We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between Good and Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Between Good and Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would say this propery is just between good and average. The location is excellent. Right on the mountian. It is an old Hotel that has been updated. It also has a nice layout with a couch area, dining area and Kitchen, as well as a pull down bed to create exra space. I wouldn't call it luxurious, but its good for family's. The price is outrageous but they can get away with it because they are right on the Mountain. (and EVERYTHING) is expensive at Squaw at the time I was looking it was from 250.00 - 400.00 a night. This hotel would be half that in a different location. I have stayed at MUCH better resorts for that. Plus they slap you with an additional 9.90 resort fee at check out. We had paid online and were told we had to pay the additional amount at check out. This was rather annoying, but could have been the booking agency's mistake. All in all the finishings we nice and it has some good perks, like onsite laundry, and the kitchen living option. Plus in the valley its about as cheap as your going to get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    52
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
85
65
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Red Wolf Lodge had an almost log cabin feel and was homey. The lodge definitely had the feel of a small business in that the personnel were extremely friendly and helpful, and their attention to detail and their intention to make guests feel welcome was much appreciated. A great lodge in a great location, right in the slopes of Squaw valley. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location is perfect, the staff are super helpful. It is clean, welcoming and ideal if you have kids going to Ski School right next door! The location is right in the village, and next to the Funitel lift. There are three hot tubs, a clubhouse and parking on site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Although a bit tired and not as updated as other newer constructions at Squaw, this place is very convenient and staff are friendly. It's low-key and warm instead of posh and cold. It is comfortable, but not fancy. Kitchen is well equipped with cooking utensils and dinnerware, but check the cleanliness of the dishes for stuck on food before you use it (or we just run everything through the dish washer again first). Beds are comfortable and the ihome conveniently charges your iphone if you forget to pack your charger. However, the snow grooming & removal and the avalanche bombing could be very annoying because they run throughout the night. After all you ARE right next to the slopes and parking lots. The machines run throughout the night on the mountain and the snow plowing trucks starts early in the morning (obviously NOT a problem in the summer). They have games and movies to borrow and bikes to use in the summer. Oh, and they have outdoor hot tubs too. Definitely a great choice for the summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I absolutely loved my brief stay at Red Wolf Lodge! The location is great and you can stumble out of bed and straight on to the lifts. If it wasn't for Christmas obligations on the East Coast, I would have stayed for another week. Shelly and Connor were incredibly helpful hosts and I am already plotting a return visit next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Obviously, given it's location, one's experience is very weather dependent. We've been blessed, in that every time we've been at the Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw, the weather has more than cooperated and dumped literally feet of snow on top of Squaw Valley immediately prior to or during our stay. One further caveat; we are timeshare owners at the Red Wolf Lodge, so we've already "paid" for the use up-front, so it's been a great value to us, but that should be taken into consideration when viewing my "value" rating.

The accommodations are not "luxe" by any means, but it is homey, adequate and clean. The kitchen is usable, but don't expect large preparation area, granite counter tops, etc.

The building itself is vintage late-70's/early-80's, so the construction is ok, but clearly not "Four Seasons"; noise travels thru the walls quite easily, and in certain years, it felt like being in a college dorm from the noise (caveat: it was New Year's Eve!). Also, in prior years, we would be woken up by the sound of Squaw's operations crew plowing the parking lot at around 2:30-3AM in the morning.

With all that said:
1. We're usually so tired from skiing that noise in the building does not bother us.
2. Plows in the parking lot are a mixed blessing. It does usually mean that you're going to wake up to another powder day. And it appears that Squaw may have changed its operating procedures, as we did not experience this issue during this most recent trip, even though it snowed another 20" while we were there.

Overall:

We bought the timeshare based on the location, it simply can't be beat. You are right next door to the kids ski school center, and about 40 yards from the Red Dog chairlift. And it is truly ski-off at the end of the day. If you're a skier, you already know Squaw Valley is one of the premier mtn's terrain-wise, and you can't beat this ski-on/ski-off location. It's a 100-yard walk to the base area village with shops, a small organic grocery store, and restaurants. Not having to drive comes in handy, when it really starts snowing. Oftentimes, the local roads are closed, sometimes for several days for avalanche control and plowing. You will be hi-5'ing yourself at that moment, if you're staying here.

The staff is always helpful and friendly (that's been my experience through 6 separate week-long visits). And they also do provide activities in the clubhouse for families. Overall, we haven't regretted getting this timeshare for a minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a great time here and were happy to have stayed on the mountain. Usually we stay in Truckee but this was so nice, walking out our door and being right there, no substitute, avoiding all that traffic gave us easily an extra hour of stress free skiing every day.

Most the mountain was not open as we knew but they did a good job making snow and keeping the runs well cared for.

Our place was spacious, clean, and well priced, we'll be back in February for more and hoping better snow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.