much of a problem. Come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms at Red Wolf are quaint and cozy. Steps to the slopes and village make it an ideal location. There is even a community center with a large kitchen, fireplace, hot tubs and sauna. The views of the mountain were great and there was plenty of sunshine. Easy to book and excellent customer service upon arrival. Plus free wine and cheese!

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet and warm. Remember your swim suit for the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.