We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley to your Saves list
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place was amazing. It is located at the base of the Squaw Valley ski resort. There are many restaurants, bars, and shops within a short 2-3 minute walk. I eat gluten free and there was plenty for me to eat in the area including pizza, baked goods, and groceries.

The hotel is very nice. It is very clean, well decorated, and comfortable. The staff was great, especially Diana, the manager. She was extremely friendly and knowleagable about the area. The location is near Tahoe City, which makes day trips to north shore attractions very easy. We went as far as Emerald Bay, only about a 30 minute drive.

My only complaint was they have no swimming pool. They do have 3 spas that were all very nice.

Room Tip: The studio has a murphy bed and pull out couch, which provided enough space for four adults to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    61
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
93
73
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We used the studio with a fold-down Murphy bed and Couch (Hide-a-Bed). Both slept two comfortably with great accommodations. The kitchenette was well supplied with all the essential equipment. Included bikes to borrow, DVD's to borrow, and ample places for storage of skis and snow equipment if it were ski season. Downside was that they don't service the rooms during your stay and said that no one was available at the front around the clock to assist at night (they go home at 6PM). No pool, but there are 3 hot tubs. No restaurant. Free parking in covered garage. Next to Olympic Village and easy walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Short walk to restaurants and shops at Olympic Village. Well maintained resort. Near the tram to High Camp. Short walk to hike to Shirley Lake. Kitchen was adequate for meals. Plenty to see and do in the area nearby, with short drives to Lake Tahoe, Reno, and others.

Room Tip: High floors are better for quiet with no "overhead" sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was a perfect place for our family reunion. We had a total of 70 people (22 rooms). Everyone was so happy with the accomodations. The staff was great. Our first morning we were suppose to have a pancake breakfast, however, the power went out on us. Diana and the other staff members jumped right on it and came through with pastries, fruit, juice, etc. We all just dealt with it. Having the use of the clubhouse was great for visiting with the family, playing cards and taking pictures, etc. I will be coming back next month with some friends and am looking forward to another stay there. The place is clean and the staff is great at keeping it that way daily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadarko, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The staff is what makes this stay worth while. They are very friendly and helpful (they actually enjoy helping you). We had a family reunion with over 70 people present & the meeting room worked out very well. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed two nights just prior to the Western States 100 miler at Squaw Valley. It's location within Olympic Valley is just a short walk to the shops and ski slopes. The building itself is sandwiched between two parking garages, so we didn't have any sort of special view. The rooms were rather dated, but everything was functional. The sleeping arrangements consisted of a Murphy wall bed and a pull out couch. There's very limited dining within Squaw Valley and absolutely no place for breakfast, so the fridge and microwave came in handy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We are a family of 5, so it can be difficult to find a place where we can all stay together. We rented the one bedroom, which was still pretty tight for us, as one poor kid had to sleep on the floor! The pull out sofa in the livingroom was not comfortable at all, and unfortunately Squaw was making snow right outside our 1st floor window all night long (that stuff is LOUD), so we decided to head home the evening of the second night so we could sleep. If you have smaller children (ours are tweens) then the one bedroom would be perfect. It was super clean, nicely decorated, good sized bathroom, and views right onto the mountain. My kids loved that the hottub was an option in the middle of winter, and it was so fun to sit in it while getting snowed on. This lodge is less expensive than the ones right in the Village, but only about a 5 minute walk to the action. The underground parking was a great plus. You can just take the elevator to your car, put on your skis at your car, and be on snow in a minute. We would stay here again - just probably get more rooms, and away from snowmakers!

Room Tip: During a bad snow year, ask for rooms that don't face the mountain. The view won't be as ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#4 of 5 in Olympic Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.