We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find in Squaw Valley, Calif.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Save Saved
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good find in Squaw Valley, Calif.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I wanted to write a review because I truly found a great small Hotel/Timeshare. The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley will not disappoint you. It is not fancy or upscale. But, it is very comfortable and very clean. I was truly surprised at the quality of the room I had here at The Red Wolf Lodge. Very much a cabin feel & style. The Resort Maintenance is on top of every detail needed to keep this property looking new and refreshing. When I walked in to my room I was taken by how clean the room was on my first impression. House Cleaning truly has done a remarkable job on my room prior to my arrival. Everything seems new, yes there are some used items..but, everything is in good shape. The gas fireplace is truly an added bonus with the view I have of the ski slopes. My room sits right at the base of the ski runs...close enough to enjoy and far enough away not to have a lot of noise. Really nice balcony with the unit. Nice kitchen with good supplies for use. Good lighting in the bathroom and main room. The bathroom is really nice...great decor-rock floor...the same is said about the rest of the room I stayed in. Rock entry which is nice as well. I would request the mountain side for best views & afternoon Sun. You are just a short, short walking distance to the Squaw Village & the great Tram ride to the top of the mountain. A great little get-away! and well worth it to stay here at The Red Wolf Lodge which is part of Grand Pacific Resorts. Bob from Reno, Nevada

Room Tip: Ask for the Ski Run side. Wonderful view and you will also get the Sun for the afternoon and evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    52
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
85
65
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in a studio room which was well laid out and cozy. Our views of the mountains was great. The Red Wolf Lodge has something planned every day of the week if you choose to participate. The range is from a free pancake breakfast to a Wine & Cheese Social to Wii Games Night.
They also have loaner bikes that we rode into Tahoe City. It was a great ride on a beautiful Tahoe autumn day on the bike trail along the Truckee River. Hiking is good around here too.
If you are here for ski season, this is right at the ski lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (3) to have better views. We stayed in 305... nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was there with my daughter and we had a great time...the Studio room, spa, hot tub were great, room was clean and cozy. Warm and with everything we needed. Easy walk to Olympic Village :) Great deal and great stay!

Room Tip: 1st Floor Room are great... right by the hot tub, spa, and community room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We drove from Maine to California and we stayed at the Red Wolf Lodge. Sitting on the deck listening to the sacred mountains made it easy for me to leave my young adult son on Squaw mountain. Even though there was no snow. We had a blast hiking, biking, shopping and dinning from this in and out ski resort. The open floor plan was cozy, Shelly and Diana were personable and they know "what is happening in Tahoe".

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our daughter was getting married in Tahoe and we stayed at the Red Wolf Lodge for several days before the rest of the group arrived and then moved to a house. The location is great - great view of the mountain and just a short ride to Lake Tahoe. The 1 bedroom was very comfortable - we loved the stone floors in the kitchen and bathroom. The bed was very comfy and the kitchen was well equipped. Bikes were there for our use, but we unfortunately didn't have the time to use them. There are also hot tubs and a fitness room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Suggestion - borrow the CD at the front desk and drive around Lake Tahoe for a beautiful tour of the area. The Village at Squaw Valley is a short walk away. We loved seeing the Olympic Flame burning every time we headed back to the Lodge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second time here and enjoyed it like the first. I was very impressed each time with the cleanliness of each and every room (suites). The rooms we had were spacious, nicely decorated and the kitchens are well supplied for cooking and dining. Great amenities! The beds are comfortable and quality kept. Only a very short walking distance to Olympic Village where there is plenty of dining, shopping, etc. The Fireside Pizza is one we always return to and the Irish Pub restaurant is great too. One Spring we rode the tram to the top which there are plenty more activities to do, hiking, ice-skating, swimming pool and jacuzzi. Trail heads are nearby and the lodge also has a variety of bikes you can use. You can take the bike trail into Tahoe City which is also a very beautiful trail that runs alongside the river. The lodge has special nights for wine tasting, and other social events for their guests. We also checked out some free movies that I've been wanting to see. They also have exercise equipment and a larger guest area for entertaining groups with spas nearby. I especially love the fireplace in our room and the outer deck, we've only stayed on the top floor which is where I would love to go back and stay again, only longer. Definitely a clean, wonderful and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Third floor suites on the top are beautiful and spacious with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice little timeshare in The Village @ Squaw Valley near Lake Tahoe. Has a really pleasant feel about the place (we stayed in a much larger timeshare the previous week that felt much more impersonal). Bike loan is a nice extra.
Early September is REALLY quiet, although a surprising number of restaurants and bars were open (a couple of times we were almost the only people there).
Would certainly go again although probably a few weeks later.

Room Tip: 102 or 112 (1-bedroom units) open onto the deck (hot tubs, barbecues, clubhouse).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.