We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mountain Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a great time here and were happy to have stayed on the mountain. Usually we stay in Truckee but this was so nice, walking out our door and being right there, no substitute, avoiding all that traffic gave us easily an extra hour of stress free skiing every day.

Most the mountain was not open as we knew but they did a good job making snow and keeping the runs well cared for.

Our place was spacious, clean, and well priced, we'll be back in February for more and hoping better snow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    57
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
86
70
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Squaw Valley is a great ski resort and the surrounding towns of Truckee and Tahoe City offer much in the way dining and entertainment. The Red Wolf Lodge is ideally situated in the Village next to the lifts and that is the end of favorable comments. Our room was extremely noisy, the bed was uncomfortable. At night we heard snow making machines, snow blowers and the big Cats grooming the runs. The manager, who was very nice and sympathetic, changed our room but then the occupants above us sounded like a heard of elephants and the floor squeaked and creaked as though they were pounding on the floor all night long. We had a great ski time at Squaw but would never again stay at the RED WOLF, even if it was free.
The building is very old and although clean and comfortable enough it should be razed and replaced. It is no fun being unable to sleep for an entire week and that is entirely the fault of the old building with many functional defects. I have never reviewed anything before and my wife and I, both seniors, are not the complaining type. I felt compelled to write this.

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE. All rooms are going to be extremely noisy but if you must, pick a top floor, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Stanford U.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Let me start with the location and their address....do not follow the address listed on the resort page. Set your GPS to Squaw Village and the resort is right there...kind of look like being part of the parking lot structure behind the Squaw Villages. So do not use your their address and your GPS navigation or cell phone. We got lost for awhile but if you go into the parking lot of Squaw Valley the Red Wolf is right there by the lift area...No big sign or markings and the address does not make any sense.

The place was nice, clean but nothing fancy like the Village condos next door. But for what you paid the location is perfect to lounge and walk to the Squaw Village shops

Our 2 teen boys found the sofa bed extremely uncomfortable so we lay the mattress on the floor to minimize their discomfort. If you have more than 2 people keep that in mind...the sofa bed is not comfortable. So try to get the 2 bedrooms unit if you have 4 people.

Red Wolf is a nice family place, well maintained but the radiant heat in the ceiling kept the condo too hot for us. so you need to leave the windows open to get some cold air.

The resort has cruiser bikes for the guests usage for free and the nice path from the resort can take you to Tahoe City..awesome ride alone the Truckee river!

Internet was free too but a very slow...

Housekeeping was very attentive and keep the place very clean.

The room we stayed was next to the snow making equipment for Squaw so it was too noise, we had a hard time falling sleep the first 2 days but got "use to it" by the 3rd night and we slept better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I wanted to write a review because I truly found a great small Hotel/Timeshare. The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley will not disappoint you. It is not fancy or upscale. But, it is very comfortable and very clean. I was truly surprised at the quality of the room I had here at The Red Wolf Lodge. Very much a cabin feel & style. The Resort Maintenance is on top of every detail needed to keep this property looking new and refreshing. When I walked in to my room I was taken by how clean the room was on my first impression. House Cleaning truly has done a remarkable job on my room prior to my arrival. Everything seems new, yes there are some used items..but, everything is in good shape. The gas fireplace is truly an added bonus with the view I have of the ski slopes. My room sits right at the base of the ski runs...close enough to enjoy and far enough away not to have a lot of noise. Really nice balcony with the unit. Nice kitchen with good supplies for use. Good lighting in the bathroom and main room. The bathroom is really nice...great decor-rock floor...the same is said about the rest of the room I stayed in. Rock entry which is nice as well. I would request the mountain side for best views & afternoon Sun. You are just a short, short walking distance to the Squaw Village & the great Tram ride to the top of the mountain. A great little get-away! and well worth it to stay here at The Red Wolf Lodge which is part of Grand Pacific Resorts. Bob from Reno, Nevada

Room Tip: Ask for the Ski Run side. Wonderful view and you will also get the Sun for the afternoon and evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in a studio room which was well laid out and cozy. Our views of the mountains was great. The Red Wolf Lodge has something planned every day of the week if you choose to participate. The range is from a free pancake breakfast to a Wine & Cheese Social to Wii Games Night.
They also have loaner bikes that we rode into Tahoe City. It was a great ride on a beautiful Tahoe autumn day on the bike trail along the Truckee River. Hiking is good around here too.
If you are here for ski season, this is right at the ski lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (3) to have better views. We stayed in 305... nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was there with my daughter and we had a great time...the Studio room, spa, hot tub were great, room was clean and cozy. Warm and with everything we needed. Easy walk to Olympic Village :) Great deal and great stay!

Room Tip: 1st Floor Room are great... right by the hot tub, spa, and community room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We drove from Maine to California and we stayed at the Red Wolf Lodge. Sitting on the deck listening to the sacred mountains made it easy for me to leave my young adult son on Squaw mountain. Even though there was no snow. We had a blast hiking, biking, shopping and dinning from this in and out ski resort. The open floor plan was cozy, Shelly and Diana were personable and they know "what is happening in Tahoe".

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.